We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel in the hills of Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais San Pietro in Polvano

Save Saved
You added Relais San Pietro in Polvano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Polvano, 3, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel in the hills of Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

On top of a hill overlooking the valley where you see on the end Castiglion Fiorentino is a fantastic rebuild farm house with seral buildings, also beautifull restored.
The rooms are spotless and big, but no Tv which you dont need in a spot like this.

There is a wonderfull swimming pool with a lot shairs nicely put on several levels.

Breakfast is very good and both dinner and breakfast are served outside, when the weather allows it.
Cooking is welldone and it is clear that everybody is trying to do it's best.
Internet is free ( wifi )

It is a pity that
you have to carry your own suitcase, there is no trolley.
Maybe in the future the son might give a hand.
Mr Protti Sr. is a fantastic host, he speaks fine French and English, he is a real professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We initially picked this place as a convenient 2 night stop over on our return journey from Puglia.
But it is so brilliant that we intend to stay longer next year. The location is spectacular with fantastic views for miles, the beautifully maintained buildings and grounds are a delight. Our room was more like a suite with stylish decoration and fittings with a large 'every conceivable convenience' bathroom.
But the real joy was the incredible service and meals. The breakfast was the best we have enjoyed anywhere, and the evening meals were stupendous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful hotel last June to celebrate our anniversary. It was perfect for us. The gardens are fragrant with rosemary and honeysuckle bushes and colourful flowers, the room was spotless and the hotel has been carefully renovated to retain a Tuscan farmhouse feel.The views across the valley from the gardens are spectacular. I would say that you need a car to get around - there was another couple there without one and they managed to visit some places using taxis and trains etc. but they said they'd hire a car the next time. We rented a car and easily explored Sienna Arezzo Florence ( which we went to by train) and many other attractive towns. The Tuscan countryside was beautiful. The breakfasts were superb and sustained us all day. We dined at the restaurant and the food was very good. It was quite expensive but there were other cheaper places to eat in neighbouring towns. Luigi was the perfect host appearing at first quite formal but with a twinkle in his eye and an excellent sense of humour. He provided us with lots of information for wherever we wanted to go and advised us of the best way to get there. The pool was small but pleasant to swim in and nice to relax beside. I'd go back again in an instant!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 days touring the Tuscan and Umbrian countryside and this hotel was the highlight of the trip. Located a little off the beaten path, the hilltop setting offered amazing views and a serene setting. The rooms were state of the art and we had some wonderful typical Tuscan meals. But the real treat was the proprieter, the wonderful Mr. Protti. He offered the kind of old school warmth and grace you do not find very often, including excellent advice on everything from the wine list at dinner to excursions nearby. If I could rate the service higher than five I would.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed at Relais San Pietro last summer with our two younger children ages 17 and 21. We were all delighted and charmed by the beauty of the location and the quality of the food and service. Signor Protti is a charming and gracious host. The views are spectacular and the setting is so welcoming and relaxing. The air conditioning in the rooms was more than adequate despite some 40 degree days, far more so than in a 5-star hotel in Rome we stayed in at the end of our trip. The rooms also offer free Wi-Fi. Every day we had fresh fruit in our rooms and we've never had nectarines as good as the ones in our room. We were all reluctant to leave, even the kids, and we plan on returning. Our oldest daughter, who couldn't make this trip, insists on going because of all the wonderful things she's heard us say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Beautiful, elegant quality in a Stunning, peaceful location high in the hills. Fabulous, simple food and room with fantastic view. First swim of the year much welcome after a long hot day. All beautifully laid on with no fuss. A true gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

On our journey out to Italy I was suddenly struck by the thought that I might have been making a terrible mistake. I had booked a whole fortnight in a tiny hotel that I knew nothing about other than what I had seen on the hotel's web site and on Trip Advisor. I need not have worried. This beautiful little hotel, high up in the Tuscan hills is excellent. The staff, led by the supremely efficient Signor Protti could not have been more friendly or more helpful. Signor Protti helped us plan our visits to all the Tuscan towns and cities that we wished to see and the charming Jalilla (who ran the restaurant) was a mine of information about shopping. The standard of service in this beautifully renovated 17th century hotel is of the highest; the rooms, though rustic in decor, are immaculate. The grounds are beautiful with terraces overlooking spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside. The food, served either in the pretty dining room or outside on the terrace, is excellent (the huge choice at breakfast being particularly memorable). We had planned to eat out from time to time but two forays into other restaurants in the area convinced us that it wasn't worth the effort - the food on offer at Relais San Pietro, although limited in terms of choice (particularly if you are staying for any length of time) was so perfectly cooked and presented that we ate in the hotel restaurant most evenings. All of this, together with the utter tranquility of the location, made it a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais San Pietro in Polvano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Pietro in Polvano

Address: Localita Polvano, 3, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Pietro in Polvano 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Pietro in Polvano, a family-run establishment set in an eighteenth-century converted hamlet in the Tuscan hills, is pure paradise for those seeking a quiet retreat. The panoramic pool is located on one of the terraces overlooking the olive groves and valley and is the perfect spot for relaxing or sipping a drink whilst enjoying the spectacular sunsets. An evening turn-down service adds to the luxurious atmosphere and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Hotels.com so you can book your Relais San Pietro in Polvano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Pietro In Polvano Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Relais San Pietro In Polvano Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais San Pietro in Polvano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.