We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, weird decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phatt Chef Restaurant - CLOSED

Phatt Chef Restaurant
19 Larola Street | Past Post Office, ENGEN, over 2 speed humps, Clarens, South Africa
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary, Brasserie, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Buffet
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great steak, weird decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We fully appreciate that we be townies and that when we go to the country, different rules apply! And, inn fairness to his Phatness, the steaks were amazing. It just seemed a shame to have full glare lighting, 1970's decor and unused broken furniture in the corner. It was also strange how several patrons were told that the restaurant was full, meanwhile there were many empty tables.

I think we'll definitely go back! Notwithstanding the lack of ambience

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phatt_Chef_Clarens, Owner at Phatt Chef Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the review & I am glad you enjoyed your meal. The lights were up in the section because the guests who were next to your table are old (ish!!) and always ask for the lights to be put up so they can see their food. They are also my most regular locals (not that all my guests are not as important) and the always moan about the dim lights. Usually we put the lights down as they depart, but we missed out on Saturday night.

We had 9 of our 9 tables booked on Sat and we had 2 no shows = 7 tables

The large table in the middle of the room necessitated us moving 2 tables out to fit them in and so we had to stack the tables on the staircase to our private dining room. I can assure you they were not broken...we use them all the time!

Once again thank you for taking the time to comment on our restaurant
Kind Regards & we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best steak in the free state.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Great food. Steaks best we had in a long time. Atmosphere is lacking a bit. Too many bright lights. The chef is great and live up to the name of the restaurant. Other front line staff can provide a better service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Phantastic phood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a great meal . the personal touch provides useful info on choices from a small, but varied menu. A difficult choice, but we chose steaks (the house specialty), and pork neck on mustard seed mash. all were excellent. We had started with snails, in litchis and baked with gorgonzola. really tasty, the sauce was mopped up with the bread provided. Good service, a welcoming atmosphere, and good food. we are looking forward to our next visit to Clarens.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had dinner at this restaurant last night. Wow... our steaks were perfect. The Phatt chef comes to the table himself to take the orders and discuss your choices. There are only about 12 table in the restaurant and he staggers the bookings so each group can be given his personal attention. The mashed potatoes with mustard seeds were excellent and the fries were perfect. The veggies in season were also great. The soup (thick vegetable) was a great starter on a very cold evening. I would love to have tried the desserts but had eaten so much already I couldn't find space for more

This restaurant is highly recommended

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

What a restaurant... Amazing food, the rack of lamb was outstanding!!! Great Atmosphere, and very good service... 10 out of 10! Will defenatlly be back

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phatt Chef Restaurant also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
Clarens, Free State
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phatt Chef Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.