We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly above average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artist's Cafe

Artist's Cafe
Main Street | Windmill Centre, Clarens, South Africa
058 - 256 1404
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Kempton Park, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Slightly above average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent a few days in Clarens and wanted to try the Artist's Cafe for lunch. Food was nice - I had beef curry - very tasty, but definitely not a saucy curry, if you prefer that. Service was not too great though. It seemed that they were still trying to get over the breakfast rush while moving into the lunch service. My husband actually went into the kitchen to fetch a cold plate for my 3-year old son's lunch - this was served in a boiling hot steel bowl. I waited about 20 minutes for a glass of wine so all in all it was an average experience. Just need to step up the service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    38
    14
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food was ok, service was poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had breakfast here, my wife and I had the rosterkooks, I ordered mine with biltong. Initially my plate turned up with mince, I informed the waiter this wasn't what was ordered then it turned up with some dry shaving of meat that barely resembled biltong, I asked him to take this back and I would just have without the biltong. Our waiter was very un-attentive and extremely slow, overall the service was poor and caused us not to enjoy the average quality of food we were served.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“a fantastic welcome to Clarens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

On arrival, we stopped here for a coffee and some cake. We were very impressed - especially with the size of the slice of the extremely good carrot cake we had. The service was also good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good beef curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nicely positioned restaurant in Clarens.Outside seating so one can take in the quaintness of this town.My husband raved about the beef curry.Organic wines on the menu but unfortunately the white we chose was out of stock.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great location, nice atmosphere, good service but the food lets it down. Breakfasts should be easy but one breakfast of over cooked eggs & bacon, and one with barely cooked bacon in an omelette with cold toast was disappointing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artist's Cafe also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Artist's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.