We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April (but we just joined tripadvisor)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Casa Portagioia to your Saves list
Casa Portagioia
Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“April (but we just joined tripadvisor)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful place in April of 2011, but we have just joined tripadvisor, so apologies for the late review. Casa Portagioia is a wonderful place to stay. The grounds are breathtaking, the breakfast delicious and the hosts are so helpful. The rooms are so lovely and decorated smartly, and italian style. We enjoyed a meal prepared by the hosts one of the evenings and it was great as well. The hosts (T&M) are so helpful, they helped us chose day trips each day, and we ventured out in our little Fiat 500 rental car. It was one of the most relaxing trips we have ever been on. I would definitely return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
567
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Englewood Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent a wonderful week with Terry & Marcelo at their beautiful Casa a couple years ago and are missing this place. Their model for hospitality is one that is can't be compared to others. You can't go staying at this lovely hideaway in beautiful Tuscany!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My partner Clayton and I stayed here in 2006. We had been at 5 star hotels in Venice and Florence then came over so this place gets about 8 stars. Personal. Clean. Delicious food. Impeccable service. Peaceful. Beautiful. Friendly. We have tried to recreate this in other vacations in other places-- Spain, England, italy, France. Casa Portagioia is unique; irreplaceable and incomparable. You will treasure your memories forever. WE WANT TO COME BACK! Our best to Terry and Marcello who were the best and became friends. Larry and Clayton, Orlando, Florida, USA

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This review is a little late since we visited the Casa in July, but I wanted to get it in since we enjoyed it so much. As all the many reviews have already said, Casa Portogioia is truly a lovely place to visit. Terry and Marcello do a fantastic job making you welcome and will do anything to make your stay the best it can be. We had one of the ground floor rooms with access to the garden, and it was really nice to sit out in front of our room with a glass of wine and the sunset after a day of touring the Tuscan countryside. The rooms are very comfortable and the morning breakfasts great. We were happy we were there on a Sat night and got to enjoy Marcello's dinner...it was great! We also met many wonderful people from all over the world which made our stay even better. It was sad to leave but we hope to return in the future. Very highly recommended

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent a week at Casa Portagioia in September and can't say enough good things about the experience. We chose it based on all the wonderful comments on TripAdvisor and it definitely lives up to its reputation! Marcello and Terry were wonderful hosts, making you feel welcome and at home without being too solicitous, as you sometimes find with owners of B & Bs. The property is a fine inn, with lovely rooms and gorgeous surroundings. The flowers and grounds are immaculately taken care of and thoughtfully laid out, offering privacy and beauty all around.

Our room was charming with arched doorways, beamed ceiling, a great bed, lots of storage in the antique armoire and dressers and a very modern bathroom. All the windows had shutters and the view beyond was as you would expect in Tuscany... beautiful hills, tall skinny trees, vineyards and clear blue sky. Each day Rosella, with her upbeat, friendly personality, would spotlessly clean our room.

The location of Casa Portagioia is excellent. It is located just a short distance from many hillside towns, but was far enough away in the countryside to make you feel away from it all, at your own personal estate as you drive up the tree-lined entrance to the gate. There are plenty of restaurants nearby which were convenient for a short ride to dinner. Anyone who stays at Casa Portagioia should take advantage of the dinners that Terry and Marcello offer twice a week. The evenings were intimate and special and the food Marcello prepared was delicious and beautifully presented. They also have a great winelist. The breakfast served each day had a great variety of fruit, yogurts, fresh baked pastries and of course, the delicious eggs Marcello would prepare to our liking.

Most importantly, we want to mention how wonderful Marcello and Terry are as hosts. They are so knowledgeable, cool and fun, sharing thoughtful ideas of things to do and making arrangements to make our stay in Tuscany seamless and special. We would leave each day for our day's adventure with a little hand-drawn map of Marcello's precise directions. When arriving at restaurants where Marcello or Terry made our reservation, we were welcomed like rock stars and given wonderful tables. We celebrated a birthday while there and Marcello arranged for a private tour of a winery outside of Montacino in the Brunello wine region. We were the only two on the tour and it made the birthday celebration in Tuscany very memorable and special.

In other words, thanks to Marcello and Terry, we had a wonderful week. We would highly recommend Casa Portagioia to anyone who wants an intimate inn with understated casual elegance, wonderful service and very fun, cool hosts. Thanks again for all you did for us, Terry and Marcello!

Room Tip: Make your reservations far in advance. All of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed with friends at Casa Portagioia in September.
Our friends Carl and Karl previously stayed there and raved about it for two years.
So we had to come we were not disappointed it was better than expected.
Terry and Marcello met us at the gate with open arms.This stay was the highlight of our holiday and we will never forget the experience.
We awoke each morning to a great view and breakfast.Ofcouse some great advise on local site seeeing from our hosts.
One night during our stay Terry and Marcello had dinner on the premises.The food was absolutely brilliant especially the lemon tart.
Luckily Terry didnt cook his signature dish Paella or as Marcello names it the Volcano.
Marcello is a great cook and Terry is a very witty host.
This combination makes for a very enjoyable stay, which just adds to this experience.
This restored villa is abosultely charming with beautiful gardens and pool.
We spent a couple of days travelling thru the Tuscan hillside to Cortona, Montipuciano and Road to Siena not to be missed.
If you are thinking of going to Tuscany dont look anywhere else book Casa Portagioia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our family stayed at Casa Portagioia this past Summer. Terry and Marcelo are wonderful hosts. When you are there, they carefully attend to your needs without being intrusive. If you want to find something (winery, restaurant, etc.) they seem to know all the hidden treasures of the Tuscan countryside as well as the best way to see the big sites and hill towns.

One way they were very helpful was with our question regarding cooking classes. They showed us the normal organized high priced classes, but also a woman down the road who hosted classes in her home (and much more reasonably priced). We went with her and had one of the most fun and fulfilling days of our trip.

With Terry's dry wit and Marcelo's warm smile, they are the perfect hosts to a peaceful Tuscan getaway.

One tip: Casa Portagioa is truly off the beaten path (a big part of its charm). Make sure you try to find it during the day. Due to some travel timing, we arrived in the middle of the night. We did so, but not without some wrong turn adventures. Once we found the Casa P, it was worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' For the best options and prices, visit our website or send us an email for a quick response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portagioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.