We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to end a wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Privileged B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Privileged B&B to your Saves list
Privileged B&B
Blikastigur 18, Alftanes, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alftanes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vernon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect way to end a wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After cruising for 27 days and spending 5 days in Amsterdam we were flying home via Icelandair and took up the offer of a free stopover by the airline in Reykjavik, Iceland. We spent 2 wonderful nights at the Privileged B&B. We were two couples so had the two bedrooms on the main floor. Each room had it own bathroom with a great shower with unlimited hot water (geothermal). Their home is right on the Atlantic Ocean with beautiful views and walking paths. Their is a nice sitting room on the second floor which is very comfortable and scenic. Frances and Ian are wonderful hosts. Besides the fabulous breakfast and hospitality, we chose to have dinner at the B&B as well (added cost). Frances is a great cook who serves traditional food along with homemade breads and desserts. The home cooking was a real treat for us after being on the road for so long. The hosts are also very helpful with touring advice. Highly recommended and stay for dinner!

Room Tip: Both rooms on the main floor have your own bathroom with shower. One room has a double bed and the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
28
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Enjoyable stay with Frances and Ian.
They went above and beyond and helped out with all our travelling needs / journies into Rejkyavik. An all round service and good value for money.
Food was delicious as well!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Staying with Frances and Ian is like staying with family. They fulfill every wish you didn't even know you had. Ian picked me up from the airport, and Frances had a great meal prepared by the time we got home. Even though I had to be in town early every day, they were happy to drive me. It is also easy to take a bus from the B&B into the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms are very comfortable and there is even a hot tub. I particularly enjoyed the wonderful views. No need to buy a travel guide either as Frances and Ian are happy to share their extensive knowledge of Iceland and have a collection of every bit of information you might need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed at this lovely B&B as part of a family trip to Iceland for my parents Ruby Wedding celebrations. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable and being British there is no language barrier to overcome! Nothing is too much trouble and they helped to plan trips to see the major sights, with a few 'hidden gems' thrown in. Pick ups and drop off from the Airport were no problem, even with family groups arriving at different times. Frances is an amazing cook as we breakfast and additional evening meals.Their Hot tub under the stars was a real plus point, as were the amazing views - including the most fantastic sunset my husband and I have ever seen. Ian and Frances were both fantastic with my son (age 11) and my cousins toddler was also well catered for. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask about room with hot tub access!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a late review - we stayed at Francis and Ian's place back in September 2012 - but still worth reporting. Our stay at the guest house couldn't have been better. Lovely friendly place with a room and a private bathroom which was comfortable and, from other Iceland hotel accounts, bigger than average too. Francis cooks the most wonderful breakfasts and evening meals - much, much better (and good company) than the one meal we had in a restaurant in Reykjavik. We were given lots of advice, tips and maps, and wouldn't have made some of the scenic journeys we did without this advice. Lots of information about Iceland was discussed over meals, which greatly enhanced our day trips.

Room Tip: Slightly hard to find when we first arrived at midnight (it's set back from the road and the num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Frances and Ian are lovely - I felt like a long lost niece as i was so well looked after! As other reviewers have said, nothing was too much trouble. Ian picked me up at the airport and i got loads of information (tour guide style) about the area on the journey back to their house. Once there i was immediately offered a cup of tea and given breakfast - which was awesome :)

The food - well what can i say, Frances is a great cook, and a baking machine! Fresh bread every morning. The evening meal is well worth it too - and delicious!

Being a solo traveller, i had not bothered to hire a car, preferring to depend on the local public transport. Their home is two bus rides away from the centre of Reykjavik, but doesn't take long. Just remember that you need to keep the ticket - as that is your transfer onto the second bus! otherwise like me, you'll have to pay again! Plus - they give no change on the bus - so also ensure you have the correct money! But the buses are cheap. In any case, while i was there i was lucky that Frances and Ian were always on hand should i require a lift into or home from the city.

I am already thinking about going back to Iceland - and i know where i'll be staying!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Ian and Francis are lovely, genuine people who made our stay in Iceland easy and enjoyable. They were extremely helpful when booking our visit and they happily picked us up from the airport late at night, even bringing child seats with them. They offered delicious Icelandic food for breakfast and dinner. Francis is an amazing cook and her cakes and biscuits are truly out of this world! Everything was perfect and we highly recommend their B&B. Ian and Francis went out of their way to make our stay memorable. We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Privileged B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Privileged B&B

Address: Blikastigur 18, Alftanes, Reykjavik, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Alftanes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alftanes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We operate a B&B for Family, Friends and guests who like to stay with 'friends'. Traditional detached 2 story, lounge on top floor, stunning views. 2 rooms en-suite both suitable for less able persons, 1 room shares with our bathroom. Walk from house to President's home and see ducks, geese, horses, wild flowers, and more. Or walk along the shore. Catch a bus into the city from our street. Tours can be arranged, both bespoke by us or with travel guided tours. Pickup/Drop off at Keflavik airport. Free Internet access, UK Freesat TV (if you really must have TV!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Privileged B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Privileged B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.