We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, good service and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joys Palace

Save Saved
You added Joys Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Joys Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   TB Road, Thrissur 680021, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Thrissur
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for Money, good service and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located in a central part of Thrissur, clean and well maintained hotel. The buffet is monotonous and should be avoided if you have more than one person. A la carte manu seems limited but can be customized. I would say the rooms on the bus stand side should be avoided if you are planning to sleep late in the morning. Hotel also provides the vehicles for local travel, though the team at the reception does not know much of the area around. Not much for a walk in the morning outside the hotel but gym could be good enough for exercise freaks.

I would say there is not much around this area and this hotel stands out due to better quality than the surrounding hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    34
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
33
13
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed one night in January 2013. Great, spacious and clean room. No complaints aside from the smell of mould (which you quickly forget). Breakfast was very very good. Staff was friendly and offered us a 2013 calendar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location, room cleaniliness, customer service and complimentary breakfast were fully satisfactory. Reservations can be made over phone. My room on the 6th floor was overlooking an empty piece of land, a busstand and a slum. I had a tough time switching the tv on and the channels are pretty much restricted. I still must add it is very difficult to think of anything negative about the hotel.

The executive room had all the necessary amenities as well as free Wifi. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The travel desk of the hotel charges are very high. You can get in touch with a local taxi provider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I were visiting Thrissur just for a day. We were not really sure about where to stay. So I did a bit of homework on Trip Advisor and also got a second opinion from my friends. All roads led to only one place….Joys Palace. So we called the hotel and asked about the rooms that were available. They had Executive Rooms, Deluxe Rooms, Presidential Suite Rooms, and Royal Chamber Rooms. The single and double rooms start off at Rs. 2800 and Rs 3400 respectively. As we were going to be there for just half a day, we decide to book the Executive Room. Within 5 minutes, the booking was made!

Joys Palace is a popular business class hotel located on TB Road in Thrissur. The hotel is located just 5 minutes from the Railway Station and KSRTC Bus Stand. Our bus reached around 7:15 in the morning and within 10 minutes, we reached the hotel.

Once you enter the lobby, it reminds you of those old Malayalam movies where they show scenes from famous hotels. The reception was bright and in the middle was a huge showpiece wherein you can stand and take some photos!

We checked into our room which was located on the 6th floor. The lift is a see through one, so as you go up, you can see the view of the city. The hallways are spacious and there are several rooms on one floor. We entered the room which was kept neat and tidy. One of my favorite things to do is take a photo of each and every nook and cranny before it becomes all messy!

The bay windows were gigantic and you could see the whole city from there. I am sure it would look beautiful in the night as well. Next to the window, there was a loveseat and a single chair along with a glass table. The perfect place to relax and watch a movie or two since it was right opposite the TV which was placed on the desk located in the corner. It had a tray of the usual tea bags, sugar packets, milk packets, tissues, water, and thermos. The twin size beds were done up in white and maroon pillows and sheets which were crisp and clean. I am sure most of us are always concerned about how clean the bathroom would be. I must say the counters were spotless; towels were clean and so were the toilets and shower. On a white tray, there was the usual shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer; toothbrush, toothpaste, comb, and sewing kit. They say that hot water is available 24 hours, but if you take a late shower, then all you will get is warm water 

The wardrobes located at the entrance were clean and spacious. There were many compartments, so if you plan on staying there for more than a day, then you can keep everything without any clutter. My favorite part of the room was the cute dressing area with a small stool and huge mirror. This is definitely a must if you need to get dressed up and ensure you are looking perfect from top to bottom!

The breakfast is complimentary in Joys Palace just like in most hotels. It starts at 7 am and ends around 9:30 am. The Multi-cuisine restaurant is located on the 2nd floor. Though we went around 7:45 am, there was quite a crowd. The buffet is located in an “L” shape towards the far end of the restaurant. We grabbed a table near the window. The menu that day was:

1. Juices - Grape & Watermelon
2. Coffee & Tea
3. Continental cuisine of sausages, eggs (boiled or made to order), various types of bread and rolls, croissants, butter, jam, and porridge.
4. Indian cuisine of Idli, vada, sambhar, several kinds of chutneys, upma, boiled plantain; appam, stew, aloo subzi, and poori.

The idlis were soft and vadas were crisp and not oily. It tasted well with sambhar and coconut chutney. The upma tasted yummy by itself or with a spoon of chutney on the side. The appam was made at the counter and it was soft and delicious. The stew was not too watery and complemented the appam very well. Coffee was hot and sweet and tasted perfect at the end of the meal. A quick bite of the boiled plantain, a favorite in Kerala, made up for the sweet at the end of breakfast!

The roads were initially good from Bangalore to Thrissur. But as you approach the curvy roads in the morning, you tend to be jumping up and down in the bus as there are so many potholes  As our function was in the evening, we had plenty of time to relax after the hectic journey. But I decided to click a few more photos. The rooms in Joys Palace are decorated with a lot of paintings, lamp shades, etc. It’s quite unique and you it really complements the room well.

