We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Portagioia to your Saves list
Casa Portagioia
Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Aloha, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Not much more to say that has not already been said. Have had 2 fantastic visits to Casa Portagioia. Terry and Marcelo are marvelous hosts and Pieve di Chio is a fine base location for day trips to all that Tuscany has to offer. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
608
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay, the care and attention, beautiful location, peace and food!
Only thing that could have improved things was more time and better weather! :) but the lack of tourists was a real bonus!!
If you hire a car make sure you choose an automatic, the steep rise to the towns can be quite hairy.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Casa Portagiogia on our Italy Vacation with another couple. IT IS THE BEST place you can stay, everything attantion to details, their garden and breakfast. And please do not miss their a la carte dinners. THey even lend another couple a GPS. Every morning at breakfast they help us plan our daily trips. Marcello and Terry will make your vacation memorable and without them for sure we would have miss excellent places.

Room Tip: All rooms magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Marcelo & terry are amazing hosts. Took us to their friends winery, gave perfect recommendations, breakfast was great, and grounds were immaculate. Perfect balance between relaxation, privacy, and fun. Thx for amazing time!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC - Harlem
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As a well traveled reviewer I must say that Tuscany must be one of the most beautiful places on earth. We made an excellent decision by booking at Casa Portagioia in Castiglion Fiorentino. The owner, Terry and Marcello, couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. Terry's British wit kept us laughing everyday. Marcello is warm and friendly. Both make a great pair and assisted us in confirming our stay would be the most complete ever. They both are very passionate about their B&B and it shows in everything they do. Each day at breakfast, which was lovely with fresh fruits, yogurts, cereals, fresh croissants and Marcello's world famous fluffy eggs also included fresh juice and amazing coffees; they made the point of confirming that we were set with our plans for the day. We thought that we'd made our schedule of events rather well but THANKFULLY Terry and Marcello were there with better options for visiting the local region. Vineyards, olive factory, local towns, lunches, dinners..... they are well connected in this region and even found us a driver. NOTE: GET A DRIVER THE 1ST DAY.... if you are not familiar with this area! Our driver Carmine was excellent. Casa Portagioia is simply perfection. The landscaping is very well thought out and well manicured. Fruit trees, Olive trees, grapevines, assorted flowers are just the perfect touch to this estate. The architecture is simply Tuscan-perfection. Our room was very clean, beautifully decorated in smart Tuscan style and the amenities of shower gels, fluffy towels, lilac bed spay, robes, slippers, comfortable bed and a well stocked bar were just what you would expect at a highly rated establishment. The view from our room was perfect to wake up to; a stunning sun rise over the valley was magical. Terry and Marcello welcomed us into their home and are truly perfect hosts. As you can see we are impressed with Casa Portagioia. We'll be back!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view! Don't forget your GPS if you are planning on driving yourself!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was our second visit to Casa P. and I'd looked forward to returning for three years. As reflected by the many positive reviews, the place is beautiful and incredibly clean. The grounds are impeccably manicured. Terry and Marcello are the ultimate hosts and they make everyone's comfort their personal mission. Breakfasts are awesome and the weekly dinner is not to be missed. While there, you need to try their estate bottled wine (a dry sangiovese/merlot) which rivals some of our better wines in Sonoma. They're also producing their own olive oil, which is beautiful.

I also promised to post a picture of me in the pool on October 21, 2012!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Well I guess some people will wonder why we have returned to Casa P for the past 9 years (and plan on making it 10 next year!).  Over the years we have travelled a fair bit, but now we have found the perfect place so why look any further? We have seen the subtle changes, year on year,  enhance the already beautiful surroundings as the trees, shrubs and gardens mature. Terry & Marcello  don't sit on their laurels either but constantly strive to make improvements which we appreciate, all geared to ensuring their guests have the best possible experience.  Nothing is too much trouble for these two amazing guys and we absolutely love it at Casa P. You must not miss the twice weekly evenings when Marcello will cook a delicious five course dinner, while Terry holds court front of house. It's more like a group of friends dining together than guests at a regular B&B.  Most years we catch up with guests we've met from previous visits which is really nice too.  It goes without saying that the rooms & apartments are spotless and beautifully comfortable. The pool and surrounding area amazing. This is the perfect place to stay in Tuscany!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castiglion Fiorentino
7.9 mi away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 514 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Schiatti
Villa Schiatti
#2 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
7.0 mi away
Relais La Corte dei Papi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
Relais San Pietro in Polvano
#1 of 4 in Castiglion Fiorentino
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
5.5 mi away
Villa Marsili Hotel
Villa Marsili Hotel
#1 of 22 in Cortona
5.0 of 5 stars 524 reviews
21.3 mi away
Palazzo Brandano
Palazzo Brandano
#1 of 1 in Petroio
5.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 Guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' LAST MInute? Please visit our website or send an email for an immediate response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portagioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.