We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Ireland...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House to your Saves list
The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House
Aughris Head | Templeboy, Aughris, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Aughris B&B and Inns
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Ireland...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Myself, friend and young daughter went here for lunch yesterday, and we were not disappointed. Very friendly and welcoming staff, excellent and generous portions of food. Would definately recommend the Bangers & Mash!! But the best of the lot, is the setting and views of this beautiful place. Untouched & very quaint place.. Would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

It was a chance encounter , our visit here. We had been staying at the family seaside house in Portstewart Co. Londonderry and decided to take a few days away in the Republic. I didn't want to leave Portstewart for no other reason than I was content to be where I was , away from our home in England and of course away from work.
However we set off for the West Coast and aimed for somewhere below Sligo. On our way we got coffee somewhere in Fermanagh and decided to buy Georgina Campbell's Ireland and as we continued our journey Elizabeth, my wife, suggested going to a B & B in Aughris. Normally we stay at smart inns and the revoltingly named but often superb boutique hotels which have sprung up the world over, it was a surprise to both of us that I agreed to stay at budget accommodation.
I was thrilled with our choice from start to finish, it,,,,,,,,was all so honest and deserved to well patronised which I feel it is , despite the economic problems that abound.....their low prices must be part of the draw.
The ground floor room was spacious and had an adjoining bathroom with tea or coffee making facilities out in reception. The furniture and decoration was fresh if not new even.Parking is secure and safe I would say because this location is very remote.
Maggie Mayes Beach Bar is next door to Aughris House where the accommodation is and it is a typicall17th century thatched house which has been a pub for sometime although it has been added to slightly. The main bar however is old and atmospheric, very well maintained and besides good Guinness it serves solidly good food which almost flirts with something more aspirational, I suspect the chef ,who may be one of the owners , is tempted with finer fare but doesn't wan to be considered pretentious. My steak was excellent and the chips brilliant, I wouldn't be ashamed to bring friends to eat here. Breakfast was good .
I managed to use the free wi-fi to check emails and keep in touch back home, enjoyed a couple of strolls before and after dinner. The following morning we sadly departed but my reluctance to take this trip had been eradicated by this good experience.
It may be of importance to note that other than liquid soap a the wash basin there is nothing by the way of shower gel, shampoo etc and no flannels . I don't object to this but found myself being cross of myself for not bringing them along, at €60 for the room they can't afford to deck the rooms out with Jo Malone. Incidentally we stayed at an high end restaurant with rooms on the journey back to Yorkshire and got little more by the way of toiletries for £150 more and no flannel there either. Don't go to this place if you want luxury and fine dining but for comfotable accommodation and fulfilling dining .....all within yards of he sea and fine views and glorious sunsets this is hard to beat.......get a good road map though because it could be hard to find.

Room Tip: Take what they have when you ring, a sea view might be good for stays of two nights or more but I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Beach Bar is a little off the beaten path, as mentioned, but we found it easily using our GPS, and it is well signposted from the main road out of Sligo. When we visited in April, the bar was very quiet, with just a few locals, but the beers were good and the food was very generous, although somewhat limited. It's too far out of Sligo to easily come and go, so don't expect to be able to pop out for a drink - once you're there, you're settled in for the night! Beautiful view of the sea, but be warned, the sun shines directly into the bedrooms in the morning (take eye masks, as the curtains are thin!) The rooms are basic, and our shower was very weak, although this seems to be a common problem in Ireland. Our room wasn't serviced during our two day stay. Breakfast was one of the highlights, a really good full Irish. We spent a wonderful day travelling into county Donegal - the Beach Bar made a good base.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Not the easiest place to find but that's also the attraction as the Beach Bar sits on it's own picturesque beach.

The rooms are in a modern building next to the old thatched-roofed pub and our 4 bed room was clean and comfortable.

Food was only served until 6 but this could have been as it was a bank holiday. As it's a remote location this could have been an issue had we arrived a couple of hours later. As it was, the food was pretty good and we enjoyed a few pints on the beach and later in the cosy bar. Breakfast next day was the best we had on our tour of Ireland.

All this at a great price so I'd certainly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Aughris House's location is unbelievable. It has a beautiful, unspoiled beach, which is gorgeous even when it's raining! It really is in the middle of nowhere, so be prepared for quiet and only the Beach Bar to eat. The upsides are no crowds and easy access to the beach. The room was great for us, the only problem was some noise outside the room in the morning, but that had to do with where our room was located. They have good WIFI and access to a computer if you don't have one, or need to print. The breakfast was really great. They make the most delicious wheaten bread, and I passed up the large breakfast to concentrate on it! The Beach Bar also has excellent food, somewhat limited for children, but we made it work. Very cozy bar. It's 20-30 minutes to Sligo, for more restaurants or shopping. It made for a nice day, then back for a walk on the beach. We enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

It was a little hard to reach, going along on a narrow dirt road, quite far from Sligo. But once we arrived, the views were gorgeous, despite the day being rainy and gloomy... the B&B and pub are located right on the water. Absolutely stunning.

The Beach Bar pub is extremely charming with good food and great atmosphere.

The room itself was fine but the bathroom had a slight smell, despite appearing clean. The breakfast was great with friendly Irish service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Room was great, the view fantastic. The Beach Bar was very nice with a surprising menu. Not the typical pub grub. Everything was delicious. Only drawback was we were there in the offseason and felt very isolated. There dosen't seem to be much around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House

Address: Aughris Head | Templeboy, Aughris, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Aughris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aughris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms newly renovated! Free WIFI internet now available! Located directly behind The Beach Bar, all bedrooms come with en suite facilities and colour television in the rooms, as well as a large family room that sleeps 6 people..........The Beach Bar caters for an eclectic mix of visitors all year round. When you walk through the door, you will feel you are in a place that has not changed much over the centuries, yet it has something to suit all tastes. From the thirsty surfers just off the waves, to the tourists seeking out an other-worldly Irish experience, to the young 21 year olds looking for somewhere with character to host their 21st birthday parties, there is a welcome waiting for all. Good food, regular music sessions, draught Guinness and a beer garden with a view are the obvious attractions. More hidden, but can be sensed everywhere in the place, is the history of the Beach Bar...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House Hotel Sligo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Bar Sligo / Aughris House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.