We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lochboisdale Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochboisdale Hotel
Save
You added Lochboisdale Hotel to your Saves list
Lochboisdale HS8 5TH , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lochboisdale
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel needs upgrading and the food could probably do with a makeover. However, you do not go to the Outer Hebrides for haute cuisine and boutique hotels.
You go for the craic and the magical countryside. One member of the party called the Outer Hebrides "spiritual".
We had a good welcome and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Banknock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night and really enjoyed it! We had a premium room which was huge and beautifully decorated . The ensuite was large with a fab slipper bath!!! The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Loved watching the ferries coming in and out! All in all a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thenewmrsyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lovely big room in an old hotel which needs a little updating. The setting is great and Barra is a beautiful place.

The staff were friendly, but lots of stairs and long corridors but no lift and no offer of help with luggage - which we'd have appreciated.

There was an unfortunately incident in the bar with a chap who had had a lot to drink and became quite unpleasant and had to be removed quite early in the evening, so sadly not the best impression of the place to take away.

Would have to think twice about going back....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDonaldsCoventry, Owner at Lochboisdale Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I do apologise about the gentleman in the bar that we had to remove but unfortuntately incidences like that are out of our control and he was removed from the premises anyway. Yes we are a little tired, but we are trying to care of that little by little. It's better to have a little tired hotel that is open rather than a plush hotel that is closed due to cash flow. We always ask if you need any help with luggage and I'm suprised that you weren't maybe you should have mentioned it and we would have been happy to ablige. Also, we are not in Barra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was probably one of the most expensive we stayed in during our trip to the Hebrides but it was value for money. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Our room was very spacious and well decorated and we had a fantastic view over the loch. It was the perfect location for the ferry. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
724 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Lochboisdale Hotel is very typical of the Scottish country hotel genre in that it is functional and comfortable without being particularly well-appointed or flash. This is due to the fact that such individual hotels don't have the capital or the steady business of the large, city chains so cannot compete re decor, amenities etc. So when people complain of such hotels being "tired" or "dated" etc I often wonder if they would actually like all hotels to look like Premier Inn clones - surely not!

Our room at the Lochboisdale Hotel was clean, comfortable and spacious, with lovely views out over the loch. The bar was very pleasant with a good mix of locals and tourists, and the food on offer is varied and very good.

Breakfast was taken in an impressive dining room that is smartly furnished in a bright, modern style with a plethora of large windows that afford excellent views of the loch and the harbour, and certainly as we ate our very good "full Scottish" breakfast watching the Cal Mac ferry sail serenely up the loch I couldn't think of many better ways to start the day.

To summarise: the Lochboisdale Hotel is convenient for the ferry; is set on a lovely position overlooking the loch; is comfortable and clean; has friendly and efficient staff and serves good food and drink at reasonable prices.
And it is not advertised by Lenny Henry - what more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDonaldsCoventry, Owner at Lochboisdale Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it is very kind of you to say those things. It's a refreshing change to see a review from someone that actually understands the plight of small hotel owners that do not have great conglomerates behind them. What we get out of the hotel is put straight back into it. The staff are more like family and we try our hardest to make everyone happy but we're under no illusion that that is always the case. We never set out to be a flashy hotel with all mod-cons, we want to stay personal, small and comfortable. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good hotel right next to the ferry terminal so no back breaking trek with luggage or hassle of getting a taxi or bus to your hotel. Stayed in two different rooms both rooms really well set up and lots of room. Meals where very good breakfast choice everything from kippers to cereal, main meals excellent with very freindly staff and the a public bar right next door. Ideal place to stay if you want a base to explore south uist

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank page1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not stayed at the hotel, just eating

Clean pleasant bar area serving a good selection of bar meals, reasonable prices with nice selection of drinks.
Ate twice in the week, no complaints, efficient staff, we would return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fongetbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochboisdale
3.9 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Highland Hotel
West Highland Hotel
#1 of 3 in Mallaig
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochboisdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochboisdale Hotel

Address: Lochboisdale HS8 5TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lochboisdale
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lochboisdale Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing