We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We just love Merri & Rogers Millpond House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millpond House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarens
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Millpond House
Save
You added Millpond House to your Saves list
468 Cilliers Street, Clarens, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Clarens B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We just love Merri & Rogers Millpond House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and i have been returning to Millpond for about 7 years. We visit a couple of times each year and we really LOVE it. sometimes we come on our own and sometimes we bring our daughter and a friend. Each time is just a s enjoyable. We like the Rose Room best and we just love Merri's peaceful garden the flowers, the dogs, cat and the view. We know Clarens so well but with each visit we discover something new. There is so much to do: Walking and hiking in the mountains, trying the restaurants in the village, strolling through the country streets. Millpond is the best base in the pictoresque Swartland . the house is graceful, ever so pretty and it has all you need. Cannot wait to be back again Nicky and Ken, Umhlanga, ZKN

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Millpond three times and all three times we had a lovely stay. The third time my husband and I were travelling from Johannesburg to Cape Town and we booked a standard room. Upon arrival the friendly owner informed me that she upgraded us to a luxury room free of charge and we had sherry, a fireplace, under floor heating and a beautiful view! If you are going to Clarens, you have to stay in this gem!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Thanks to Roger and Merri who made who made us feel so welcome in their wonderfull guest house. The interior was done with great care and love and let you feel at home immediately. It made a great impression on us experiencing Clarens and its surroundings for the first time. We will definately recommend Millpond House to anyone who would like a break away from the husstle and bussle of town. The breakfasts were faboulous! Deon and Ferinda Schoeman

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wow, wow, wow! What an amazing weekend. Merri and Roger are amazing hosts. Feels like you have known them for years. Our room was amazing and the breakfast was the best in town! We will never go to Clarens again and not stay at Millpond! And the doggies were an added bonus. Wanted to take them home! Thanks for making my birthday one of the best I have had so far!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had an awesome Birthday weekend away at Millpond House! Divine, lavish accommodation set in a picturesque landscape with stunning views of the mountain. What a great place to spend a relaxing weekend and "exploring" the small town with all it's little shops and galleries! The hospitality of our hosts, Merri and Roger are truly commendable! Thank you once again; we'll certainly return!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had such a nice stay at Millpond. Everything we needed was there and the hosts were accommodating beyond the call of duty. Great location - minutes away from horseriding, mountain biking, hiking and the centre of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely getaway. We stayed in the Walnut room, which was extremely comfortable, not only a place to sleep but also ideal if you want to spend the day or night in. The place is clean (which is a rather an important factor for me).
Merri and her husband are great hosts, we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast they prepared for us, it was always of a high standard. The people around Clarens are also very friendly, which made the experience even more special. I would highly recommend the place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millpond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millpond House

Address: 468 Cilliers Street, Clarens, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Clarens
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millpond House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.