We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Portagioia to your Saves list
Casa Portagioia
Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best accomodation !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Congratulations for Terry and Marcello!!! they make the most beautiful accomodation that I've ever seen. Casa Portagioia it is situated in an idilic small valey and everything is so quiet that you can listen the birds (by the way the birds are singing also in the night- first thought in the first night was that they recorded some birds and now they put the disk...of course it wasn't so!).
The owners - Terry and Marcello are the best host: they do make some good reservations to a very good restaurant, they explain how to arrive to different region nearby, what to see in this cities, everything.
We stay just 3 nights (a very short period) but we'll coming back for sure. We had an apartment (Andreocci- Terry I hope I write correctly?!) which have a view on the both side of the area : to the valey and to the hill. We have everything in the apartment (cooking machine, refrigerator, washing machine- everything), and the lunch/dinner table from the apartament is situated in front of the window, so when you eat, you can have a very nice view over the area.
The breakfast area of Casa Portagioia is very beautiful, on the side of the house, near the small forest, and also with a great view on the other side.
In the same period we meet there other guests (there were 4 couples and 2 nice ladies from USA), and we had a great time with this guest- they were great, and also Terry and Marcello do like a fusion between all the guest (I must mention that the other guests, although were from USA, they weren't toghether like a group)
Sunday, Terry and Marcello do serve us the dinner, and it was like a small party we laugh, we said some good jokes (Chuck knows better), we drink some good wine and eat a good dinner prepared by Marcello (Terry I'm sorry, but Marcello really serve us a good meal :); On the other hand, Terry was in charge with the good mood and he succeded...I love his english jokes and remarks!
Not in the last, the breakfast- a healty one: fruits, a lot of cereals, a good expresso, fresh juice, and a good omelette...

Everything I wrote was real (I forgot to write you about the bed in the room- very good one, the bathroom- very spacious), and indeed they do deserve the title offer by TripAdvisor (by the way, we choose Casa Portagioia because of Trip Advisor).

So everything was great! Terry, Marcello in July is my birthday, so you should do somehow to find us a room for another 3-4 days...!!!

all the best razvan &anca

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
581
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

The location is the best of beautiful, bucolic Tuscany, and owners Terry and Marcello have made the most of it with a huge pool and gorgeous flowers everywhere. The buildings, which the owners (and Marcello's extended family) restored from a ruin several years ago, are a wonderful combination of the old and the new. The buildings have the original Tuscan "flavor" and look while lacking nothing in the way of creature comforts. The rooms are spacious, extremely well equipped, immaculately clean and charmingly decorated. The baths are modern and convenient. Slippers and plush robes are furnished. Breakfast every morning was excellent, and featured wonderful fruits and breads along with cereals and yogurts, followed by cooked-to-order eggs and ham. Don't pass up dinner when it is offered. We were already spoiled to the excellent foods of Italy, but the two dinners we had were outstanding. Terry and Marcello were gracious and friendly, and shared a wealth of information on places to see and things to do.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle&München
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Yes, all of the glowing reviews are true. I have never been bothered to write a review before, but this stay was so great that I felt compelled. It is astonishing to me that when people ask us about our trip, we spend most of the time describing our experience at Casa Portagioia. Maybe it's because we've been to Italy several times, so the basic experience isn't "new". Maybe it's because we live part of the year in a European country not known for customer service, so it's quite a surprise to be treated so well. But I suspect it is really 100% because Terry and Marcello have created the perfect environment: inviting, relaxing, warm, and welcoming.

The location is stunning with the cypress-lined approach, vistas of olive groves and vineyards, and buildings just as you imagined they "should" be. We very much appreciated their sense of humor, and the amount of unhurried time they spent just chatting with us. We also loved sitting in the sun at the table and chairs just outside the door to our room, taking in the views, smelling the lavender and rosemary scented air, and enjoying a bottle of local wine. And, the pillow spray is lovely.

Yes, you must have the eggs and ham when offered at breakfast. Delicious. Yes, you must partake in the dinner. We were lucky enough to be there for two. Homemade fig jam from their trees. Olive oil from their groves. An excellent (and very reasonable) cellar.

