We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Clarens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Clarens to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Clarens
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stopped over for one night only en route to the coast. This being our first time in Clarens, we weren't sure what to expect from the other hotels and B&B's and hence decided to take a gamble on the Protea Hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive since the moment we arrived. We had dinner at the restaurant and was pleased with the quality of the food and impressed with the service. Breakfast was included in the price - what a wonderful breakfast! My 10 year old son loves a good omelet and ever since he has kept referring to the 'omelet he had in Clarens'. The waiters also remembered us from the previous evening and were very attentive. The rooms are what you would typically expect from this type of establishment. We stayed in 2 rooms, fitted with 2 double beds each. The rooms were clean, neat, very new. The showers take some getting used to though. The shower and basin is in the room, while the toilet is separate. This means that when you get our of the shower, you're in full view of everyone in the room. If you're sharing with a spouse, that would be okay, but it will cause problems with scenarios where the room mates aren't quite that intimate. Not sure if all the rooms are like that, but the 2 we had were identical.

I would definitely stay there again when we visit this quaint little town.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Desiree H

I hope you had a wonderful festive season and that 2013 will hold many moments of magic for you and your family!

I am so glad that you decided to stop in Clarens on route to the coast, and more importantly that you stayed at our hotel.

Clarens is a wonderful little village and I hope that when you return, you will have a bit more time to take in the scenery and enjoy all the mysteries that makes Clarens so spectacular.
The hotel offers a variety of room types ranging from rooms with a small balcony to rooms with en-suite bathrooms (with a separate bath and shower) for GUESTS that require a little more privacy.

Thank you for the kind words about my TEAM and for expressing how much you enjoyed your stay. I am so glad that your son is still talking about the omelet; I know that this will fill my chefs with pride.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the “Jewel of the Eastern Free State” very soon.

Kindest Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Protea Hotel Clarens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
47
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel! Fab location! Friendly staff! Excellent food! You can't fault it!!
Clarens is a beautiful little town with quirky shops/things to do. Book spa treatments/activities in advance. Same applies to the few gorgeous restaurants in town otherwise you will be disappointed!
Oh, and the scenery is out of this world! :-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnchenHaupt, General Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Werner N

Wonderful experiences are what my TEAM strives for every day.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the splendor of our little village of Clarens and all its offerings, and that Protea Hotel Clarens provided a friendly environment as your home away from home.

My TEAM are most appreciative of your enthusiastic comments and that they were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future!

Have a wonderful festive season.

Kind Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Protea Hotel Clarens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were immediately put on edge when the staff checking us in asked "have they explained about the room" No "they" hadn't . We booked online. The booking Confirmation form had the words "universal access" . What does that mean? Well the shower is in the middle of the room with no surround. Obviously it was a handicapped room. Not to worry "does it have a good view? No" . OK we would like a different room please. Sorry fully booked. OK can we see the manager. A different room was provided. OK so we got off to a poor start but everything was great from there on. Staff were friendly, food was great, beds were amazing and the location and views were fantastic.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a mountain view. I am not sure if all universal access rooms have n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Eddie C

Thank you for posting your review about your recent stay.

My sincerest apologies for any inconvenience experienced with the “Universal Access” rooms. We take for granted that our GUESTS understand hotel terminology and unfortunately with an online booking, there is no voice on the other end to explain the room configuration if there is any uncertainty.

I am glad that my TEAM was able to assist and offer an alternative room for your stay and more importantly that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and hope that you had a great trip to Mumbai.

Kind Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Protea Hotel Clarens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is quite central. The rooms were clean. The food we ordered for dinner one night was excellent and the room service was prompt. On the downside the pool is tiny and the hotel doesn't offer any entertainment. The staff weren't very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear SashSA

Clarens is a wonderful little village that has many secrets and adventures to discover. Over the years, our GUESTS have preferred to venture into the town to experience the local bands that perform at various pubs and visit the Clarens Brewery for free beer tasting.

My sincerest apologies for the dissatisfaction you experienced from my STAFF, I assure you that we pride ourselves in the service that we offer, and it is most distressing to hear that you were not assisted.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that room service was speedy.

