We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ADVANCE BOOKING TOTALLY UNRELIABLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brae Lea House

Brae Lea House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brae Lea House
Lasgair, Lochboisdale HS8 5TH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Lochboisdale B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ADVANCE BOOKING TOTALLY UNRELIABLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I had booked, by an exchange of emails, a room for 2 nights at the B&B "BREAE LEA" in Lochboisdale and received a written confirmation of my booking on 18th July for my stay on 13th and 14th August.
When I arrived on 13th August, Mrs Murray just told me that she could no more give me the room on 14th August, as in the meantime, she had simply booked it for another person. I was really shocked.
very non-professional and totally unreliable behaviour.

Room Tip: just avoid this b&b
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Bae Lea and Patsy was very welcoming (though, we felt, possibly there is an initial shyness to her). In terms of accommodation it wasn't one of the more luxurious B&Bs we had stayed in but the room was large and the bed comfortable. The shower room was a master of space utilisation and we were glad that there was no-one in the adjoining room to us for our first couple of nights as, when it was occupied, the noise from their shower was very intrusive but these were relative minor details which didn't spoil our overall pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed for a couple of nights in September 2011, travelling solo around the Outer Hebrides by bus. Patsy was welcoming & the B&B was pleasant, with a lovely breakfast. The hotel (a mile away) has a restaurant and serves bar meals, and was fine to while away the evening. If you do not have a car you may want a torch to find your way back to the B&B once you get off the main road, on the other hand a friendly local might stop and give you a lift anyway !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarberg, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Monika and Robert Stayed for 2 nigths in Brealea B&B. It was better installed than advertised with alle required facilities shower en suite, TV in lounge and well furnished and spacious. We enjoied the hospitality and the friendliness of Patsy who isowner of the house.

We can as well recommend the Breakfast well prepared an lavely presented. The outside lqn is spacious and one has a beautukk view of the landscape. Restaurant is about one mile away on the main road at the crossing. There you can get good food at reasonable price.

We would certainly visit again.

regards
Robert and Monika
from Switzerland

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in a very comfortable spacious room, a pleasant residents lounge is available with good views towards Lochboisdale. Breakfast was good and hearty and the hospitality warm and welcoming. Good evening meals were available at the Lochboisdale Hotel which was only a 20 minute walk from the house. Recommended

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gipf-Oberfrick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Brae Lea House was our shelter on a rainy afternoon.
After a brief welcome we have not met our hosts for the rest of the day.
We had dinner in the Lochboisdale Hotel which was very cosy, there was no other place to go anyway.

Breakfast was chosen from a menu and very delicious.

The B&B is for sale and unfortunately one could feel that the owners are a bit weary. It was OK for what the name "Bed and Breakfast" stands for. Our room looked much better than on the home page.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

The breakfast was lovely, Patsy also cooked a lovely eveing meal. I liked the house very much we had a great room and bath room number 5, but yes the walls are a bit thin. I would still recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brae Lea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brae Lea House

Address: Lasgair, Lochboisdale HS8 5TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lochboisdale
Also Known As:
Brae Lea House Lochboisdale, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brae Lea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brae Lea House to your Saves list