We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais San Pietro in Polvano

Save Saved
You added Relais San Pietro in Polvano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Polvano, 3, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

A truly out of this world place to stay between Tuscany and Umbria. High on a hilltop overlooking views that are breathtaking, a romantically restored old stone building that oozes beauty, classic style, modern conveniences and attention to every detail. Service is perfect, breakfast is a delicious large buffet with cheeses, fruit, yogourt, pastries, eggs, fresh orange juice. Beautiful pool on the hill top just below a stone deck overlooking fantastic views, everything immaculately kept up. You don't find places like this any more, nor hosts like Signor Protti who brings a certain charm and style to his carefully tended hotel. It's a bit hard to get to without a GPS -- the web site lists the latitude/longitude which will make navigating there much easier. Great stepping stone to Cortona and Umbria.

Monica in Quebec

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The words to that song kept swirling in my head throughout our 4 night stay. (Even now, as I am remembering.) The peace, the views, the food, the room... everything exceeded every expectation we had.

That being said, here are some tips and insights:

-Rent A Car. If you can't drive manual, make sure you call ahead to let Sr. Protti know you'd like an automatic. (Or perhaps a Vespa?) The man works wonders and will find you the best options; we decided to get a car while we were there and because of the short notice it was a challenge to find one we could drive... but he did it! You could retreat from the world and take day trips in a taxi (the drivers the Prottis were using while we were there are absolutely charming) but if you'd like to leave the grounds even more than twice to explore the Tuscan countryside or get a bite to eat off-grounds, it is more economical (and freeing) if you rent a vehicle.

-In your car, listen to 102.5. Very normal people. Great music.

-Be prepared for old-world living. Guests are asked, via a rather lengthy list of regulations left in the room, to dress appropriately for dinner (I think they call it casual elegant or something poetical like that), women are given menus without prices and Sr. Protti, your maitre'd, takes the order from the men. You are "invited" to the dining area after being given a glass of Prosecco (I assume) to enjoy, and the service itself is formal.

-Order the sweet and sour vegetables. Trust me.

-Bring a book, or peruse the bookshelves they have and borrow something left by a previous traveler (or finish your book and leave it for future guests). Simply looking through the titles and inscriptions in all different languages is enchanting... unless you are like my husband, and must have some sort of electronic stimulation. In that case...

-Use your iPad, iTouch, whatever. One night we rented a movie from iTunes and snuggled close to watch it. Because the room's wifi was spotty, we asked Sr. Protti to keep it behind the desk in the main building as it downloaded, and he happily obliged. The nights can be very quiet, silence broken only by the sound of a distant Vespa or--creepily--a wild boar. Having something to do or plan is a really, really good idea.

-The dinners, while extraordinary, can get a little expensive, so take your rental and go to nearby Castiglion de Fiorentino to get some deli, pick up a bottle of wine, and picnic somewhere one night. Best roasted chicken, roasted pepper and pesto sandwich I've ever had. FYI, the Relais doesn't allow outside food in, so explore and find a spot next to a sunflower field. (A rental car is looking better and better, isn't it?)

-We stayed in mid-late July. We had booked a Junior Suite (our honeymoon, after all) but we were upgraded when we got there (woohoo!). It didn't take long to figure out why... they have, I think, about 8 rooms, but we were one of three couples staying there at the time of check-in. The second or third day it was just ourselves and one other couple.

-The breakfast spread is impressive and delicious. Best we had on our trip.

-I have to agree with a previous poster that the dinners can be so quiet they seem almost awkward, so if you are sensitive to that sort of thing, be aware. For us, the elegant dining experience that can't be found anywhere else, coupled with the amazing food, made up for any awkwardness. Also, wine helps.

Truly, Relais San Pietro in Polvano is a gem. We will be back one day. I can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We wanted somewhere quiet with good food and views, this place has it all, along with the service provided by Luigi Protti and his family we had a fantastically relaxing 12 nights and will re-visit when travelling to Tuscany

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hod Hasharon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The place isn't easy to find, particularly if you're using a map, but it is perfect. (Try to arrive before nightfall.) Our room was clean and beautifully laid out with its rustic furniture and wooden beamed ceiling. The bathroom (just a shower) was clean and modern and well-stocked with towels, shampoos, etc..

Breakfast was a delight with its local cheeses and squeezed orange juice(for which no extra charge is made unlike at some other places at which we had stayed)

The owners, Luigi (he speaks good English) and his wife, are clearly eager to maintain high standards and to keep their place looking good. (Instructions include not to move furniture in the bedrooms and not to walk around barefooted except by the pool!) There is free access to the internet.

The staff were very kind and helpful and the view from this location is absolutely splendid.

There is no lift and Luigi wanted to carry our suitcases up two flights of stairs to the bedroom, but I wasn't prepared to let this charming Italian (no youngster) do so.

My only regret was that this was our last night in Italy. We could have stayed there much longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Relais San Pietro is a delightful, relaxing and very comfortable hotel. Situated in the hills of Polvano it has a beautiful location with wonderful views. An ideal base to explore Tuscany and Umbria or just to relax by the pool. The service, food and accomdation are highest quality. The host Signor Protti is charming and all the family are very friendly and helpful. We rate this as one of the best places to stay in Italy and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The setting is very nice and the views are indeed excellent. Signor Protti is very pleasant and his old style approach to service is nice. There is a lot to do in the area. The typical clientele seemed like couples in their 50/60s from GB/USA/Canada. The breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable.

This dinner is fine but nothing extraordinary. There aren’t too many dining alternatives in close proximity so it’s a good thing that there is a big menu. One can have a meal at Castello Banfi - which tastes unequivocally better by an order of magnitude - at around the same price point. The dinner setting is awkward owing to a small dining room and lack of background noise so you can hear whispers across the room.

It was noisy in the morning with people coming and going and the ceilings / walls are thin so you also hear noises inside (like rolling suitcases overhead). That sort of thing is commensurate with a place that is charging at least EUR100 less than what we paid. For background, when traveling in continental Europe or in the Caribbean, we typically stay in small boutique hotels or B&B in a range of EUR 200-300 (equiv.) per night including breakfast for two people.

I felt compelled to write this review because we were partly influenced from all of these other (30+) 5-star reviews - and wanted to provide some balance for prospective visitors. Overall the value doesn’t stack up.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

What a wonderful place, set on a ridge overlooking the Tuscan forest and valleys close to the Umbrian border.
Not really a hotel; more the privilege of staying in Luigi Protti's family home; old fashioned courtesy, rather than the new fashioned science of 'customer care'.
If peace, silence and the smell of pine and olive groves is heaven; then it is here at the Relais San Pietro in Polvano.
God bless you Luigi; we shall be back!
Chris & Jenny Keeble.
Oxford, United Kingdom

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais San Pietro in Polvano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Pietro in Polvano

Address: Localita Polvano, 3, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Pietro in Polvano 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais San Pietro in Polvano, a family-run establishment set in an eighteenth-century converted hamlet in the Tuscan hills, is pure paradise for those seeking a quiet retreat. The panoramic pool is located on one of the terraces overlooking the olive groves and valley and is the perfect spot for relaxing or sipping a drink whilst enjoying the spectacular sunsets. An evening turn-down service adds to the luxurious atmosphere and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Relais San Pietro in Polvano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Pietro In Polvano Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Relais San Pietro In Polvano Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais San Pietro in Polvano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.