We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mont d'Or Hotel

Mont d'Or Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mont d'Or Hotel to your Saves list
Mont d'Or Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   502 Sias Oosthuizen Lane, Clarens 9707, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stay there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely hotel with beautiful views. Breakfast is good, dinner at the restaurant was very good. Managers/owners were very accommodating with special requests. The linen is of very good quality and the bed was really comfy.

Room Tip: I would however recommend that you stay on the 1 st and 2 nd floors as the ground floor rooms did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as we had chosen a skiing package that they offered and as a whole I really think it was good value.

The hotel is beautifully snuggled into the mountain/hillside as you enter Clarens from Bethlehems side. There was no road sign indicators so we actually drove right past it and had to turn back. There is signage on the actual hotel, but it was not really visible!

We had a front room with a stunning view, but the room, although cosy it had a lot of shortcomings, including no access from the room to the reception area of the hotel. One had to walk in the freezing weather and it was not ideal.

On the other hand the food at the restaurant was amazing, both suppers and breakfasts were really superb and well presented and they went out of their way to see to my dietery needs!

In the evenings the log fire that is situated between the dining hall and bar was lit, but I must admit although it made it comfortable and cosy I did not particularly enjoy the smell of the type of wood that was being used.

All the staff were absolutely fabulous, I found the service to be really good. After all the skiing we were treated to a swiss massage, and as a regular "massagee" I was really happy that the therapist was experienced and my massage was one of the better one's I had, had in a long time.

Jaco and Tommy were also amazing, accomadating and so friendly. They were positively interactive and wanting to give the best service, which they did!.

The hotel does need some attention and once it is sorted, and with the current management and staff it will be a destination to go too!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongaat
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

we took a four night ski package with the hotel. the hotel staff were friendly and efficient especially the managers who constantly checked on you to ensure you were comfortable.it is a dinner bed and breakfast deal but they only offer a two course dinner. the food however is nice and beside a few gliches when we got there, we had a wonderful stay. the ski resort is good but they do have issues with water and elctricity.the rooms at the hotel are three sleepers so kids share the room with you.all in all a good stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are mountain facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very poor to average hotel.. Views on mountain? Well yes i guess so if you look over the opposite hotel's restaurant i guess ... problem with that is that the guests there have a great view on your room :)
Room was average, with nice bathroom. Fireplace does nothing more than smoke you out of the room.
Not much to say about the restaurant other than bad .. at least there are a lot of great restaurants in Clarens.
Hotel needs some TLC

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are a family with 3 young children. One of which has very complicated dietary needs. We chose the option of Mont d' Or and their Afri- Ski package of 4 nights and shuttle service included. We were amazed with the incredible value for money! The staff, with special mention of Jaco, bent backwards at any need we possibly could have before we even requested it! The package is fantastic! Two meals a day included-even those you have at Afri ski or on the road!. Sit back and enjoy the beautiful area and skiing while being transported by VERY qualified shuttle service- Dean of Maluti tours. He is more of a guide than driver! Coming home late after full day of skiing a warm meal awaits and even a Spa treatment ! All arranged! The rooms are stunning with electric blankets and comfy fresh bedding. They even have large family rooms available all overlooking the most beautiful countryside. Mont d'Or you are 5 star!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I were to Mont D'or for some rest and rejuvenation. Our room was magnificent, the views were unsurpassable, the service was perfect. No request was impossible or too much for Tommy and his team. The beds were super comfy, the room was spotless, and the bathroom was sparkling clean. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain facing room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Well done to Mont d Or hotel. We stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is under the new management of Tommy Reinecke. Both he and his staff were friendly and so professional. The food was excellent. The pork fillet with black bean sauce is an absolute must! Our room was clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom. I loved the fireplace that was lit for us each night. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mont d'Or Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont d'Or Hotel

Address: 502 Sias Oosthuizen Lane, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mont d'Or Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Johannesburg and Bloemfontein and four hours from Durban, Mont d 'Or Hotel and Conference Centre invites you to exhale deeply, surrounded by the natural beauty of the Maluti Mountains, the luxurious décor, the outstanding service, and the first-class dining of our fine establishment. To further indulge during your stay, the Mont d’Or Day Spa located on the hotel premises offers the ultimate repose. The magnificence of Mont d 'Or welcomes you.Accommodation is offered in classically furnished en-suite rooms with views of the Clarens golf course, the village of Clarens, the majestic Maluti Mountains, and the picturesque countryside. Accommodation comprises Executive Rooms, Classic Rooms, Family Rooms and a Paraplegic Room, all equipped with plasma televisions with satellite channels, air-conditioning or an open fireplace. All rooms are also fully serviced and a laundry and dry-cleaning facility is available. Your requirements are certain to be met with elegance and old-world French charm.La Cerise, our 80 patron capacity restaurant, caters for every palate, predilection and absolutely any occasion. The fine décor is complemented by the friendly and efficient service, and the simple magic of the exquisite ambience will only add to the pleasure of your dining experience. The enjoyment of sumptuous cuisine, prepared with passion, skill and an abundance of freshly harvested local ingredients, keeps food enthusiasts on our list of regular clientele. From preparation to presentation, you are sure to receive only the finest.Services and timesCheck-In 02:00 PM Check-Out 10:00 AMWellness & Spa: We have an on-site spa that offers a range of treatments.Wedding Venues: Our wedding venue can host up to 60 guests.Conference Venues: The hotel offers a conference venue for up to 100 delegates cinema styleFacilities and ServicesWheelchair EnabledFireplaceSatellite TV*Credit Card FacilitiesRestaurantOn-site ParkingLanguages SpokenEnglishAfrikaansGrading4 Stars - Tourism Grading Council of South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mont d'Or Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mont d'Or Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.