We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Long Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashbrook Country Lodge

Ashbrook Country Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashbrook Country Lodge
Save
You added Ashbrook Country Lodge to your Saves list
73 Malherbe Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Long Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It was our first time staying at Ashbrook Lodge and all I can say it certainly exceeded our expectations! We stayed in the Da Vinci unit which is beautifully furnished and spotless, every detail has been carefully thought out right down to underfloor heating and electric blankets. The view from the lounge and bedroom windows is spectacular! Restaurants and centre of town just 2 minutes away. Wonderful friendly service received from Fiona right from booking the unit to check out - we will see you and Cinnamon again soon!

Room Tip: Da Vinci Suite if perfect for a romantic weekend for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
So glad you had such a wonderful weekend.
Looking forward to seeing you back in February for the Beer Festival weekend.
All the best
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised with Ashbrook, it was clean and very comfortable and furnished beautifully, it had everything we needed and we were able to come and go as we pleased. Loved the open fireplace and heater in the room, it was so cosy. Far nicer and more peaceful than staying right in the town and the drive was only 1 minute away. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review Ashbrook Country Lodge. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room cosy, warm and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back .
Kind regards
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Always fantastic to come back to Clarens and to Ashbrook Country Lodge. Excellent accomodation and very convenient. Quality of apartments very good and well maintained. Great attention from Fiona as always

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Lovely to have you returning to Ashbrook and so glad you enjoyed your stay once again. Til next time.
Best wishes
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoni, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Both ourselves and my brother/wife from australia really enjoyed our stay. The building was well built and was pleasing to the eye, apart from the need to obtain more tv channels, there were only minor faults which we made known to the owner for rectification, and were no cause for worry

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks do much for the feedback. Hope we see you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Vanessa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Modern, super clean and well furnished . A bit out of the way which we liked. Fiona was very friendly and helpful to us while we were there. The bed was very comfortable and overall the room was cosy with underfloor heating and an open fireplace. We would definitely stay here again if we came to Clarens.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and we're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ashbrook.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of heaven sometime soon.
Warm regards
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at Ashbrook for 3 days across a long weekend. This was our first time in Clarens and we picked Ashbrook so be could make our own breakfast if we wanted to but be close enough to eat out as well.

The location of the property is great. A couple of blocks from the main strip of shops, an easy 5 minute walk but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful.

The rooms are exceptionally large, with lots of room to spread out, comfortable armchairs to sit in, and a large outside balcony. A good bathroom with lots of strong hot water and clean towels everyday, and good linens on the bed made for a comfortable stay.

My only beef with Ashbrook was that the room was bone-chillingly cold when we got there, and really difficult to heat. Fiona had turned on all the underfloor heating before we got there but the first night we had to sit inside in our coats and scarves. We lit a roaring fire, but the room stayed very cold. On the positive side we slept very well under the enormous duvet. Second night after more than 24 hours of underfloor heating we took our scarves off (coats still on) but then sweated under the huge duvet. Third night, it was sweaters only, no coats required indoors, but the duvet was unbearably hot.

I do recognise that we visited at the turn of seasons when the days are lovely and warm and the nights are cool, and it is hard to heat around that, however the way it is set up at the moment is not really working on the heating front.

I would stay again at Ashbrook, but I would choose my season carefully. For me on a cold autumn night its important to be warm and comfortable and unfortunately this just wasn't possible at Ashbrook.

Room Tip: Ash for a room with a view of the sun setting on the mountains - its spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our establishment and I am so glad to hear that most of our offerings me your expectations. You are so right about season changes and up here in the mountains we can often experience four seasons in one day. I'm so sorry we didn't manage to get the heating right for you. I'm not sure which is worse, to be cold or to be hot.
Maybe next time come during the summer months.
Kind regards
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Clarens in the Autumn is very special, and to be surrounded by such graceful good taste made the experience even more special. Comfortable, gracious and neat as a pin, this is a place to relax, be comfortable, and chill. Thanks Vanessa and your staff for a lovely stay. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa K, Owner at Ashbrook Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks for your great review and so glad you enjoyed Ashbrook and Clarens so much. Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best wishes
Vanessa Knowles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashbrook Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbrook Country Lodge

Address: 73 Malherbe Street, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming country village of Clarens, Ashbrook Country Lodge offers custom built luxury suites and self catering lodges that are well equipped for a relaxing and luxurious break away from home. Our lodges cater for couples and families. All units have their own private patios with magnificent mountain views, satellite TV, secure parking and a daily housekeeping service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashbrook Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.