We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A loveley setting for our 4 night break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bethesda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club
Save
You added Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club to your Saves list
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club | Gwynedd, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 3LQ, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A loveley setting for our 4 night break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife, myself and 17 week old daughter stayed here for 4 nights in October for a short break away.

We stayed in lodge 26 and found the site no problem from the A55 and received a warm welcome from the lady at reception. The lodge itself lookd very nice however it could certainly have done with a more thorough cleaning than it currently receieves. There were a lot of cobwebs around the place. The 2 bedrooms were adequate for our requirements however the master bedroom smelled of stale cigarette smoke which was very offputting at the start but after leaving the window open for 2 days the smell seemed to go, either that or our noses just got used to it!

I wasn't too impressed with having to make up your own beds with linen still in a plastic bag straight from the laundrette but accepted that as we didnt exactly pay a fortune for our stay. Only 1 toilet roll supplied lasted the first night until we could go to the local shop the next day to buy some and a tea towel as these are not supplied either (no towels are supplied in fact). A bonus for us which we didnt realise was that there is a washing machine in the kitchen area which proved very handy having a young baby with us.

We ate in the club house on two occasions and canot fault the food. It was fresh, hot and very nice indeed and fairly priced. It was very quiet when we were in but it was the end of October and we went in earlier due to having a baby with us.

All in all a nice few days away and I would recommend Ogwen Bank to others but take note of the above, takke your own toilet roll and towels and be prepared to make your own beds when you arrive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are now looking into providing the service of making up the beds for customers on their arrival.
We have spoken to staff regarding the issues of cleanliness in the lodges. I am sorry but towels and tea towels are not provided this is stated in the brochure. we look forward to meeting you all again, from all the staff at Ogwen Bank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
36
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Holiday blues set in today after a fantastic 6 nights away staying in Lodge No 6. The setting is ideal, a backdrop of the Snowdonia National Park a great base to discover not only snowdonia but also the North Wales Coast and Anglesey.

We rec'd a warm and professional welcome from reception and were given a map showing the site and location of our 'Home for the Week'. Number 6 is right at the end of the park with its own parking space. The lodge was modern with all mod cons including washer dryer, microwave, Gas Hob and oven also a dishwasher (with a couple of tablets thrown in).. We took washing up liquid as it is after all a self catering holiday.
3 Bedrooms kept all 6 of us comfortably. Nice veranda with views to the river.
There were 2 sets of bedsheets missing on arrival this was rectified with an apology at reception.

There is a great circular walk up through the park over the bridge down the other side of the river and back into the park over a gate.. with the family an hour stopping and looking, exploring the river and banks.

The club house is relaxing out of season, its the former hunting lodge of Lord Penrhyn and retains a great log fire, just what was needed on our first night. The food was good and cooked fresh, the kids meals went down well with the character ice creams a real hit. The menu is a little basic but reasonably priced for the quality. (recommend a jacket spud with your main,, oven cooked).

There is a games room, four pool tables and a bank of bandits, nice to unwind and relax. The evening walk back to the far end of the park was a joy.. quite well lit without street lighting.

There is a Tesco express about a mile away, great for early morning croissants and the Sitar Indian takeaway was great as a treat.. Onion Bargees to die for!!

Easy access to the A55, Bangor 15 mins by car Betws Y coed 20 mins Llandudno 40 mins

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I thought long and hard about writting this review as I actually wrote and complained, and basically got fobbed off!!
Myself and My husband stayed at the site for our honeymoon, and I regret booking it Everytime I think about it. When booking the lodge I mentioned it was for a honeymoon. Our lodge was disgusting, basically a caravan with wood cladding around the outside. It was a 1 bedroom lodge, with an bath/shower. The bedroom was tiny (yes I know there was only the two of us, but space around the bed would have been nice) the bathroom was disgusting, mould around the edge of the bath and a crack along the side. The lodge smelt damp when we arrived too. They do not provide oven gloves - as my husband found out when cooking us our first meal as a married couple, in which he then suffered many burns. I mentioned this to reception and was given a towel..... Not that handy and no apology. Since returning I wrote a letter of complaint to Hoeseasons regarding the accomodation as it is not the usual standards I have experienced with them. The response from ogwen bank was I should have spoken to reception... And spoilt my honeymoon even further with a confrontation.... I think not.
As a young couple who do not earn a lot of money this has really upset us both as it was supposed to be a nice luxury but instead it was a massive waste of our savings we shall never get back.
So if you are thinking of staying here..... Be prepared!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Manager at Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments on Ogwen Bank. We did receive the letter you sent to Hoseasons and replied accordingly.
There are a few issues that concerned me. You said that the lodge smelt damp, all the lodges have full central heating systems and radiators in each room which is left on all year round this prevents any dampness in the accommodation.
At Ogwen Bank we pride ourselves on our customer care. We have always received excellent feedback regarding our staff. We do not believe in confrontation as mistakes are made and it is our place to rectify any problems as soon as it is brought to our attention and to make sure that our customers have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My daughter and I have just returned from a fabulous 3 night holiday. We had a great time, as the location of the holiday park was great for getting out and about and exploring the surrounding areas. When booking, I was told that we would be upgraded into a better caravan as the manageress forgot to phone us back. I'm so glad we did get upgraded as I dread to think what the original caravan would have been like.

