We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in South Uist” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polochar Inn

Save Saved
You added Polochar Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polochar Inn
Polochar, Lochboisdale HS8 5TT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lochboisdale
Oswestry
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A Jewel in South Uist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you are looking for first rate accommodation, really good food and a stunning view of the sea clear across to North America then you will find it hard to better this place.

Right on the sea’s edge and well deserving of its four stars the Polochar Inn is a real find. The rooms are well laid out and the furnishings well-coordinated, the lounge is comfortable, the bar welcoming, the dining room spacious and the owners extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating.

We stayed just after the chef had returned to the mainland for the winter so the evening meal was cooked by ‘a lady from Eriskay’. I must say that if she is just the winter cook the summer chef must be outstanding because this lady can really cook. They had obtained some local Turbot which she simply pan fried Meunière and it was perfect and plentiful. The cream and chive sauce was a bit bland and the fish might have been better with a standard Meunière sauce of butter, lemon and capers but that’s just me being picky, the dish was still very good indeed. The veg was perfectly cooked and there was more than enough. The Memsahib had beef cannelloni which she declared as excellent so all in all a good meal was had by all. Even by mainland standards it was very reasonably priced, which was a bonus.

Close your eyes and listen to the tranquillity, they even have their very own Celtic Standing Stone outside the front door, an almost white sandy beach and the sea, oh the sea!

I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay at the very bottom of South Uist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    76
    9
    10
    2
See reviews for
31
150
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora,Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We recently spent a week on the Outer Hebredes and stayed 3 nights at the Polochar Inn near Lochboisdale on South Uist. The accomodation was first class, service excellent, and we found the food to be of a high standard. This hotel should be on your list if visiting in the vacinity

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My mum and I stayed at this quaint hotel for two nights in July, the staff were helpful, friendly and observant. Due to mobility issues they moved us to a room closer to the stairs and with a walk in shower, however there is no lift.
I loved hearing Gaelic being spoken and even had a little tuition!
The owner ensured we had every comfort and the food was indeed delicious. Being so close to the sea was wonderful, the hotel was warm and comfortable.
The room we were in wasn't big but the fittings, beds and bathroom were all in good condition..
I wouldn't hesitate to return although Harris is my personal favourite of all the Outer Hebridean Islands.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea, wonderful sound of breaking waves. and glorious sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night on our way to Barra. We watched the Olympic closing ceremony in a quiet sitting room with a huge TV! Great food, lovely room and after our stay in Barra we were invited back for breakfast after an early ferry. Very friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The food here is simply in the delicious category, seafood in particular.
The staff are very friendly and genuinely make you feel welcome and at home.
The public bar is really good to have a pint, the regulars make you feel as though this is your local.
The location of the hotel is good, easy access to Eriskay and Barra.
Once again due to the location, history of the Inn, friendliness of the staff and ultimately the quality of the food, I would say this Inn must be top on your list of places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Only stayed one night during island hopping on the way to the Hebridean Celtic Music Festival. Would have loved to stay longer. Rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. Staff was welcoming and friendly. Dinner was delicious, fresh and well prepared. The weather was nice enough to eat outdoors, I think it was about 8pm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had two excellent evenings at Polchar while staying on South Uist. The food was fabulous with a menu that makes full use of the range of lovely fresh fish available locally. The staff are very friendly and attentive. A lovely venue, super views, and great atmosphere. We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Polochar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polochar Inn

Address: Polochar, Lochboisdale HS8 5TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lochboisdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Polochar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polochar Hotel Lochboisdale
Polochar Hotel South Uist
Polochar Inn Lochboisdale, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polochar Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.