We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roter Hahn

Roter Hahn
Main Street, Clarens, South Africa
582561888
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 restaurants in Clarens
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food & ambience were great, service a little slow.... waited at least 20min for drinks, and then had to keep looking for a waiter to order fresh drinks...otherwise, the food was great, nicely presented!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    20
    28
    13
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate there twice and the food was excellent. They have a variety to choose from and it is value for money. Great vibe!!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great vibe, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Besides fantastic service, the one thing that stands out about Roter Hahn is their food, with each order being enough to feed a small army. Their menu is extensive and if you're not German, don't worry as they have the menu in English as well, and their waiters are most certainly clued up and passionate when it comes to explaining each dish.

The vibe is wonderful and keeps you wanting to try more of their food and the many different types of German beer they have. What I can recommend is defintely trying their pork fillet dish as well as their cheese platter for 2.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great beer - pity about the food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

An excellent selection of beers and quite well priced.
We ordered the warm combo platter and while the sausages and the bread was great as well as a range of relishes - the rest of the platter left a lot to be desired. Olives that looked well past their use by date and jalepenos that looked like they were on their 3rd re-cycle.

Guess I was expecting the type of platter that I had had at Clarens Brewery - but this was very short of that

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“leka vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had an excellent eisbein!!! It was a great experiance and we had a good time!! Service also very good!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roter Hahn also viewed

 
Clarens, Free State
Clarens, Free State
 

Been to Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roter Hahn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.