We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb and Friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caloraidh

Caloraidh
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Uist
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caloraidh
Save
You added Caloraidh to your Saves list
Milton, HS8 5RY , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 South Uist B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb and Friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, and Robert and Mary are lovel folk to stay with. Lovely en suite bedroom, lovely peat fired lounge and a lovely breakfast room with a lovely breakfast! What more is there to say. Except to say that flower Mary kindly dug up for Vicki is an, Aconitum "Bressingham Spires" its planted and doing well after its long journey back to Oxfordshire.
Bob and Vicki A.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Holland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Actually we had booked next door, but because of unforseen circumstances we couldn't stay there and we were booked in Caloraidh. What a pleasant surprise! Mary is a wonderful host, a very friendly and warm personality. Nothing is too much for her. And it's detail that makes the difference: the way in which the wonderful room is decorated, the tasteful way the table is laid for breakfast and of course the delicious breakfast itself: For Mary being a host is not just a job, but something that is in her heart. We have travelled on the Western Isles for four weeks and stayed in numerous B&B's. None of them were bad, but this one (together with Seal View, Ardnastruban House and Carminish House) is outstanding. Caloraidh definitely should have a website!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What an amazing place to stay. Mary and Robert are the most welcoming couple. From the moment I stepped into Caloraidh I felt at home. The peat fire was glowing and the cup of tea most welcome after a long day.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and all of them have Sky freesat which was much better than the poor reception at the local hotel. The room had an en suite, tea and coffee facilities and even a fridge with cold milk. The bed was very comfortable with extra pillows on offer if required.
Breakfast was amazing with a superb selection on offer including free range eggs laid that morning and Mary's homemade pancakes, some of which I managed to smuggle away for later :0)
The Bed and Breakfast is situated about half a mile from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island and there is a road and track that provides great access.
I would highly recommend staying at Caloraidh. It is a great advertisement for the Outer Hebrides.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We arrived at Mary's bed and breakfast late in the evening after a long and delayed ferry crossing from Oban. Mary could not have been more welcoming. Our room was small but very cosy and had all of the facilities you would expect from a first class establishment. The rooms are en-suite which was not apparent when we booked and the price was reasonable.

Mary went out of our way to organise food and taxi to the local hotel at such a late hour which was most welcome.

Breakfast was lovely too and all in all I would be very happy to highly recommend Caloraidh. We only stayed for one night but this will be our first port of call when we visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caloraidh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caloraidh

Address: Milton, HS8 5RY , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in South Uist
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Caloraidh South Uist, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caloraidh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.