We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clucking Hen Cafe and Bakery

Clucking Hen Cafe and Bakery
45073 Cabot Trail, North Shore, Nova Scotia B0C1H0, Canada
902-929-2501
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $17
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Open May - October, 7 days a week. Serving Breakfast, lunch and Dinner. Lot of home baked goodies to choose from. Licensed, ,serving beer and wine.
1 review
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stopped in here for sandwiches, coffee and treats to go before heading out on a hike before lunch. The entrance is a little bit cramped but all the best cafes are, the decor was really cute and quaint. It was really, really busy when we landed around 11:00 and still the line moved quickly, the servers were all smiling and friendly and everyone seemed well taken care of and content. Our sandwiches were ready within minutes and when we ate them on our hike, were really fresh and tasty. Baked goods were excellent and I can't wait to hit this spot up again. We backtracked about 20 minutes to get here and it was well worth the special trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not much competition, but great food anyhow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

There are not a lot of places to eat along this part of the Cabot Trail. This place looked like the best bet for lunch, so we stopped...and were very pleasantly surprised. It's a cute, cheerful place, with dozens and dozens of chicken ornaments. More importantly, the owner clearly takes pride in her baking and food. Nothing fancy, but very well prepared - we enjoyed the soup and sandwich, the fresh biscuits, and the excellent brownie. Given the locatin, this place deserves all 5 stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I family favourite since opening, with amazing homemade food. If I started to list favourites, I would end up listing the whole menu for you!! But a special note for the homemade potato leek soup and HOMEMADE BUTTER TARTS for sure!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“By default, the best around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

There really aren't that many places to eat around here... 20-40 minutes to get to another option for dinner. Fortunately, the food is pretty good, and there are baked goods to choose from (though when we ate there, the options were limited). We had the haddock, which was actually quite wonderful. The service situation is unusual - no one comes to your table except to drop off food... which begged a question between my husband and I - do we leave a tip if there is no service?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Place to dtop on the Cabot Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in Indian Brook on the Cabot Trail for 3 days in July. W enjoyed the the meals and service at the Clucking Hen. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent, very resonable priced and service was quick. we certainly would stop there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clucking Hen Cafe and Bakery also viewed

Birch Plain, Cape Breton Island
Margaree Valley, Cape Breton Island
 
Baddeck, Cape Breton Island
Boularderie, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Clucking Hen Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clucking Hen Cafe and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.