Lunch was served between 12:30 to 3 p.m. Once again, there was a buffet for those who wanted to indulge in a variety of items. If you are a non-veg lover, then the buffet would have been perfect for you as there was an endless list of Kerala Style Fish Curries, Dry, Chicken Curries, and Chicken Dry.

We ordered the following from the A La Carte Menu:

1. Tomato Soup - It was nice and hot but could have been a little thicker.
2. Spaghetti with Arabiata Sauce – The dish looked too good to eat! But glad I ate, because it was delicious! The spaghetti was cooked to perfection and the Arabiata sauce was loaded with red chillies, chili flakes, and tomatoes. The quantity is just right for one person if they are used to eating large portions. Otherwise, it’s better to share as they serve a lot.
3. Paneer Chilly – For starters, we ordered a plate of Paneer Chilly. There were huge pieces of paneer, onions, capsicum and lots of masala. Tasted good by itself or with the vegetable fried rice.
4. Vegetable Fried Rice – Once again, the quantity is quite a lot. It tasted good and was not too oily or filled with too much of ajinomoto.
5. Gobi Manchurian – This was the gravy that was ordered to go along with the vegetable fried rice. There were sufficient pieces of gobi in the dish and the gravy was spicy, hot, and yummy.

The lunch was quite filling. The only bad part about ordering from the a la carte menu is that you should wait at least 45 minutes for the dishes to be brought to your table. That day, there were about 5 tables full and out of those 5, only 3 had opted for the buffet. In spite of that, it took quite a long time for the food to come. Just a quick piece of advice if you plan on eating from the a la carte menu and that is, to order from the room and then come down to the restaurant so you don’t have to wait.

I thought only the restaurant had this slowness problem. But come to see, so did the 24 hour Coffee Shop that is located on the ground floor just past the lobby. My friend and her family had come to meet us and while waiting, they had ordered for two cups of coffee and it took about 20 minutes for it to come even though they were the only ones in the restaurant!

There are a lot of amenities in Joys Palace which we did not use as we were there for only half a day. This includes the Imperial Bar, which is located right next to the Multi-Cuisine Restaurant; the House of Ayurveda where you can choose from the various Ayurvedic Packages for short and long term programmes; and the Health Club which lets you work out to your heart’s content.

Since Joys is a business hotel, they have several Conference and Meeting Rooms and even a huge banquet hall to host weddings and other special functions.

We came back from our function around 7 pm and before going up to the room, we told the Front Desk to keep our bill ready by 8 as we had to check out by 8:15.

Though we were not interested in having a heavy dinner (due to the travel coming up in an hour or so), we once again decided to order from the a la carte menu. Believe it or not, it took them 45 minutes to make two plates of sandwiches! The sandwiches were warm and had lots of vegetables in them. It came with an order of fries on the side. My husband had ordered for a simple tomato, cucumber, butter, and chutney sandwich, which also came with an order of fries on the side. To gulp it all down, we ordered for Pepsi as they didn’t have any other soft drink.

Our check out took hardly 10 minutes. We thanked the staff for their hospitality and asked them if an auto rickshaw would be available to the bus stand. They immediately told us about the taxis they have at the hotel which can drop the guests and even pick them up from the bus stand and railway station. We found this very helpful and were happy to reach the bus stand just in time.

I recommend Joys Palace to anyone who plans on visiting Thrissur and keen on staying in a decent, clean, and well-known hotel which is located in the heart of the city. The tariff might be high, but after all, we have to pay a price for great service right?

My Ratings:

Cleanliness: 5/5
Service: 4/5
Food: 5/5
Ambience: 5/5

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor give you a full view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

An average experience - Not particularly good concerning the price, not particularly bad.
A bit strange policy regarding hotel taxis - the starting rate seemed way too high.
Hotel staff were very helpful with traintickets and they also made a 'to-go'-version of the breakfast (fruit, bread etc.), because we were leaving the hotel really early to catch a train.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbuDhabiJean, Manager at Joys Palace, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Good day to you

I have read your review and would like to know more about your stay at the property.I would like to know why the pricing policy is strange to you.Therefore your response would help us improve our property.

Thank You
Jean Joy
(Executive Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel is big and spacious. The staff is polite and tries to help. The promise of an internet in every room is not fulfilled as the WiFi is very low and often inaccessible. The dirt on the windows (their outer side) in the rooms has not been removed for a very long time. The dinning hall and food are good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AbuDhabiJean, Manager at Joys Palace, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Good day to you

I am deeply disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.We have made the necessary changes to our network connections in the hotel.I am pleased to inform you that everything would be perfect the next time you visit.

Thank You
Jean Joy
(Executive Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good value for money.
Good staff - very flexible and understanding especially management staff.
Not a very hi end luxury business hotel but one of the better ones that you can find in Thrissur. One wouldn't be left disappointed.
Close to both railways st and bus stand for travel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joys Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joys Palace

Address: TB Road, Thrissur 680021, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thrissur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Thrissur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Joys Palace 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Joys Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joys Palace Kerala/Thrissur, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joys Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.