We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Campground” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Crossing

Aspen Crossing
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mossleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Crossing
Save
You added Aspen Crossing to your Saves list
203079 RR 251 Hwy 24, Mossleigh, Alberta T0L 1P0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great Family Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We camped at Aspen Crossing this past weekend for two nights. We were 6 adults and 6 kids under 4 in three campsites. We were so happy with our decision to try out this campground for a quick weekend get away from Calgary.

The first thing we noticed is how pleasant the onsite staff were. This weekend they had two wonderful couples onsite manning the campground. They ran the quaint store, sold us freezies for the kiddies, made sure the washrooms were spotless and were always around to chat and answer questions.

On Saturday afternoon we took the little ones for a stroll to see the sights and while the playground is a little run down, and in need of repair, we found lots to do. The looked at the big trains, and we even got a ride with the campground attendant over to the dining car to see the chickens, ducks and peacocks. He even made an effort to make sure we had a ride back as well, as it was quite a walk for so many little legs.

The campsites are really nice, but will be incredible in 10 more years. The owners have planted a ton of trees and they are starting to fill in now. It can be a little breezy as the campground is plopped in the middle of the prairies, but not a draw back from our experience. It is a great family spot and was nice and quiet at night.

Anyways, wanted to write a review, as we struggled to find reliable info when we were researching this spot and could not find it. This little gem deserves a positive review, and we will be back as our family grows

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Canadian Pacific caboose was amazing! The photos online and in brochure did not do it justice. Attention to detail was impeccable! Also had a wonderful meal in the restaurant which also was made special with detail. I had no idea the caboose accommodations were so special and high-end feeling and located in almost my backyard as we live 1/2 hr away.
My husband can't wait to return hopefully in the winter with soul warming drink in hand and to light up the pot-belly stove. See you when the snow flies!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If you have small kids, do NOT believe the pictures on the website for Aspen Crossing. The playground was a mess, a hazard. I couldn't let my preschoolers play there. The rocks were ruined, there was landscaping fabric everywhere to trip on, there was NO slide,the entire structure was tilted and the safety bolts were gone.
The pond was not an easy walk for little people and had leaches so wasn't really much fun for the litttle ones.
The restuarant was not a quick walk, it was a long walk with kids and I would have had to drive to it.
We stayed in a Caboose, which had filthy floors.
When I checked out an night early I was not refunded as they insist on 7 days notice, not on a happy customer.
When I explained why we were leaving and how dangerous the play ground was I was informed it had been like that for three weeks as some older kids ruined it and they've been too busy elsewhere to bother fixing it. There was nothing for a family to do there.
WORST VACATION SPOT EVER for a family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenCrossing, Manager at Aspen Crossing, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Greetings MJirish,

Firstly, I would like to send my condolences to you and I’m so sorry that you and your children did not enjoy yourselves.

It’s not acceptable that the floors were dirty as you say, we pride ourselves on our clean facilities. Management is looking into our records to see who was working that day and find out why the floors would be that dirty.

The playground equipment was damaged by some kids or adults and we have had to take a piece off and fix some of it. We had not expected our customers to vandalize it and we’ll promptly fix it to it’s original condition or to replace it. However, it is not unsafe. We would never, ever put anyone’s children in an unsafe situation, many of us have children of our own. The playground and the rest of the campground has been recently inspected by safety inspectors along with electrical, buildings, ect.

All of us are truly sorry that our facilities did not meet the experience your family was looking for.

We above all else value customer service. We are a small business and many of our customers end up as long term friends. The owners and managers have read your letter and have refunded your night stay.

Kind regards,

Leanna Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We camped there for a whole week and loved it. It has a lot of trees and there is a dinning car you can eat in that has awesome food. There was a minor hiccup with our site, but the owner was great about it since it was their issue. He just needs to get the park changed up to make it better for all ages. We will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at this RV campground for two nights in one of the more recent and was mature sites. The gravel sites are a good size and easily accommodated our 35' travel trailer. Unfortunately they aren't very level, either from front to back or side to side. The sewer drains were awkward as they were about 12" above ground level. This made it awkward to dump the tanks because there was a collection of water between the trailer and the drain. Electric and water were good. Each site had a hefty iron fire ring with a grate. There was also a fairly new looking picnic table and bench seats. In the newer area the trees and shrubs are less mature but still afforded some privacy. The roads around the campground are simply dirt tracks and since it poured with heavy rain prior to our arrival everywhere looked a mess and dirt was easily tracked into the trailer.
The washrooms were light and very clean. Showers are operates by $1 cnd vins which appeared to last about 90 seconds.
The staff were pleasant and friendly at heck in bit after that I didn't have cause to have any real contact with them.
There is some traffic noise from the nearby highway but as this is rural Alberta there isn't too much I'm the way of road movement.
The nearest town of any significance is Okotoks for groceries and gas - about 35 minutes drive west.
There is free wifi but you get bumped out after 30 minutes.

I think $38cnd plus gst is more than they should be asking but I'll probably still go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Spent 2 nights here, camp hosts were very friendly and attentive (Must be the Swiss charm!) the campground is very well kept and trees provide great shade. The gift shop and garden center are very well stocked with all kinds of neat stuff. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

We recently spent a night in the train suite. It was extremely comfortable & the stars @ night were absolutely beautiful!! Getting to stay in a luxury furnished train car was a real treat & brought back all the great childhood memories of our parents honking the car horn & the train blowing his whistle as he went by!!
We also thoroughly enjoyed the murder mystery dinner theatre we went to and the amazing brunch the next morning!
It was a really special experience & wonderful that it was such a short drive from Calgary. Definitely looking forward to another weekend there!
Caroline & Jerry

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspen Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Crossing

Address: 203079 RR 251 Hwy 24, Mossleigh, Alberta T0L 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Mossleigh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mossleigh
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspen Crossing luxurious Caboose Cabins will leave you completely unwound after it plunges you into a time where legends weren't just told, they were made. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.