We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heron Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heron Point
Save Saved
You added Heron Point to your Saves list
452 Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale HS8 5TN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Lochboisdale B&B and Inns
Teddington
1 review
“Wonderful host.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Every detail has been thought of, from the the tea and cake on arrival to the very early breakfast cooked for us before our early ferry departure. Also the wine and nibbles left for us in the lounge in the evening.. A lovely finish to our holiday. Agree with all the previous comments

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
93
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Staying at Heron Point was a bit like staying with friends. Both Andy and Jan go out of their way to ensure you have the best stay possible and want Heron Point to be the type of place they would love to stay at. This includes help planning places you can visit including beautiful white sand beaches, outstanding food, help booking an evening meal, information on the weather and a touch of luxury in the bedrooms. If you don't have a good time at Heron Point, it will not be because Andy & Jan have not done their best to make it so.
On our stay, Andy took the time to take us to look for otters, seals and sea eagles Not only did my wife & I have a great stay...so did our two dogs. Lily & Erin say thank you for the doggie treats which came as a great surprise!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Andy and Jan Biddles are the perfect hosts. They welcome you and treat you as family, except that you do not have any chores in this family. They have gone to a lot of trouble to think of many little details, and went out of their way to arrange for dinner. They even called the restaurant to let them know we were running late because we lost our car keys! It is so warm and inviting - I cannot recommend this place highly enough! Easy to get to, hard to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A trip back to Andy and Jan's was a must on this years agenda. Suffice to change nothing has changed and we received the same greeting as we did the year previous. A slice of Lemon cake and a cup of tea was just what we needed, wine and canapes for the evening followed by nuts and crisps. What other B+B can offer this. Along with Andy and his enthusiasm and honesty about how lucky they both are to have such an opportunity in life to run and live in a stunning part of our Country.
Andy as usual spoilt my wife with an enormous bowl of his special Greek Yogurt breakfast treat while I had to put up with delicious full Scottish.
Jan keeps the place pristeen which gets my wifes thumbs up as she is quite fussy about cleansiness.
The dogs are crackers which suits me as I dont feel on my own while they are around.
Thanks again Andy and Jan, we probally wont be back next year as we are going to Orkney but I think one day we will be back on the islands and will catch up with you again. Take care and good health.
P.S. thanks for the Book Andy.

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Heron Point sets the standard in quality customer care and luxury accommodation. This lovely Bed and Breakfast, was a real treat to return to each evening, after exploring the beautiful beaches and hidden secrets of nearby Benbecula, South Uist, Eriskay, Barra and Vatersay. Set on the north shore of Lochboisdale, with lovely views of the loch and surrounding hills, you are spoilt by the excellent care attention and kindness, of proprietors and hosts Andy and Jan Biddles. Well worth a visit. With fond memories, Colin & Susan.

Room Tip: The en suite double room offers magnificent views of Lochboisdale and the guest's lounge is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 weeks in the Outer Hebrides...a mixture of self-catering and B and B accomodation. Heron Point is definitely one of the best B and Bs in the Outer Hebrides! It is a spacious, luxurious house. Spotlessly clean and well maintained. The breakfast was beautifully presented and very well cooked. Jan clearly works tirelessly in the background on the less glamorous side of housekeeping whilst Andy cooks and serves breakfast and runs front of house with enormous enthusiasm and energy. Nothing is too much trouble and he is genuinely interested in his guests' well-being. The care and attention is second to none and he can be excused the rather long induction which another reviewer is critical of. This is a warm and generous couple who go the extra mile.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night a month or so ago, and I've read the reviews since then with interest. The place is a very comfortable place to stay and the breakfast, smoked salmon, was in the top two for taste and quality on our journey north through the islands. Andy was very helpful in advise on the places to see, and where to go for an evening meal. I always think it must be an incredibly difficult art in running a B and B to pitch how much information/attention to give to guests, as we are all so different. I did feel that flagging up to us that should we download inappropriate items from the WIFI he would be obliged to report it, was going a little too far though. A definite first for us. From the overwhelming majority of reviews though, people seem very happy indeed. All in all, a memorable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heron Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron Point

Address: 452 Lochboisdale, Lochboisdale HS8 5TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochboisdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Heron Point Lochboisdale, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.