We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lochboisdale Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochboisdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochboisdale Hotel
Lochboisdale HS8 5TH , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lochboisdale
Sevenoaks
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel needs upgrading and the food could probably do with a makeover. However, you do not go to the Outer Hebrides for haute cuisine and boutique hotels.
You go for the craic and the magical countryside. One member of the party called the Outer Hebrides "spiritual".
We had a good welcome and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    12
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
51
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banknock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night and really enjoyed it! We had a premium room which was huge and beautifully decorated . The ensuite was large with a fab slipper bath!!! The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Loved watching the ferries coming in and out! All in all a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lovely big room in an old hotel which needs a little updating. The setting is great and Barra is a beautiful place.

The staff were friendly, but lots of stairs and long corridors but no lift and no offer of help with luggage - which we'd have appreciated.

There was an unfortunately incident in the bar with a chap who had had a lot to drink and became quite unpleasant and had to be removed quite early in the evening, so sadly not the best impression of the place to take away.

Would have to think twice about going back....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDonaldsCoventry, Owner at Lochboisdale Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I do apologise about the gentleman in the bar that we had to remove but unfortuntately incidences like that are out of our control and he was removed from the premises anyway. Yes we are a little tired, but we are trying to care of that little by little. It's better to have a little tired hotel that is open rather than a plush hotel that is closed due to cash flow. We always ask if you need any help with luggage and I'm suprised that you weren't maybe you should have mentioned it and we would have been happy to ablige. Also, we are not in Barra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was probably one of the most expensive we stayed in during our trip to the Hebrides but it was value for money. The staff were friendly and the food was excellent. Our room was very spacious and well decorated and we had a fantastic view over the loch. It was the perfect location for the ferry. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Lochboisdale Hotel is very typical of the Scottish country hotel genre in that it is functional and comfortable without being particularly well-appointed or flash. This is due to the fact that such individual hotels don't have the capital or the steady business of the large, city chains so cannot compete re decor, amenities etc. So when people complain of such hotels being "tired" or "dated" etc I often wonder if they would actually like all hotels to look like Premier Inn clones - surely not!

Our room at the Lochboisdale Hotel was clean, comfortable and spacious, with lovely views out over the loch. The bar was very pleasant with a good mix of locals and tourists, and the food on offer is varied and very good.

Breakfast was taken in an impressive dining room that is smartly furnished in a bright, modern style with a plethora of large windows that afford excellent views of the loch and the harbour, and certainly as we ate our very good "full Scottish" breakfast watching the Cal Mac ferry sail serenely up the loch I couldn't think of many better ways to start the day.

To summarise: the Lochboisdale Hotel is convenient for the ferry; is set on a lovely position overlooking the loch; is comfortable and clean; has friendly and efficient staff and serves good food and drink at reasonable prices.
And it is not advertised by Lenny Henry - what more could you ask?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacDonaldsCoventry, Owner at Lochboisdale Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it is very kind of you to say those things. It's a refreshing change to see a review from someone that actually understands the plight of small hotel owners that do not have great conglomerates behind them. What we get out of the hotel is put straight back into it. The staff are more like family and we try our hardest to make everyone happy but we're under no illusion that that is always the case. We never set out to be a flashy hotel with all mod-cons, we want to stay personal, small and comfortable. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good hotel right next to the ferry terminal so no back breaking trek with luggage or hassle of getting a taxi or bus to your hotel. Stayed in two different rooms both rooms really well set up and lots of room. Meals where very good breakfast choice everything from kippers to cereal, main meals excellent with very freindly staff and the a public bar right next door. Ideal place to stay if you want a base to explore south uist

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Not stayed at the hotel, just eating

Clean pleasant bar area serving a good selection of bar meals, reasonable prices with nice selection of drinks.
Ate twice in the week, no complaints, efficient staff, we would return

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lochboisdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochboisdale Hotel

Address: Lochboisdale HS8 5TH , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Lochboisdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Lochboisdale
Also Known As:
Lochboisdale Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochboisdale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lochboisdale Hotel to your Saves list