We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reia Taipa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Reia Taipa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Reia Taipa Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   22 Taipa Point Road, Taipa 0420, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taipa
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We visited Taipa and stayed at this beautiful resort this year when I had friends over from Malaysia. We had one of the poolside studioswhich were well appointed and have all the stuff required for a comfortable stay.We paid an extra $40 for a deluxe studio and the room was awesome, especially the smart tv with internet on it, nothing like checking Facebook on TV while watching cricket. Great views from the restaurant of the bay and the food perfectly complimented these amazing views. Would love to have seen more activity brochures but the staff were pretty helpful in pointing us in the right direction for something to do.

Room Tip: We had a poolside room however try and get the beachfront rooms since the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    21
    16
    4
See reviews for
33
44
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed in the two bed roomed apartment and were disappointed by the following- no drawers, chairs or mirrors in the bedrooms - makes blow drying your hair an interesting experience! Many do the light bulbs needed replacing and there was no table or chairs on the terrace.
Visitors from the UK will have some health and safety issues as several of the tiles round the pool are missing and neatly stacked up I assume they will get round to cementing them back in place.

We were less than pleased to overhear a conversation between the hotel manager and a tour bus driver as she was explaining to him that the locals could use the restaurant And would pay 20% less than the prices listed on the menu!

The final insult was when we were informed at checkout that if we paid by credit card there would be a further 2.5% additional charge. This charge applies to the total bill therefore if you have any meals or drinks they will also be included.

Incidentally if you stay at this motel try moving the sofas you will be amazed at what you find underneath, obviously not an exercise carried out by the cleaning staff!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiataipa, General Manager at Reia Taipa Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Hi Shelagh21,
I am sorry to hear about aspects of your stay that disappointed you, we take guest satisfaction very seriously.

With regard to credit card fees they are clearly stated on the website booking page, the email confirmation we send out as well as the guest registration form on checkin, we will take steps to be more diligent around informing about credit card fees as well as the options available.

Unfortunately we had a little damage to our pool area during a function held there where three tiles were lifted and a sun lounger was broken. We decided that there was no hazard to guest safety if we stacked the tiles neatly while waiting for replacements that could then be cemented in. (Which was soon fixed).

With our location we have some interesting power fluctuation issues which result in an inordinate amount of lightbulbs being replaced as one the resulting consequences. Aware of this, our housekeeping staff check this prior to arrival, and we promptly replace blown lightbulbs when we are notified during a guests stay.

Please accept our apologies for you not having the experience we like our guests to have and should you decide to stay with us again we will do our best to make your stay more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have stayed here three years in a row, though the resort is now under new management. We stayed for a week in a beachfront one bedroom apartment, with the bonus of an upgrade to a newly refurbished unit. First the positives; the room was great, the bathroom luxuriously done up to a high standard, the interactive smart TVs fab and the decor beautiful. The staff were accommodating, friendly and helpful - Suraj in particular (I hope I got your name right- you were top notch). The views and beach are second to none and keep us coming back to Taipa. If there were any downsides they were minor; the upgrade to the room has resulted in a high spec kitchen but less usable than the old one - no doubt to get people to use the on site restaurant- which looked great though we didn't use it apart from a daily flat white x 2 at the cafe which was great. Also on checkout I was charged 3% extra to use Amex, which is not unreasonable but I was not offered any alternative at the time and it caught me a bit by surprise as it I didn't see the extra charge advertised. These are minor points however and overall I would rate at about 4.75/5.00 stars and recommend highly for any trip to the far north in Aotearoa.

Room Tip: Go beachside, it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were at Taipa Bay Beach Resort in early October last year and work was still ongoing on some of the rooms and the dining room space was still being refurbished BUT that in no way detracted from this welcoming place. We stayed in a very comfortable suite overlooking the sea and the views are wonderful. A residential road separates the hotel from the beach but there is very little traffic on it and it certainly doesn't disturb or detract. The weather was cool and quite windy but that didn't stop us enjoying the walks along the beach. The restaurant was, I think, still a work in progress and the menu choice was limited but all the food we had here was very, very good indeed and we could feel the pounds piling on. If they've still got that New York cheesecake, save room for it, it's gorgeous. We stayed here in order to take a trip up to Cape Reinga and were badly let down by one of the tour operators, but the helpful staff went out of their way to try and sort things out for us, making endless telephone calls and sending faxes to request information and confirmation of our booking. (In spite of their help, we got nowhere so in desperation we re-booked with another tour operator, Dune Riders, who did deliver a brilliant trip up to the Cape [see separate review]). Waiting and bar staff and the owner were all incredibly charming and helpful and I'm only sorry that I can't remember all their names. Apologies guys and gals, you were absolutely great and helped make our stay a truly memorable one. Thank you.

Room Tip: For me, I would always choose to see the sea and the view at Taipa Beach Resort is fantastic. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangonui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This review is for the cafe only, and I have done a review of the cafe before, but visited the cafe again yesterday since new owners of the resort and cafe have taken over.

First impressions were that the outside had definitely been freshened up, and the inside of the cafe had also been revamped with lovely new furniture to match.

Was slightly dissappointed that the lovely range of muffin flavours had gone, however on a positive they cafe now offers a combo deal of a coffee and muffin for $6.00, which is a great deal, and to be honest it is the only decent cafe up this way to offer this kind of combo!! Being an ex-Aucklander now living up here, it was great to see this combo deal being offered, good on them. The coffee was a delicious as ever and a very good size, the muffin too was lovely. All beautifully presented by the friendly staff.

I was so pleased that the cafe is still a pleasure to visit and that any changes were good changes. Recently another cafe near has changed ownership and the changes have been not so good, so relieved that this is not the case here, so this is definitely the place to go for great coffee, with views to match.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a room on the pool side. But the outlook overlooking the bay was gorgeous. The pool and spa were lovely, and not overly chlorinated. The kitchen was well stocked with all the utensils you need.However the whole place looks and smells like a Ryman Healthcare rest home. They obviously use the same cleaning chemicals. Our bed was in dire need of a replacement. It was lumpy and you could feel the springs. Would consider staying here again if the place had an up grade and we could book a room on the bay side.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paihia, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Once upon a time... My favourite place to stay accomodation was nice, food was good... Like me it was getting tired....
Now, be prepared ....... the rooms have been refurbished the decore impressive... Service has always been great ... Now the New Owners are putting their stamp on friendly, 'what can we do better' ... Initiatives.. I like it !... New Year...... a new lease on life... I am excited to continue my stays there on visits to the Far North !...
Lee... Always a pleasure to hear your voice welcoming guests to Reia Taipa Resort!
Suraj. You are awesome ! Always a pleasure... your friendly enthusiastic attitude rubs off ...
Russell. Top marks !.. Without your skills on the helms to run a good ship ...all can be lost...
Wishing you all a wonderful prosperous Happy New Year ! All the best .. I will see you again soon !

Room Tip: If you want to wake up to enjoy the sea view .... Seaside room I always prefer studio, light airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reia Taipa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reia Taipa Beach Resort

Address: 22 Taipa Point Road, Taipa 0420, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Taipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Taipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Reia Taipa Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently revamped “Taipa Bay Resort” is under new management. Reia Taipa Beach Resort has a stunning beachfront location with a choice of 32 self-contained, studio, 1 and 2-bedroom suites and a spacious Pacific suite. All of our apartments have a fully equipped kitchen, lounge and a dining area. Enjoy the sea view from your very own private patio or the tropical styled garden from your parkside patio.Additional facilities include a swimming pool and spa pool, BBQ facilities and tennis court.Enjoy al fresco all day dining, local cuisines and wines with spectacular sea views from our restaurant, café and bar.Situated in a relaxed beachfront location Reia Taipa Beach Resort is a popular spot for family holidays, getaways, weddings, conferences and honeymoons.Functions & Weddings can be held privately in its large conference centre. Exchange wedding vows by the beach, illuminated by the full moon or under the shade of the beautiful Pohutukawa trees, and then celebrate with your family and friends while dining on our excellent range of food.Reia Taipa Beach Resort - your haven, your retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Reia Taipa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipa Bay Hotel North Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reia Taipa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.