Only when something is a true labor of love can the result be so wonderful. These two obviously love what they do, and are fantastic at it. We absolutely cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pomona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

This was our first ever trip out of the US. It was also our first stay in any bed and breakfast, we are ruined forever! Unless of course we return. A team of experts working around the clock could not do what these two do. The location was in a little valley north of the Castelion Fiorontine, simply breathtaking. The room and grounds were amazing, as was the breakfast spread both mornings. The dinner which was prepared and served by Terry and Marcello was wonderful, they also payed specific attention to a dietary restriction I have. Terry's sense of humor and Marcello's cooking finess were awe-inspiring. They also had great advice on where to go and what to see, directing us to the Basillica of S. Maria de Los Angelos near Assisi including specific instructions regarding the route to take. I'm not sure what else to write herre except that if you visit Tuscany and don't stay here then you're missing out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I havent much to add to all the reviews already posted about Casa Portagioia- we had a fantastic stay, which we agree, wasn't long enough! We stayed for two nights and were extremely impressed by the level of service we received from Terry and Marcello, as well as the beautiful rooms and surroundings. We hired a car and found the instructions really helpful on the website, and luckily didnt get lost. However, Terry lent us his GPS the next day which proved extremely useful. The restaurant and vinyard recommendations were superb, and the chats over breakfast very enjoyable. I really hope we can visit again when the weather is warmer, and we can use the lovely pool!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is just another review to add to the already stellar collection of writeups which Terry & Marcello have garnered for their little B&B. My husband and I spent about two and a half weeks travelling through Italy during our honeymoon. We stayed at quite a few nice places - all booked based on tripadvisor recommendations - Casa Portagioia was the most highly rated of the B&Bs we booked, and it did not disappoint.
We stayed at Casa Portagioia 5 nights. We did have some difficulty finding the place even with our GPS, and I would agree with the previous reviewer who suggested that you bring some written directions with you. After we located it the first time and saved the location into our GPS, we had no difficulties returning to it each day.
Enough has been said by other reviewers about the sterling qualities of this B&B - the clean and comfortable rooms; lavish breakfasts and dinners whipped up by Marcello; the witticisms of Terry; the general beauty of the surroundings. We agree fully with all of them.
A couple of incidents in particular made this B&B stand out for us -
We were silly enough to leave a piece of luggage behind when we checked out of Casa Portagioia - Terry tried calling and emailing us, and when he couldn't reached us, drove out in his car to try to track us down at a petrol station he had recommended when we had asked that morning where we could get our car washed.
Spring came late to Tuscany this year, and I had repeatedly expressed my regret that we were missing the masses of flowers that Tuscany is known for in spring and summer. Terry, of course (aided ably by Marcello!) had to rub this in each day by telling me how Absolutely Beautiful the place would be "in a few weeks time" when all the flowers would be in full bloom; how they would bring in pots and pots of flowers to place all over the property; how the lavender bushes would be covered in lavender and the elegant cypress driveway lined with wildflowers, and how we would just have to come back - perhaps next year! - to see Casa Portagioia in its full beauty. Having said this, several weeks after we had left the place and were back home, they actually took the trouble to send us an email attaching not just one, but many, photos of the first pots of flowers which they were planting on the property.
That they would take the trouble to drive out to find us and return us our luggage, and bother to email us pictures several weeks after we had left, is very telling of the ethos of the two people who have made Casa Portagioia what it is today.
Terry & Marcello - thank you for a lovely stay. You have built up a beautiful place and we hope that you continue to be a house of joy to the many who pass through your portals.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We stayed in 5 different hotels during our visit to Italy and this was BY FAR the most inviting, comfortable, clean, and helpful.
I'm not sure what was more impressive... the beauty of the place or the helpfulness of the hosts. Terry helped us plan each day and went above and beyond for us...really. If you want a place in Italy where you'll feel like you're staying with friends and have a comforting oasis of engish speaking in the evening, this is the place. I want to go back just to stay at casa portagoia! 100% recomended!
oh, one tip- be sure to bring directions with you... not just a GPS. the driveway is very long and GPS doesnt always recognize...makes for a rough entry. worth it once you arrive. i promise.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' For the best options and prices, visit our website or send us an email for a quick response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portagioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.