We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thinking of a trip to Reykjavik look no further! This is the place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Privileged B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Privileged B&B to your Saves list
Privileged B&B
Blikastigur 18, Alftanes, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alftanes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thinking of a trip to Reykjavik look no further! This is the place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We are a family of 4 including a 13 year old and a 5 year old! We were warmly welcomed by the hosts Ian & Frances! The accommodation is extremely clean, well kept and comfortable! It has amazing views of Reykjavik! We enjoyed the sunshine on the fabulous decking where the hot tub is situated!

Ian is a fantastic tour guide with a vast knowledge of the island! He answered every question my children threw at him! He went out of his way to make our days enjoyable for us all with outdoor swimming stops on route to the next sight! And tales of the trolls! : )

Of an evening we were welcomed back by frances with a brilliant home cooked meal! Including homemade bread which the boys loved! I would definitely recommend having your evening meal here! She would have our swimming gear washed and dried for the next day!

We feel by stopping here we had an advantage on the large tour companies as Ian and Frances were always there to answer questions and give a great insight into Icelandic life! And also to go to places where a coach tour would not take you! My children have learnt so much from being on a holiday like this instead of your run of the mill holiday to spain! We are hoping to return in the winter months to experience the darkness, skiing and of course! Thanks for the memories!
the lights!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
25
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights (one night at the start of our two week holiday and the full second week of our holiday) in June this year. A lovely location in the quiet suburb of Alftanes with a view across the water to Reykjavik and on a clear day the Snaefellsness peninsula, right on the coast and with a nice coastal walk on the doorstep.
What moves this from a good place to stay to a great place to stay is the wonderful hospitality of Ian and Frances. Breakfasts and the evening meals, if you have them, are best described as a meal with friends. Discussing your day out and planning your day ahead with them and the other guests is part of the holiday itself. The advise and suggestions we got from Ian and Frances helped us make the most of the holiday and I will remember them as well as the things we did on this holiday.

The twin room we stayed in was a reasonable size with a good sized shower en-suite and the only negative I have is that where the en-suite intruded into the room it was a little tight to get past the first bed in the room, but a minor comment. You also have use of a lounge, with a view, upstairs and an patio outside.

A tip I would give is that if you are staying here on a Sunday then a car would be useful. The bus service into Reykjavik is pretty good during the week and on Saturday (two buses needed, but even if you mistimed the connection max about 50 mins to central Reykjavik and not too expensive). However, not much of a Sunday service and the local bus for the last part back is infrequent after 6 pm. We had kept the car from the touring part of our holiday over the weekend but got around fine without it during the week.

Would also recommend having at least some evening meals here, good food and good value for money, as well as the previously mentioned welcome. We ended up eating here 6 nights out of 8!
Also airport pick up / drop off available which is useful.

Whilst here, we also paid the extra to go on a 4 wheel drive trip with Ian. If you are there in the right season I would thoroughly recommend doing so and I think better value for money that the larger firms doing tours. We were lucky enough to go up Hekla on one of the first days it was open this year and to got a clear view.

Finally, and coincidentally the same as the last reviewer, apologies to Ian and Frances for the late review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Firstly, Ian and Frances, apologies for the slow review. I stayed with Ian and Frances in June 2013 whilst on business covering the Reykjavik Peninsular Rally for Land Rover World.
You couldn't ask for better. The accommodation is very comfortable, the wet floored hot showers are a joy after a day out and about and a midnight soak in the hot pot not to be missed. If you stay, you have to let Frances prepare dinner for you at least once, you won't regret it. As for friendliness, you can't ask for a nicer couple and with them able to collect you from and drop you to the airport, it makes for a very easy stay and very affordable too.
Not sure when I'll next be in Iceland but there WILL be a next time and I know exactly where I'll be staying. Thanks friends, look forward to seeing you next time :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great to revisit Ian and Frances. Perfect location especially for walks, flowers and birds. Food as delicious as ever and a spectacular tour with Ian at the helm over a mountain road: stunning scenery as always. Weather was terrific for me and I love the constant light. Ian now has the hot tub up and running. Lovely views over the bay to the capital and seascapes with the midnight sun.