We needed to find somewhere that would except our two dogs and can understand that nobody would want to give us a really good conditioned caravan, however, the condition of the caravan that we stayed in was appalling. It was filthy dirty, I had to clean the sink before we could wash in it, it had cobwebs in every room. We were given a three bedroom caravan but supplied with only one set of bedding which were very very thin and torn, I did request more but we weren't given them, this meant that we then had to sleep together.

The gas fire didn't light and not being smokers we didn't have any matches or a lighter so had to burn paper to light the fire. I really felt that we were being punished for having dogs with us, dogs are invited into certain caravans but there isn't even any dog waste bins onsite?

All in all, our holiday was fantastic because we made it so good ourselves, but as for this caravan park I really don't think it's worth a visit apart from the location as it's on a pretty river within woodland area. We paid £270 for a three night stay, we could have found somewhere much nicer than this, I was so disappointed.

As for Bethesda itself, there is not a lot there but it's good for a base to travel from. You do have a few takeaways there and a Tesco Express which is really handy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We've just left Ogwen Bank today and the kids spent a good half an hour crying on our way back along the A5!

We really enjoyed our stay. The cabin was really good and the site was basic but good. The staff were really friendly and helpful and actually we thought the food in the club house was just as good as most pub grub. The kids loved the playground, games room and watching the river and wildlife just outside the cabin door.

We had a flat screen tv in cabin 16 and access to most channels so the kids were happy when not charging about annoying the squirrels or Tree Tree (as the kids have named him, that is the wooden totem pole type carved thing in the middle of the park).

We also did have a fully operational fire alarm complete with carbon monoxide alarm which would wake the dead (or husband) as I found out whilst making breakfast the other morning and forgetting to put on the extractor fan... The boiler does go out a lot, but is really easy to re-set (apparently due to pressure according to other posts) but this was a minor inconvenience. The roads and river Ogwen are, well roads and a river, but the traffic is light and the noise in my view was more than made up for by the sight of herons and squirrels and ducks 20ft from my breakfast table.

Bethesda is a bit grim, but to be honest, you don't need to stop there are there are plenty of other locations to do the shopping at.

All in all, this was a brilliant, well priced, great location. We had a fab time, despite the weather which has been a bit grim the last couple of days and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our family of 5 have just stayed in lodge No.12 and we have had a brilliant week away! Our accommodation was a beautiful 3 bedroom wood built lodge, it even came with it's own sauna and whirlpool spa-bath! It is situated on the bank a small river surrounded by huge trees, it is very peaceful when sat on the decking. Nice kitchen, good sized bathroom and comfy living space.
The clubhouse was great for the kids and adults with arcade games and 4 pool tables also a separate bar for drinks. Restaurant served very nice food and is definitely recommended.

We were very happy and will definitely be returning soon, it's a great 'base' for things to do in the N.Wales area.

Thanks, from Mike, Emma & family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just come back from a great long weekend staying at Ogwen Bank. Really enjoyed it! We were a group of adults and teenagers and we all had a great time. We stayed in the wooden cabins which were much better than expected - clean, spacious, all mod cons, everything you could want. The setting is superb - cabins and caravans set in woodland with a gurgling, singing river providing constant company. The bar/restaurant and games room were welcoming and relaxing. Well made, home-cooked simple food, large portions - no complaints. Ogwen Bank is a great location for exploring Snowdonia - lots of hiking, mountain climbing and outdoor stuff. Also Bangor and coastal towns not far away. Yes, it rained a bit (!) but we didn't really notice and it certainly didn't dampen our enjoyment! Would definitely go again :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club

Address: Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club | Gwynedd, Bethesda, Bangor LL57 3LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Bangor > Bethesda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bethesda
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by the beautiful river of the same name, Ogwen Bank Caravan Park is a family-operated business which has been providing excellent specialty lodging for many years. Live entertainment, fishing and fun-filled activity days out are a few of the attractions when you stay at Ogwen with the Olde World Country Club in the heart of the park being the perfect retreat for guests. With lodges for sale & hire and with holiday homes to catch your attention too, be sure to contact us for your perfect break in Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club Hotel Bethesda
Ogwen Bank Caravan Park And Country Club Bethesda, Wales, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogwen Bank Caravan Park and Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.