We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The best place on earth"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portagioia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castiglion Fiorentino
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Portagioia
Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"The best place on earth"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are now into double figures for our visits to Casa P and it never fails to please. As soon as we step out of the car we relax and enjoy the accommodation, scenery and the wit and charm of the attentive hosts Terry and Marcello. Breakfast goes on for ever and the weekly dinner cooked by Marcello is always a wonderful event and a good time to get to know the other guests. The setting of Casa P is idyllic and you can really unwind and totally relax knowing that all your needs are catered for. Nothing is too much trouble for them and we are already planning our next trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of an equal high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    741
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
549
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horten, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Casa Portagioia is the essence of Tuscany, with all its beauty, charm, atmosphere, rustic elegance, old brick houses, lavender, roses, beautiful surroundings, happiness and tranquility. Just heaven on earth.

To be greeted every morning by an abundant breakfast table in a rose-filled garden in a beautiful sunny Tuscany valley, with fresh fruits and pastries, freshly made orange juice, individually made eggs and ham to your liking, and coffee, just makes a wonderful start on any day. It is perfect. There is not one thing I would change.

The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished each of them, combining traditional Tuscan style with all modern convenience. We have seen all of them and stayed in more than half of them (been there four times). They are spotlessly clean, and I mean spotless.

The owners, Terry and Marcello, just keep on delivering, and give me and my husband the best vacation possible. They attend for all your needs, either if it comes to making reservations for dining out in the evening, or for planning your trip around Tuscany. They are always friendly and at your service, and they deliver far more than a regular b&b. You´d be hard-pressed to find better value for money anywhere.

The pool area is beautiful, clean of course, nice sunbeds, nice temperature in the water, and very moderately chlorined.

Terry and Marcello´s b&b are registered as agriturismo, and have their own olive groves and wine. The olive oil is great, quite possible the best in Tuscany!

It is the perfect place for every trip around Tuscany, if you would like to go to Florence, Siena, Arezzo, Cortona, Montepulciano and so on, or just want to visit wineries. But the place and the atmosphere in itself is why we keep coming back every year. It is just the best place to be, to really relax, and become yourself again after work and stressful life back home.

If you are unsure if this is the place to try out in Tuscany, don´t be! You just have to experience it. It is one of those things that words cannot fully convey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friends recommended the Casa Portagioia to us as the perfect place to be based to enjoy the sights of Tuscany. We can now wholeheartedly agree with them. Terry & Marcello have created a blend of hospitality that is hard to beat. Nothing is too much to ask and every detail is covered.
The setting is idyllic, well off the main road among olive trees, sunflowers and vines. The gardens are superb - colourful and fragrant. If you take a small fork and secateurs Terry will welcome you with open arms and set you to work in the sun! Our room was excellent as were the breakfasts - the most wonderful selection of fresh fruit you will ever find. Unfortunately we only had one evening meal during the week we were staying - it was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. If you want to add that extra something to a stay in Tuscany this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to be off the beaten path, and wants a non touristy taste of Italy. The accommodations were very nice, and the roof top breakfast is something me and my wife will never forget. We'll be back on your next trip to Italy for sure. The hosts were very gracious and accommodating. Love it, Love it, Love it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Some friends recommended us to this beautiful spot in Tuscany.Having missed out last year in September as all the rooms were fully booked we picked a week in June. On our arrival the weather turned from a rainy period to some lovely sunny days and we were able to enjoy the peace and tranquility of the beautiful surroundings. The wild life and bird chorus is something not to be missed! The martins were in their abundance and circled the pool with a quick dart for a drink here and there! Butterflies of every colour were to be seen and as we left some bee hives were to be installed! Not only can you now purchase local olive oil but hopefully honey too. There is so much to offer here on your stay in casa portagiogia and everything other people have written is positively true.People just keep returning and that speaks for itself in my opinion.We would love to go back again as there is always something to discover in this little gem in the heart of Tuscany

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'll return to this page with more details once I recover from jet lag; but I don't want to waste another minute before recording how wonderful a week my partner and I spent at Casa Portagioia. As others have said, this is an incredibly beautiful and well maintained property in the heart of Tuscany. But what makes this property entirely unique is the experience of being welcomed by the two most charming, engaging and welcoming hosts I've ever met. Terry and Marcello do everything imaginable to see to it that their guests have a vacation that lives up to their dreams and expectations. Breakfast hosted by the two of them is such an incredibly enjoyable experience (and the food is wonderful, too) that, as another reviewer said, the only problem is that you don't want to leave. And there's so much else to see and enjoy in Tuscany.
My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. And when I get over this darn jet lag, I'll start planning my next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I stayed at Casa Portagioia last spring during my first trip to Italy and had a wonderful experience. Hosts Terry and Marcello were incredibly welcoming and went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. The grounds and the property are exquisite and the rooms are perfectly designed with all of the amenities. Breakfast on the terrace every morning is heavenly, along with afternoon wine and cheese. Anything that Marcello whips up in general is to die for. If you're considering a trip to Italy, Casa Portagioia should be a must stay on your itinerary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany – somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend’s home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything ‘just so.’ ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portagioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Portagioia to your Saves list