We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Fort Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Fort Country House
Save
You added St Fort Country House to your Saves list
R711 Clarens Fouriesburg Road, Clarens 9707, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 26 Clarens B&B and Inns
Rustenburg, North-West, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW - Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is the most beautiful place on earth. We were at St Fort in March and now in August again. In the winter as well as summer this place is stunning. For the adventurer the walkway to the mushroom rock will be unforgettable. My husband did it and the photos speak for itself. The owners Brad and Ernestine , as well as Conrad , are such likable people. The staff are friendly and helpful. Thanks to St Fort and its wonderful people for the unforgettable weekend . Hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munchen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we tad St fort on our last leg of exploring SA before returning to Germany. from the time we arrived at St Fort everything was 100%. Conrad and his team spoiled us with a breakfast everymorning that we still talk about - the property is amazing ,nature mountains and relaxation !!The history about the farm and farms in the area as told to us by Conrad at the fireplace in the lounge was the a memory that will stay with us all for ever. THANK YOU -----THANK YOU----THANK YOU !! we will be back --this time around for a longer stay and with more family and Friends from Germany !

Room Tip: room 1 with old wooden art cupboard - but all rooms unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We as Barefoot Safaris have stayed at B&B St Forts while doing our 3 week mobile safaris quite a few times now. Everything about our experience, as well as clients, was top quality. The rooms for our guests used were pleasant and very comfortable, with all the amenities of a very good quality hotel. The grounds were beautifully maintained and a pleasure to walk through. The service in every part of the facility was always friendly. The breakfasts was delicious and varied. Our many questions were knowledgeably answered and reception staff provided able concierge services, making restaurant reservations and arranging tourist experiences. All around an excellent experience. Thanks to Ernestine and her staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We rented the whole house on a self-catering basis for a large family get-together. The house is spacious with well-appointed rooms and suites. It is beautifully situated. We used the barn for communal dinners. The venue was ideal for this purpose.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently got married at St.Fort and our family stayed in the country house during our visit. The service was excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the hosts. Ernestine and Brad, together with their right hand man, Conrad, are the ideal hosts, ensuring we enjoy the perfect weekend. From late night coffees to early morning breakfasts time spent at St.Fort is sure to be a relaxing experience. The house and gardens are well-maintained and big rooms over-looking the heritage rich environment are filled with warmth. We believe having our wedding at St.Fort was an investment, since this is the perfect destination for many more family reunions, anniversaries and weekends away, re-living the wonderful time spent at St.Fort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A restored, sandstone homestead, which dates back to 1913. It is set, five km from Clarens, on 2200 acres of farmland in a stunning setting nestled at the foot of the Maluti Mountains.Spacious rooms, well serviced, large kitchen and a stoep (veranda) with spectacular garden and views of surrounding mountains and not to mention the most romantic sunsets. For those who love to explore, St Fort offers four expertly laid out hiking or bike trails, All these trails take you through differing landscapes, from breathtaking mountain views, overhang caves, to river walks with numerous picnic spots, forest ambles and boulder hopping in and along gorges. Brad and Ernestine,are hard working, and dedicated in everything they do and they rejoice in the splendor of their birthplace, the country and its people.

Room Tip: Room 1 is enormous but rooms 2 and 3 claim a better view. Rooms 4 and 5 is excellent for smaller fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo, Eastern Cape
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We discovered St. Fort some years ago en route to the Kruger Park. It has since become our most favourite and not-to-be-missed stop-over on our way to and from Kruger. Ernestine and Brad are quite the most friendly, charming and thoughtful hosts one could ever wish for - always willing to help in whatever way they can and nothing is ever too much trouble. The accommodation in their lovely old sandstone farmhouse, set amidst the mountains, is pristine. Always sparkling clean, cosy and comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff only adds to one's enjoyment of being at St. Fort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Fort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Fort Country House

Address: R711 Clarens Fouriesburg Road, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Fort is a sandstone farm house built in 1913, and lovingly restored into a luxurious and comfortable guest house. It is set on 2200 acres of Free State farm,5km from beautiful Clarens in a stunning setting surrounded by mountains and the picturesque Mushroom Rock. There are plenty of beautiful hiking trails with waterfalls and caves, to cater for the avid hiker and gentle walks to recharge the soul. And many mountain biking routes too.The breakfasts are plentiful, starting with fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals and ending with a hot, cooked Free State breakfast. Let Ernestine welcome you with her gracious hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Fort Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.