We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly home from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patcham Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Patcham Place
Save
You added Patcham Place to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   262 Church Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly home from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Carol, Richard and Jackie really made us feel so welcome. Our room was gorgeously decorated, large and comfortable. It had a beautiful balcony which on hit evenings we could sleep safely with the doors open. My poached eggs were done to perfection. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We were in room no 4 but I noticed the other rooms were just as gorgeous and I saw at least another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hi Hazel
Thank you for the lovely review and I am so glad your Mom and you enjoyed the stay, please come again when you out here again.
Love Richard and Carol (have a wonderful christmas)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
73
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for 4 days in total, and had an amazing time there. Really good food, accommodation and people. I recommend it highly to any couple looking for a good relaxing time. Clarence is a great eating holiday for all tastes. Just a all round great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Richard
Thanks for doing such a nice review and i hope we gat to see you again in the future.
Thanks
Carol&Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

As an American couple, living and working in Lesotho for the year, it was our first time to Clarens and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The room was clean and big with a balcony to enjoy the mountain view. Breakfast was delicious as well and the owners, Carol and Richard, are more than friendly and helpful. They even called to reserve dinner for us at Clementine's Restaurant (also highly recommended) well before our stay. Sadly, we were only able to stay one night on our first trip. We are looking forward to our return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Hi Richard
Thanks for doing such a nice review and i hope we gat to see you again in the future.
Thanks
Carol&Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We found the B&B easily enough upon arriving in the small town of Clarens- one block back from the main square . It was one of those places that you knew would be good as soon as we arrived. We were greeted by the friendly owner, Carol, and shown to a first floor room. It had large French windows opening on to a balcony with fantastic mountain views. The room itself was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated . It was a good size with large bed, sofa , fridge, TV, tea and coffee making facilities - in short, everything you could need. The bathroom was large , light and airy and again very clean. We slept well with the patio doors open and no need for the fan (no A/C). Breakfast was served overlooking the lovely garden, watching colourful birds in the trees. It was home cooked and tasty. The parking isn't secure but as the village police station is virtually opposite it doesn't need to be!
In summary , Patcham Place deserves its TA top billing in Clarens. You'll be hard pressed to find a better B&B option and the price was very reasonable when compared to similar in Europe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks!! LS13
This was l a lovely review and we hope to see you again in Clarens and in our B&B.

Love Carol & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Wonderful place in garden area, rooms spotless clean with tasteful interior. Owners friendly and attentive. The B&B is located opposite the police station, 200 meters to walk to town centre (all restaurants). All in all highly recommendable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Nicki
Thank you for the lovely review and taking the time to do it as I believe it's not that easy as some of my guests have noted.
I hope we will see you again in the future.
Love Richard and Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a first timer in Clarens I did a lot of research into accommodation and after much deliberation decided to stay at Patcham Place and am so glad I did.

The room my fiancé and I shared was of a very good size, had a massive, comfy, cosy bed and a really light modern bathroom. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the fruit and muesli and marmalade (from a local store called Purple Onion).

Carol and Richard are great proprietors and strike the perfect balance between being warm and engaging and allowing a couple to have some quite time. The recommendations provided were on the money and helped to make our trip all the more enjoyable.

Will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Hi Tristan
Thank you for the wonderful review and taking the time out to do it, It's always so nice to get a review and then to feel we made your holiday a little special.
We hope to see you back soon.

Lots of Love Richard & Carol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was a great start to our holiday, it set the standard. A very comfortable bedroom, light and airy and very comfortable beds. Just off the main square of Clarens it was extremely easy to walk to the restaurants in the town.
Carol and Richard were very friendly and helpful and gave lots of information and ideas for trips out. The breakfast is second to none. Certainly a place to return to if heading to this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol o, Manager at Patcham Place, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hi
Thank you for the lovely review and taking the time out to do it for us, i do hope you will one day fid your way back and visit us again.
Lots of love
Carol & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Patcham Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patcham Place

Address: 262 Church Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Patcham Place 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patcham Place is situated in the heart of the delightful mountain village of Clarens in the Eastern Free State. The village is only 15km from the beautiful Golden Gate National Park in the foothills of the Maluti Mountains. Interesting bird life abounds in the area. AccommodationPatcham Place offers five cheerful and sunny double rooms. Each room offers the following features: • Separate entrance • Shower en suite • Balcony with lovely views of the mountains. • Quality comfortable beds • Fridge and hospitality tray • DSTV and Free Wifi Internet• Excellent breakfast in the pleasant dining room cooked by the owners.Children of twelve years and older are welcome.Guests can relax in comfort and walk to restaurants and shops in perfect safety. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patcham Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.