We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque, Peaceful, Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to your Saves list
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
3 Cox's Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Picturesque, Peaceful, Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

What a wonderful way to start our holiday. First class accommodation, hospitality and service and the most peaceful, picturesque location. Thank you Chris, Graham and James (and pet rooster) for making us feel so welcome and ensuring we had the best time at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. Magical place for children and the alpacas are absolutely beautiful. Can't wait to return. Make sure you add Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to your itinerary.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

As soon as you arrive down the windy lane leading from Branxholm, you realise that the owners have gone to a lot of trouble & used their imagination to set up a very interesting site. The cottages are very comfortable and well-furnished & easy to keep warm in the winter. The breakfast, sauces & condiments provided in the kitchen area of the room are more copious & varied than any we had seen in a rented room. Thanks to previous reviewers, we knew this & therefore brought some meat & veg for the evening meal which we seasoned from the stocked items. A flat screen TV with satllite channels helps pass the time inside, but it is the outdoors which fascinates, even in mid-winter. Plenty of space to roam, including wooded areas & a huge field populated with half a dozen alpacas.
As others have mentioned, we loved the outdoor spa bath despite the cold weather. Just us & the alpacas in the dark of late evening.
The owners have made a real effort to bring out the local history in relation to the Chinese tin miners. They also reacted very sensibly when through a misunderstanding we turned up with our six year old (be careful: they normally do not accept children) & tried to accommodate him.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time.
Graham and Chris are very hospitable and helpful. Thank you
The accomodation is great and in a fascinating area.
Great walks, some interesting local hisotry and an alpaca farm to Boot!

I'd reccomend staying here a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We enjoyed the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages so much that we stayed an extra night making it 4 nights. We wished we had stayed here for our whole week away in Tassie! The seclusion of the place, the tranquility, the hospitality, the scenery are beyond words. Our cabin (chintock) felt like it was " ours" from the minute we walked in. So warm,cosy and comforting. Even though we had "neighbours" next door, the layout of the cabins made you feel as if the view that you could see from your front door was yours and yours alone. Graham and Christine are the perfect hosts, Graham even dug up worms for my husband so that he could fish in the Ringarooma river just 50 metres away! Graham and Christine are to be congratulated on this outstanding property and their genuine hospitality is a credit to them. Reccommend to all. We shall definately be back!
A very BIG thank you!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed for a week which is a bit longer than most guests according to our host Graham. As we packed on the last day, my wife was constantly saying that she wished we could stay longer!

We used the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages as a base from which to explore the North-East of Tasmania; an area not featured so heavily in tourist circuits and it proved to be spectacular. The cottages in Branxholm make for an easy day trip to everything in the region.

The accommodation itself was wonderful. The cabin was cosy, toasty warm on cold nights and well-suited to our overly active 2.5 year old daughter who declared it our "New new new home", our "cupboard home" or "Cabin Home" when she concentrated on what she was saying. We stayed in a two bedroom cabin that fit us perfectly. The neighbouring cabins were vacant but even if they weren't I feel there wouldn't be any issue with privacy with the way they're laid out. You can see the house of Graham and Christine (the hosts) but it is far enough away that you still have the feeling of seclusion.

There was always something to see or do even on the days in which we didn't head off anyway. The hiking trails made for spectacular viewing as did a walk along the very nearby river. For those interested in some local history a huge amount of work has gone into a display near the start of the trails detailing some of the early history of the area, the immigrants and the local mines. Wildlife abounds with kookaburras, pademelons, and possums as well the not-so-native alpacas, geese and chickens right outside the cabin door. Little Cassie claimed them all as her new friends.

Our hosts treated us very well, with a smile, a tour of the accommodation and a welcoming hamper. (the cabin kitchen is very well stocked)

We'll definitely revisit the Tin Dragon Trail cottages. Our next trip to Tasmania will be more of a driving holiday so our stay might not be as long but we'll make a point of spending a night or two here again regardless of any other plans.

Thanks to Graham and Christine for your wonderful hospitality and the beautiful experience you provide.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We had such a great time, fantastic hosts, very private, extremely quiet, great heating and the outdoor spa was amazing, the stars were so clear. Fabulous walks.
We absolutely loved it and so did our 13 month old.
Already planning our next trip!
Thanks so much,
Sherry, Peter and baby Olive.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We finished up our two and bit weeks trip around Tasmania at this gorgeous place for three nights. We decided that after some hard 4WD touring and lots of walks that we would love somewhere romantic to stay that was peaceful and quiet to end our spectacular time already spent in beautiful Tasmania. We didn’t want to get our hopes up that this place would look as good as the pictures on the website, but all we can say was we were blown away by our accommodation and surroundings. We stayed in the Chintock cottage on a romantic package for three days (we wished it was for longer). In addition to the wonderful breakfast provisions provided and toiletries, we had excellent bubbles from the leaning church vineyard (which we did go and buy a whole case of wine from there after our stay!!), chocolates, cheese and other yummy stuff, we were also very well feed with the breakfast provisions provided, the best being the fresh eggs from the chickens. The cottage we stayed in also had an outdoor heated spa which was absolutely fantastic, my husband couldn’t understand why I was so excited to take a bath outdoors but he was soon converted once we arrived at this place. There is nothing like it just relaxing under the stars with some good wine and listening to the beautiful sounds that this place has to offer. It even started to rain a bit one night but that just added to this wonderful experience. We didn’t know how we would go travelling in Tasmania this time of year but the weather was great and we would love to visit again when true winter hits, you don’t need to visit this place in summer to enjoy it if you pack the right clothing. Also you get the added bonus of things being a lot cheaper and less crowds to contend with as well. Graham and Christine are wonderful hosts and we even joined them at the Ringarooma pub (better food than the Branxholm pub) for a great dinner. This is a hidden destination waiting to be explored, and it is an excellent location to stay at. We visited many places from here in easy distances. Whatever you do in Tasmania make sure you stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Cox's Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tin Dragon Trail Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Dragon Trail Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.