Room Tip: They are all great. I like the view from the bunk room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A warm welcome at the airport from Frances who had come to meet us. A 20 minute journey saw us arrive at Ian and Frances' home. We immediately felt at ease.

Our bedroom had en suite facilities (both bedroom and en suite were spacious). Enjoyed the hot tub in the evening. Views over the bay to Reykjavik were lovely and constantly changed in the different light. Walk around the President's residence or nature reserve nearby.

Our evening meals were delicious. Freshly baked bread each morning at breakfast.

Frances and Ian have an in-depth knowledge of the best places to visit and have maps and guides that you can use. If you want to get to places where there will be few visitors, ask them. Or get Ian to take you on a tour in his Landrover Defender (38" wheels). Be prepared to see stunning sites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Frances and Ian made our trip to Reykjavik very enjoyable. We stayed a total of 3 days - one day at the beginning of our trip and two days at the end of the trip. They had a lot of good tips and advice. The location of the guesthouse is excellent - it looks over the bay at the city. It is on a dead end street next to the ocean. They have two rooms in their home for rent. We had the twin room with a private bath. The room is good size and bathroom are both good size and very clean.

Frances makes bread every day for the breakfast. It was a very nice breakfast in the morning with Frances and the other guests. The kitchen is large and between the two rooms. It is nice just to sit and chat with Frances as she is preparing goodies. There is a lounge upstairs with a tv and deck looking out over the water. There is a deck and hot tub off the kitchen area. The neighbors next door were going to graze their horses right off the kitchen. Too bad they didn't put them in the pasture before we left. They are really friendly Icelandic horses.

After coming back from a day of sightseeing, we had some tea and coffee with Frances around the kitchen table. She had some butter cookies with bits of ginger that were great. She also had some other cookies that I kept nibbling on.

Good;
- Great, quiet location next to the sea and looking out towards the city
- Close to a swimming pool complex
- Clean and large room and bathroom (after traveling in Iceland for 10 days, this was one of the biggest rooms at any guesthouse we stayed at)
- Free breakfast that was very good
- Free wifi
- Good company which is priceless

Other...
- My bed wasn't so comfortable. I told Frances about it and she was going to look into it. I think a new mattress is in order. My father, slept really well and was comfortable.
- The room isn't really dark in the summer so bring some eye masks

They didn't need to pick us up because I rented a car. They did pick up the other guests at the airport. We loved staying there and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After cruising for 27 days and spending 5 days in Amsterdam we were flying home via Icelandair and took up the offer of a free stopover by the airline in Reykjavik, Iceland. We spent 2 wonderful nights at the Privileged B&B. We were two couples so had the two bedrooms on the main floor. Each room had it own bathroom with a great shower with unlimited hot water (geothermal). Their home is right on the Atlantic Ocean with beautiful views and walking paths. Their is a nice sitting room on the second floor which is very comfortable and scenic. Frances and Ian are wonderful hosts. Besides the fabulous breakfast and hospitality, we chose to have dinner at the B&B as well (added cost). Frances is a great cook who serves traditional food along with homemade breads and desserts. The home cooking was a real treat for us after being on the road for so long. The hosts are also very helpful with touring advice. Highly recommended and stay for dinner!

Room Tip: Both rooms on the main floor have your own bathroom with shower. One room has a double bed and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Privileged B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privileged B&B

Address: Blikastigur 18, Alftanes, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Alftanes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alftanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We operate a B&B for Family, Friends and guests who like to stay with 'friends'. Traditional detached 2 story, lounge on top floor, stunning views. 2 rooms en-suite both suitable for less able persons, 1 room shares with our bathroom. Walk from house to President's home and see ducks, geese, horses, wild flowers, and more. Or walk along the shore. Catch a bus into the city from our street. Tours can be arranged, both bespoke by us or with travel guided tours. Pickup/Drop off at Keflavik airport. Free Internet access, UK Freesat TV (if you really must have TV!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Privileged B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Privileged B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.