We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay in Patcham Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Patcham Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patcham Place
Save
You added Patcham Place to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   262 Church Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Clarens B&B and Inns
Grenoble, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable stay in Patcham Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Patcham Place is the best B&B we had during our stay in South Africa.
Beautiful room decorated and excellent and heavy breakfast buffet with homemade muffin. The owner has just opened a Portuguese restaurant where meet is excellent.
Clarens is also a beautiful and tiny village to stop by on the way to national park.
I really recommend this place if you want to visit Clarens.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Stephanie
Thanks for staying with us and we are so glad we made a difference to your south african holiday, if you ever return please come and pay us a visit.
Thanks
Carol & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
63
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family and I have stayed in our fair share of b & b's and it always comes down to the people who own the establishment I feel that make the review great or not. In this case Carol and Richard couldn't have been a more wonderful couple to run any b & b we have passed through. This aside, Patcham is really just a cut above the rest and I have to say it does not surprise me in the least that this is number one on trip advisor. The attention to detail in the rooms, the beautiful decor from the room we stayed in to the room my mom and sister stayed in was fresh, elegant and inviting and absolutely spotless. The gardens at Patcham are like a fairytale and groomed immaculately and the view is like a dream. Breakfast was just perfect on both mornings and it felt like a home cooked meal that I would have cooked except it was lovely that I hadn't. The location is an absolute win and we walked everywhere day and night. I know that my Husband and I will definitely be coming back here and I know that my Mom is already planning her next getaway to Patcham Place. If you are looking for an amazing getaway, look no further, this is it. Thank you Carol and Richard, we can't wait to come back one day soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful with gorgeous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Chantelle
Thank you for the stunning review and we wish you and Jason all the best on your new venture.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Thank you Richard and Carol for the most wonderful 2 nights spent at your establishment. Your attention to detail came through in every manner. The breakfasts were absolutely yummy and the dining area a pure delight. My family and I felt so at home and we appreciated your warmth and hospitality. Thank you for a "restorative weekend", a place of peace, serenity and tranquility, and your Portuguese Restaurant is a definite must for all looking for a typical portuguese meal, and a magical ambiance. Thank you for an absolutely wonderful and delightful weekend, and we look forward to our next visit with anticipation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi
Thank you for the great review and i do apologize for only responding today but I thought i had already.
Hope you will be back.
Love Rich the chef and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

What an amazing experience. The photos does no justice, you need to experience it for yourself. Fantastic and friendly service surrounded by an awesome view of the mountains. Thanks for an unforgettably weekend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thanks Bessie
Its great to have people like you to enjoy our B&B hope we see you back soon.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Patcham Place in Clarens is a great place to escape from the hustle and bustle from the big city life. It was our return visit to this quaint yet elegantly styled bed and breakfast. Carol and Richard are very warm and welcoming which makes you feel at home straight away. The rooms are neat, well-presented and I love the attention to small detail which sometimes is overlooked:) It is situated very close to the restaurants and gallery so you in walking distance to where you want to be. The breakfast menu is delicious and I love that they have a little form that you fill out the previous night as to what you want (attention to detail). Thanks Carol and Richard for a lovely stay! From Chris and Reinhild, the newlyweds:)

Room Tip: Great rooms! I loved the one with the small kitchenette!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Reinhild & Chris
It was great having you both back and so glad it was from your happy event, i hope you have a blessed marriage.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Carol and Richard have thought of everything, you have your own front door, the view from your balcony is wonderful, the location is quiet yet only minutes walk from the restaurants and shops. And the breakfasts are terrific, especially the fresh fruit we had, and eggs fried, boiled or poached to perfection and offered soft, medium or hard! No hesitation in recommending to anyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Jon
Thank you for the lovely review and hope you both come back for another visit.

Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somersetwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The attention to detail and service is superb and create a relaxing environment and a feeling of 'I want to stay longer'. Situated in town centre, make it easy to walk to the local shops, restaurants and local brewery for a free beer tasting. Staying over for one night on a bussiness trip felt like a mini holiday and I will definately come back. Jaco

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Moelich
Thank you for the great review and we hope you stay longer the next time.
Love Rich & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patcham Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patcham Place

Address: 262 Church Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Hotel Class:4 star — Patcham Place 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patcham Place is situated in the heart of the delightful mountain village of Clarens in the Eastern Free State. The village is only 15km from the beautiful Golden Gate National Park in the foothills of the Maluti Mountains. Interesting bird life abounds in the area. AccommodationPatcham Place offers five cheerful and sunny double rooms. Each room offers the following features: • Separate entrance • Shower en suite • Balcony with lovely views of the mountains. • Quality comfortable beds • Fridge and hospitality tray • DSTV and Free Wifi Internet• Excellent breakfast in the pleasant dining room cooked by the owners.Children of twelve years and older are welcome.Guests can relax in comfort and walk to restaurants and shops in perfect safety. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patcham Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.