We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation HEAVEN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portagioia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Portagioia to your Saves list
Casa Portagioia
Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Vacation HEAVEN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I don't know where to begin except...if you want a TRUE vacation and beauty you MUST come here. Hosts Marcello and Terry were just so wonderful. They were very hospitable and kind and wonderful sense of humor and made us feel at home.
The place is so beautiful there is really NO words to describe it. The rooms, the garden, the pool area, the front area, etc. Just beautiful really.
Twice a week they do a dinner at the place and we got lucky that one of the nights we were there (we were there two nights) we did the dinners. (good thing b/c it was pouring rain that night). Anyway, Marcello is a wonderful cook with 5 courses!! Everything was fresh and delicious and honestly perfect.
Again, if you are in Florence and want to get away from the "city life" and enjoy just peace, quiet, beauty, and heaven you MUST book your stay at this amazing bed and breakfast.
Again, thank you so much Marcello and Terry for a memorable, wonderful, heavenly place/time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
580
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staying at Casa Portagioia was the perfect location to allow travel around Tuscany. Most of our day trips were only an hour to hour and one-half drive away. Terry and Marcello would provide us with excellent directions and tips each day at breakfast. They seemed genuinely interested in giving us tips each day to insure that we had the best day ever, making the necessary reservations when required.

Each day at Casa Portagioia starts with a wonderful breakfast --- every fruit you could think of, cereals, yogurts, pastries, eggs, etc. The accommodations at this B & B are wonderfully comfortable with beautiful gardens, vineyards, olive groves and the beautiful scenery of Tuscany all around --- who could ask for more!! Being a dog lover, I enjoyed the daily morning visits from Sammy and Tosca, the house dogs!! They also offer two dinners each week, with the food excellently prepared by Marcello and hosted by Terry and Marcello. They also recommended excellent restaurants in the nearby area where we also enjoyed our dining experience and excellent food.

My hope is that I am able to travel again to Tuscany and bring my husband to show him Casa Portagioia so he can also have this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We first stayed at Casa Portagioia six years ago and have been looking forward to a return visit for a long time. We were not disappointed.

What we loved about Casa Portagioia was exactly as we remembered it and what has changed reflects the maturity of the gardens, vineyards and olive groves– and of course Terry has gotten older – but that’s another story.

This is a beautiful property in the peaceful Tuscan countryside just outside the medieval hill town of Castiglion Fiorentino. The location is ideal and you are only minutes from Cortona, close to Assisi, and within easy driving distance of all of Tuscany’s attractions.

The rooms are thoughtfully decorated, quiet and comfortable. We returned to the Venanzi room – a peaceful garden room with a semi-private terrace and views over the garden. The king size bed was comfortable and we loved the privacy.

Don’t miss an opportunity to dine with Marcello and Terry. We had a fun, relaxed evening (two actually during our week’s stay) and dinner at Casa Portagioia proved to be a highlight of our trip. The meals, prepared lovingly by Marcello, feature the freshest of local ingredients and offer a real taste of Tuscan cuisine. The 1,500 bottle wine cellar provides a good selection of reasonably priced wines to accompany the meal.

Casa Portagioia is a classy, well run, comfortable B&B with two owners who are a delight. It deserves every bit of its stellar reputation.

Casa Portagioia has become a cherished memory and Marcello and Terry dear friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Marcello and Terry are masters in the art of hospitality. Their beautiful, tasteful, comfortable B&B is set in lovely Tuscan hills, convenient to dozens of places for visiting. You'll receive excellent instructions and tips for your day trips and you'll look forward to going back "home" at the end of the day. We appreciated the snowy white table linens and big, thick bath towels. Be sure to avail yourself to one of their fabulous dinners which are offered once or twice a week. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: We only saw our room and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Portogioia. The setting is beautiful, the B&B is exceptionally clean, peaceful, and perfectly located to visit all Tuscany has to offer (small towns, wineries, etc.). Terry and Marcello are extremely accommodating and help make all the arrangements for how to spend the day around Tuscany. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Everything wonderful that has been said about Casa Portagioia is true! Our 8 night stay with Terry and Marcello was amazing. They have created the perfect B&B . They help you with everything you could possibly need. Your daily plans, directions, maps, reservations, they have the best suggestions for all. The dinners they made were 5 star quality, no details were spared. Every morning breakfast on the patio was wonderful. We can honestly say that this was a place not to be missed. It was the highlight of our vacation. Terry and Marcello, thank you for making our stay with you a slice of heaven. We will miss you and Casa Portagioia . We hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms here are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our fourth trip to this wonderful B&B was as great as ever. The location is perfect for exploring Tuscany and Umbria and the accomodations and amenities are of the best quality. The hosts, Terry and Marcello, are very friendly, accomodating and helpful if you need suggestions. We especially enjoyed our dinner prepared by Marcello and getting to know some of the other guests. Breakfast is always good with lots of fresh fruit, pastries, cereals, yoghurt and eggs. The gardens and surroundings are beautiful and relaxing including a great pool area when the weather is warmer. The only problem with Casa Portagioia is having to leave at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Portagioia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Portagioia

Address: Pieve di Chio, 52043 Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Castiglion Fiorentino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Castiglion Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Portagioia - an elegant yet relaxed country retreat in Tuscany - somewhere between a country hotel and your best friend's home. A place where you can relax, take time to reflect on your travels and to be energized and enthused in to seeing more of the wonderful places Tuscany (& Umbria) have to offer. Always fresh and inviting. 5 guest bedrooms and 2 suite apartments, all with luxury bathrooms and air-conditioning. Everything 'just so.' For the best options and prices, visit our website or send us an email for a quick response. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Casa Portagioia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Portagioia, b&b Tuscany
Casa Portagioia, Bed And Breakfast Tuscany Hotel Castiglione Fiorentino
Casa Portagioia Castiglion Fiorentino, Italy - Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portagioia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.