We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lochboisdale HS8 5TN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Lochboisdale B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My 6 y.o daughter and I stayed here in the summer. Morag was warm and friendly on arrival, taking time to talk to my little girl. The rooms and house were spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was vast and superb. Before we left Alasdair helped me to sort out my kayak, nothing was too much trouble. The other guests were there for a fishing week and spoke very highly of the McDonalds and their organising abilities. We had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a pleasure to get to meet people like Morag in one's life! Her warm welcome will make you forget about the rain, the cold or the wind. She is the kind of persons you would choose as a second mom.

For me, going to a bed and breakfast gives you an opportunity to meet locals, discover their culture, their cuisine, and if you are really lucky, to share some personal stories. In Lochside Cottage, it was a perfect shot : everything at the same time!

The room was really nice and the shared bathroom was spacious and clean. We had delicious cakes and tea when we arrived at night, and in the morning, the best breakfast I had in Scotland!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to south uist for a fishing trip, this is my second year here and second staying in the lochside b&b, brilliant location, close to ferry etc, owners morag and alistair couldnt be any friendlier and very welcoming, b&b very tidy, well kept and up to date, highly recommended to anyone wither its fishing, cycling, walking etc, I would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyr, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Lochside Cottage B&B.
It is only a short drive to Lochboisdale.
Very friendly welcome, large room and bathroom.
The breakfast was very good and plenty.
We can really recommend the Lochside Cottage B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay with the perfect hard working hosts Morag and Alisdair. I have been using this B&B for both leisure and work purposes over several years and the service from both gets better and better.
With its wonderful location over looking the loch you can sit and watch the wildlife from the bright spacious conservatory.
Breakfast was both plentiful and delicous.
The house has several well sized rooms and also boasts two self catering caravans,an ideal base for those wishing to explore the charming islands.
If its cycling or fishing you like you like then Alisdair can arrange or even join you for the day,his ghillie skills are well sought after.
I have no hesitations in recommending this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with Morag and Alisdair. Our room was warm, very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Breakfast was a very high standard and Morag is a lovely, welcoming lady who's character makes her a pleasure to stay with. Nothing was too much trouble and coffee and home baked cake when we came in both days was a wonderful little touch.
Thank you Morag for adding to our wonderful holiday experience.

Room Tip: We had the family room and the black out blind was very welcomed, especially when you struggle with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menstrie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently toured Barra and the Uists. Our 2nd night was spent with Morag and Alisdair at Lochside Cottage. A beautiful house in an even more beautiful setting, with wonderfully attentive hosts, we stumbled upon an absolute gem!
Although you can't see it from the road, the house backs on to a small loch - the extension room is right on the loch side - you couldn't get any closer without getting your feet wet! It's a wonderful outlook - you can sit there and watch the wildlife completely undisturbed.
Our rooms were really nicely done, very homely,beds were comfy - no ensuite, but bathroom next door - it didn't bother us at all as we were made to feel so much at home.
When we arrived in the afternoon, Morag welcomed us with tea and home baking - such a lovely, caring touch. She sat and chatted to us when I'm sure she must have had other things to do - we just felt so welcome. In the evening, Alisdair came to spend time with us. It was lovely.
Breakfast was vast, hot and beautifully cooked. It kept us going until well into the afternoon!
A stay at Lochside Cottage is a must if you're visiting the area. You won't be disappointed! Book now!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Lochboisdale HS8 5TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochboisdale
Also Known As:
Lochside Cottage Bed And Breakfast Lochboisdale, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochside Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.