We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional German beers and foods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roter Hahn

Roter Hahn
Main Street, Clarens, South Africa
582561888
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 24 Restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Boksburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional German beers and foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Selection of good traditional German beer, like weissbier, on offer, supplemented by a great selection of German dishes (from full meals to platters). And the view of the mountains from the restaurant is spectacular. Highly recommended!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    20
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Nice spot to sit outside and enjoy a really nice range of beers and the view. German music gets a bit much after a while

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The food is great, all of the traditional german foods are served as they would in Germany itself. The atmosphere is great as well which makes you want to go back every time.
They have a shop as part of the restaurant which sells all german products such as Milka chocolates; caramel waffles; sauerkraut, mustards etc.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A German feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Upon entry, our reception by the waiters appeared positive. However, it took time for a waiter to attend to our table, in spite of having less than ten customers on site. The special (which we had to probe for) had a pork neck and ribs whereas the other order was Eisbein - were all prepared in the typical German style. Of course, the moment was spiced up by the ice cold German beers. The service from the waiter was average. The overall experience was value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Shocking treatment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I definitely would not recommend this establishment to anyone in a new South Africa.

We were initially excited to explore German culture in Clarens & were enjoying our traditional beers at the "Bierstube end deli Roter hahn" and kid enjoying their cute playground. When the rain started coming, we asked to be accommodated inside where there were clearly several tables opened, besides the reserved ones. As the waitron began assisting us to set up to move, the white manager came up & told us we may not sit inside; he said it was too crowded... what?? When my sister politely pointed out that there were plenty of tables unreserved, he abruptly told her "It's my decision to make & I'm not discussing it any further! If u want to, you can leave." What??? So we thought for a moment he was joking or there was some misunderstanding. But it became quite clear (even as other tables were clearing out & the rain was starting) that the manager has no intention of letting us sit.

It is never pleasant to pull the race card, but there is really no other possible explanation for his bizarre behaviour. He was rude & seemed happy to repeat himself to various adults in our party who were in disbelief. He was also happy to watch us leave. His staff (all black) did not seem @all surprised. Interesting.

We were 3 families with children & we had to explain to our kids why we had to leave the restaurant well after ordering.

I am sorry. Nice decor & even good food (assuming it would have been) does not make up for a rotten attitude. Really bad ambassadorship for a place trying to sell a culture!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roter Hahn also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roter Hahn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.