Thank you once again and next time you visit us be sure to head into town to enjoy a Clarens experience.

Kind Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Protea Hotel Clarens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went to Clarens to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary and stayed at The Protea Hotel. The hotel is very nice and the staff are excellent. Juan the manager was very good and very accommodating. At dinner our first night there was a mix up with our order. I asked for the manager (Juan) and he immediately attended to the problem and returned to our table to inform us that our food would be 'on the house'. It was so refreshing to deal with a manager who actually did something about it and didn't just say sorry and that was it. I am in a wheelchair and I asked if it was possible to move to another room that would be a bit better for me and as soon as a room opened up they moved us with no problems and at no expense. I also spoke to juan on the phone the week before we went to the hotel and asked him if he could set up a private dinner for me and he said he would see what he could arrange. They ended up setting up a table upstairs on the balcony of one of the deluxe rooms with our own waiter, a gas heater because it was a bit chilly and they gave us a very nice desert courtesy of the hotel. Our waiter Lefa was absolutely brilliant. Top quality 5 star service and a great personality as well. I'm sure some of the best hotels in the world would snap him up in a second. Overall it was an excellent experience and the service andd staff was world class. Thanks to Juan, Lefa and the rest of the staff!!

Room Tip: The Deluxe room with A shower and Bath are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Darren T

Thank you for choosing the Protea Hotel Clarens to celebrate your 1st wedding anniversary.
We understand that special moments are rare and that quality time with a loved one is worth more than most can understand.

I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that my TEAM ensured that you had a wonderful time. I will be sure to congratulate Juan, Lefa and the TEAM on their excellent service.

We trust that we will see you very soon in the “Jewel of the Eastern Free State”.

Kind Regards
Lee-Ann Benney
General Manager
Protea Hotel Clarens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in Protea Hotel Clarens this past weekend for one night. The hotel is lovely, with service and food being good. It is not really a hotel for families though as they do not have family rooms or rooms with inter leading doors, which meant my wife had to share with our one child and me with the other in separate rooms. The Prokard bonus and the favourable room rates do however make it good value and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel. On both occasions we have been very happy with the venue. The rooms are fair sized and well maintained. The breakfast is very good .
My only negative comment is the floor tiles in the bathroom area and shower were freezing cold on a cold morning.

It is close to all the sights in the village as well as restaurants. Also only 15 mins from Golden Gate National Park

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherPoulsen, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Clarens, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Protea Hotel Clarens. It’s wonderful to host you again!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass your comments to the STAFF.

Thank you for also highlighting the good location of our hotel. It is truly ideal for all travellers wanting to explore the picturesque town of Clarens or the nearby Golden Gate National Park.

We look forward to having you back again!

Kind Regards,

Pieter Kruger
Asst. General Manager
Protea Hotel Clarens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Clarens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Clarens

Address: Cnr Main & Van der Merwe Streets, Clarens 9707, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Clarens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clarens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Clarens 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Clarens - Home is where the Art is. The Protea Hotel Clarens is located in the best kept secret in art and culture circles of the Free State. The picturesque village of Clarens is framed by the majestic Maluti Mountains, sandstone cliffs and is in close proximity to the Golden Gate National Park and the mountain kingdom of Lesotho. This artists’ haven is a tapestry steeped in history and rich in legend. Experience a living masterpiece that exudes sheer style, luxury and design. Protea Hotel Clarens blends in with the natural splendour that has inspired artists, eco lovers and tourists who simply enjoy the art of living to explore this tranquil, magical landscape and relax, in style. Take in the breathtaking scenery with sundowners on Protea Hotel Clarens’ terrace, enjoy fine dining or laze away the hours in luxury and comfort. This sanctuary embodies state-of-the-art excellence and service. From adrenalin rushes to cultural expeditions, Clarens offers it all. With an abundance of activities nearby, from San paintings and dinosaur trails to white river rafting and rock climbing; Protea Hotel Clarens’ warm hospitality completes the picture. So whether you plan a romantic getaway, team-building exercise, business conference or African adventure, Protea Hotel Clarens has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Clarens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Clarens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.