We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pooram International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Pooram International to your Saves list
Hotel Pooram International
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kuruppam Road, Thrissur 680001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Thrissur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pros: THE best location in town with amazing views of the pooram grounds; wonderful, efficient, thoughtful, friendly staff; clean, beautiful, very comfortable (the beds are to die for), classy rooms, superb breakfast buffet.
Cons: Nil.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pooram grounds. Provides a nice picture of the small town scene in the evening...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    39
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
11
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is great. It is near the train station and central to the major sites around Thrissur. The staff are very welcoming and professional. The beds are dreamy - so comfortable to sleep in. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The showers are relaxing with hot water and great water pressure.The restaurant offers a wonderful array of South Indian and international flavors that can easily please any palette. I stayed several nights in January and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January and have no adverse comments at all.
The staff at Reception were excellent as were the waiters and cleaners, no hard sell for their services, very helpful over future travelling plans,checking our rail tickets without us asking.
The restaurant was very good and the breakfast was quite sufficient, Western if you wanted it but the Indian food was of a very good quality.
The room was comfortable, the best bed we slept in this time of visiting India, quiet and very clean, not dog eared at all.
Ideally positioned from the Rail Station and the Bus Stand, very well placed to walk around Thrissur to see the " sights " and within easy walking to The Indian Coffee House for their excellent food and service.
No hesitation in recommending this place whatsoever, extremely well priced , very good value.

Room Tip: As usual in Indian hotels a higher floor may be beneficial but no problems on second floor facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Together with our theatre crew, we stayed at this great place...
These days will be remembered forever, just like the hospitality of our hosts.
The location is pretty nice, it's in the center of Trissur and major destinations are comfortable from here
Once again thanks and we hope to come back soon

Room Tip: Some rooms have a fridge and cattle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels in thrissur . but my experience with hotel pooram international was overall a memorable and cherishable one. The food was very tasty and grand.The management and staff was so friendly. We were treated like royalty and it felt like complete luxury. The hotel landscaping was beautiful and the location you can't beat - heart of the city.The rooms were pretty clean and maintained well. I recommend this hotel to everyone who expects a comfortable stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A comfortable modern hotel that is centrally located and very convenient to explore the town on foot. It's just on the Thrissur round...the heart of the town and just a short walk to the temples and sights! They also organise a tour of the off-beat sights in the area...like visit a local unit that makes the ornaments for the famous Thrissur Pooram, visit the vedic school etc. Contact Bipin at the hotel who would be only happy to help! They have buffets for lunch and dinner but the food is great! Currently no pool and is not licensed.

Room Tip: The second category rooms are better than the base category as it has more space! If you are visitin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After finding the hotel of our choice full, we were directed to the Pooram. It's a pretty good hotel by Indian standards. Situated just 100 metres away from the Vadakkumnathan Temple in the centre of Trissur, means that it is the hotel of choice for Indians making pilgrimage to the area. Consequently at festival time it must be packed. But when we were there it felt almost empty. Our first room had a bad case of ants (even 4 floors up) and we changed rooms with no problems at all. The new room was comfortable and clean and the hot water in the shower was immediate and instantaneous (but remember the hotel was almost empty).
Our room was at the front of the hotel which meant that late night celebrations and early morning pujas at the large temple across the way was clearly audible. I enjoyed hearing the early morning ragas played at sunrise, but it depends on your tolerance for this sort of thing.
Air-con was a bit too good as it blew directly onto the bed. We made do with the fan.
The restaurant was pretty good, although the menu is only indicative of what may be available from the kitchen. There was the customary buffet lunch which is normally good value in hotels like these.
The front desk were excellent, spoke excellent English and went out of their way to arrange transport for us. The marketing manager personally took us for a visit to a school for Brahmin children in training to be priests; now that's customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the from the temple are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pooram International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pooram International

Address: Kuruppam Road, Thrissur 680001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thrissur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Thrissur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pooram International 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pooram International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pooram International Kerala/Thrissur, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pooram International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.