We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major difference in rooms!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tingri Qomolangma Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tingri County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tingri Qomolangma Resort
Highway 318G, Shegar Town, Tingri County, China   |  
Melle , Belgium
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Major difference in rooms!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When you want to stay overnight in this area there is not that much choice. But you can within the hotel make a better choice if you takes a room with number 101 till 112. They are the best choices although they are most far away from reception and restaurant but it is worthwhile to walk somewhat more and have the better rooms. You will need anyway a flashlight to find your way in the evening. There are 2 shops (one in reception , one other side of parking lot) where you can buy fleece, winter jackets at cheap prices but be aware that they are fake. Since electricity is not always available (they have a diesel back-up) it can be a problem to have warm water. But when you come to this part for travelling you must be flexible and not complain. It's only for 1 night and you will certainly survive. Breakfast is buffet style and there is more Chinese food then Western but no need to leave with an empty stomach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Travelling through Tibet one might not always have too many choices, so my group and I spent one night at Qomolangma Hotel. I can't say we were happy with it as the rooms were terribly damp and not very clean, the towels had seen better days and taking a bath/shower was very tricky because of the old-fashioned cold-hot taps. Spending even one night under such conditions at 4300 metres was a very uncomfortable experience. People who spend the night there have no other option though...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although there is a newer hotel of 2 stars near by , the overlanders still prefer this hotel of the 80,'s . IS NOT A RESORT. It is a motel along the route to from Nepal. Simple but efficient rooms, hot water from 7 pm an acceptable working restaurant and the BEST BEDS IN ENTIRE TIBET.!!. Is not for honeymoon but it is good to spent the night in a place that they have seen westerners since 1989. You decide

Room Tip: avoid the rooms near the reception as are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stooped here en route to Everest Base Camp; what a mistake. We were due to stay at the better hotel opposite but our agency changed plans at the last moment and we ended up in this dump. We were greeted by the staff (a manager and three utterly useless and uninterested girls) who wondered whether we really wanted to stay. There appeared to be no other guests throughout our stay. Suffice to say nothing worked. There was no hot water, the bathromm fittings were all broken, few of the lights worked. The restaurant (in another building) was average. We had to wake up the staff for breakfast which then served some good porridge.
This is an awful hotel with nothing to recommend it except that it has the worst staff that I have met in the world. Go there if you want to enjoy their apalling standards of service.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are supposedly better than those in the wings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our last and first stop before and after Everest Base Camp. The hotel is basic and relatively clean, considering in an area with not too many options. Power and hot water was only available from around 7-11pm, there were candles in the room and we used our headlamp a fair bit. Although there was hot water, don't expect to take a shower as it just trickled down a few squirts at a time - it is not recommended to take showers in high altitude anyway. The room was on the cold side but heating worked, we requested a hot water bag to warm our feet while sleeping and it helped. If you ask, the hotel will also provide a hot water bottle, great for cleaning yourself with a face cloth. Breakfast was included for our tour, it was basic with mainly Chinese dishes, such as congee, buns, etc. Nothing elaborate but adequate. There are two gift shops, one in the main building and one in a separate building, don't forget to buy a souvenir Mt. Everest fleece vest (around US$10), as far as I know, it is only available in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The resort (?) looks nothing like the photograph in the heading. Attached are some photographs taken at the resort (?) when we were there in September 2012. Also attached is a scan of their brochure. The resort is situated just off the main road Shigatse-Kathmandu (Friendship Highway) in Shegar Town (new Tingri). Just down the road is the turn off to Everest Base Camp. Photo of Everest turn-off attached.
The hotel prides itself as being the best in the area, and by Tibetan standards, it probably is fairly good compared to others available in the area. However, it rates itself as 2 - 3 star which gives an indication of the standard if you are used to Chinese/Tibetan inflated ratings. I have given it a rating of average which is probably excessive compared to other hotels in China, but probably a downgrade given its rating for the area.
The hotel is a motel style building (2 levels) with a common area outside the rooms which is an excellent area to sit and chat to fellow travellers. It traps the sun and is therefore warm. This is one of the best parts of the hotel. The dining room (a short walk through the bar) is in a separate building as is the bar area. The dining room serves a limited but adequate breakfast of rice porridge, fried eggs and toast. Dinner at night is typical Tibetan fare which is not great (or multiple choice) but again adequate. The staff in these areas are friendly and are keen to help. These are the good parts.
Now we go to the rooms themselves. They are similar to the photos in their brochure but thats about as close as it gets. The bedding felt "grubby" and we got the impression that it was not changed - however that is only an impression. The bathroom sink is at one end of a long narrow room and the toilet and shower are at the other. There is no cubicle so water sprays all over the toilet and then accumulates over the whole bathroom floor so you are walking in about 2cm of water until it eventually drains away. There is no power until 6.00pm and it lasts until about midnight. An early morning start requires a torch to see your way around. There is no hot water until 7.00am, so that about the earliest you can start - torch is required in the room until about 9.00am on a sunny day. There is no heating in the rooms and it gets quite cold here - even in summer. One of the taps did not work, but nobody came to fix it after it was reported. In general, the plumbing was terrible with taps not working, cisterns overflowing, drainage slow. This was not only in our room, but others had similar problems.
The staff at reception are indifferent to any requests. Internet is sometimes available, but at a cost.
If I was going to EBC again, I would look around for something better, although there are not many other choices that are as convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a downstairs room to make use of the sunroom. Make sure that you take a torch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tingri Qomolangma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tingri Qomolangma Resort

Address: Highway 318G, Shegar Town, Tingri County, China
Location: China > Tibet > Tingri County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tingri County
Also Known As:
Tingri Qomolangma Resort Tingri County, Tibet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tingri Qomolangma Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tingri Qomolangma Resort to your Saves list