We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Special Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Portagioia to your Saves list
Casa Portagioia
Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Conn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Italy and will always remember our very special 5 days at Casa Portagioia. Terry and Marcello were wonderful hosts very attentive to our needs and providing such an enjoyable experience. Their recommendations were very helpful as we were planning our day trips to various towns. It became very obvious as we traveled to many different locations, that Casa Portagioia was perfectly located making day trips convenient and fulfilling. And what a treat when Marcello cooks, the atmosphere is elegant, the food cooked to perfection and the conversation with other guests about our daily experiences couldn't be better. The is a very special bed & breakfast for several reasons - great location, impeccably maintained, beautiful surroundings and two hosts that are passionate about making your stay the very best. I can't say enough about how hard both Terry and Marcello work at providing a world class bed & breakfast along with their commitment to every guest. We are definitely coming back and Casa Portagioia will be on the itinerary.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar - any choice will be fine. I do believe there are rooms with small kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
608
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary at Casa Portagioa this year and can't rave about it enough. Marcello and Terry were the consummate hosts, sharing the fireplace and prosecco on a chilly evening, recommending fabulous nearby restaurants, places to see and wineries to visit. The room was decorated beautifully with much attention to detail. The bed was beyond comfortable! Now that we live in Tuscany, we plan to visit much more often.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We did not know what to expect staying at a B&B in Tuscany but Casa Portagioia was really the ultimate Bed and Breakfast experience. From the moment you drove up the driveway flanked by beautiful cypress trees (truly a postcard moment) you knew you were in for a treat. Terry and Marcelo are maginificent hosts who really care about their guests. They took care of every detail. The rooms were comparable to some 5 star hotels. The decor was a perfect blend of Tuscan and today. The rooms were always meticulously maintained and spotless every day. The gorgeous setting of the bed and breakfast made it very comfortable to relax and enjoy the pool, vineyards and breathtaking gardens any time of the day. The attention to detail are superb. The breakfast each morningn was the perfect way to start your vacation day. The tables were beautifully set and lovely music was playing in the backyard. The gardens surrounding the tables were breathtaking. A fabulous buffet of goodies along with eggs made to your liking and fresh coffee, tea or cappucino. The hosts always had lovely conversation to share and always more than helpful in helping you plan your day, book you reservations and give you recommendations and tips. Twice a week they host a dinner in their lovely courtyard and it is truly wonderful. Worth indulging in. The location of the bed and breakfast is perfect. It is not far to drive to Florence, Cortona, Montepulcino or many other of the hill towns. Welcoming, comfortable, beautiful!! The perfect Tuscan getaway!! I am really looking forward to one day going back and staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful place in April of 2011, but we have just joined tripadvisor, so apologies for the late review. Casa Portagioia is a wonderful place to stay. The grounds are breathtaking, the breakfast delicious and the hosts are so helpful. The rooms are so lovely and decorated smartly, and italian style. We enjoyed a meal prepared by the hosts one of the evenings and it was great as well. The hosts (T&M) are so helpful, they helped us chose day trips each day, and we ventured out in our little Fiat 500 rental car. It was one of the most relaxing trips we have ever been on. I would definitely return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a wonderful week with Terry & Marcelo at their beautiful Casa a couple years ago and are missing this place. Their model for hospitality is one that is can't be compared to others. You can't go staying at this lovely hideaway in beautiful Tuscany!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner Clayton and I stayed here in 2006. We had been at 5 star hotels in Venice and Florence then came over so this place gets about 8 stars. Personal. Clean. Delicious food. Impeccable service. Peaceful. Beautiful. Friendly. We have tried to recreate this in other vacations in other places-- Spain, England, italy, France. Casa Portagioia is unique; irreplaceable and incomparable. You will treasure your memories forever. WE WANT TO COME BACK! Our best to Terry and Marcello who were the best and became friends. Larry and Clayton, Orlando, Florida, USA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This review is a little late since we visited the Casa in July, but I wanted to get it in since we enjoyed it so much. As all the many reviews have already said, Casa Portogioia is truly a lovely place to visit. Terry and Marcello do a fantastic job making you welcome and will do anything to make your stay the best it can be. We had one of the ground floor rooms with access to the garden, and it was really nice to sit out in front of our room with a glass of wine and the sunset after a day of touring the Tuscan countryside. The rooms are very comfortable and the morning breakfasts great. We were happy we were there on a Sat night and got to enjoy Marcello's dinner...it was great! We also met many wonderful people from all over the world which made our stay even better. It was sad to leave but we hope to return in the future. Very highly recommended

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
21.3 mi away
Palazzo Brandano
Palazzo Brandano
#1 of 1 in Petroio
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portagioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.