We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You haven't done B&B until you've done Tin Dragon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to your Saves list
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
3 Cox's Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You haven't done B&B until you've done Tin Dragon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I spent the last 2 nights of our Honeymoon here after reading such fantastic reviews.

From minute one when we pulled in and saw the beautiful stream flowing down the side of the pebbled road leading to the cottages we knew it was something special. The host Graham came out and greeted us with champagne and chocolates and made us feel very welcome. He also provides a BBQ platter for you to cook and a roast hamper for your dinners, at a small cost. -Also available are lovely picnic hampers.

The accommodation was a warm, wooden, beautifully presented cabin with a fireplace, lush bed and all the facilities you need. What we found truly unique about this place, is the private out-door spa that sits metres away from your front door. It overlooks roaming grassy hills -which the Al Paca's have claimed as there own. We were concerned it may be a bit cool to go out to, but the cold night in a hot spa overlooking the stairs with a glass a champagne was magic!

A lot of people may think the location is a bit too remote, but that's exactly what we came there for. To be alone with each other for golf and hike filled days and warm steamy nights at the cabin ;) -Tin Dragon: An absolute must for anyone wanting a romantic trip away from the crowds!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
79
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a couples (Two couples, mid twenties ) weekend away to Tasmania and stayed at the Tin Dragon trail cottages. Unfortunately I rarely review places but this stay was so good i felt compelled to. The rooms were nice and the kitchen/BBQ area provided means for self catering. The onsite walks are very well maintained and informative.

The owners managed to find a perfect balance between being helpful but not intrusive. I have stayed a few of these types of places before and the owners normally trend to one extreme. Wildlife around the area was very interesting, saw a platypus which made my day. The wine in the region is pretty decent as well if you care for cool climate types. I highly recommend tin dragon cottage to anyone looking for a weekend away. I have already started pushing some friends and family to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights in fon hock cottage and it was fantastic. the hosts are super friendly, the alpacas are charming and the accommodation was very comfortable and relaxing. i loved the outdoor spa bath and the complimentary breakfast hamper was more than enough. a great place to stay if you want to 'get away from it all'. highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Tin Dragon Trail Cottages (TDTC) are excellent. My husband and I wanted to stay at a place where we could enjoy the beautiful Tasmanian environment. Certainly TDTC did not disappoint. The Ringarooma River is within a minute’s walk from the cottages and beautiful Tasmanian forests are only a few minutes away. For three nights we had a very comfortable stay in a nicely appointed cottage that is very well-equipped. It is called Ah Ping and is one of five, spaced so that one is far enough away from one’s neighbour. We found the provision at TDTC better than at other places in Australia and overseas where we have stayed. For breakfast (self-cooked), as well as the usual cereal, milk and bread, there were also fresh eggs, bacon, sausages, various sauces and even pasta. We thank Graham and Christine for their great hospitality and recommend the TDTC to anyone who wants to explore and enjoy the north east of Tasmania.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deloraine, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent a peaceful and relaxing two days in the north east of Tasmania at Tin Dragon Cottages. We stayed in Chintock Cottage which was private and very comfortable with an outdoor spa which we used both evenings. Our hosts, Graham and Christine were very warm and friendly and full of local knowledge. Excellent breakfast provisions are included. If you stay for a few days it is best to cook for yourself but this is no drama as the cottage is well provisioned with excellent cookware and a wide range of sauces, spices and condiments. We cooked a three course dinner of fresh Tasmanian scollops, fillet steak with mushrooms and chocolate mousse. We walked on of the trails and went further afield for a pint at Weldborough where they have a wide range of Tasmanian beers and cider. The cottages are located in the center of northeastern Tasmania so they are a good base to explore the area. You may be lucky to see a platypus in the river at the base of the property.

Room Tip: Choose a studio cottage for an outdoor spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had such and amazing visit staying at the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages. Our visit has changed how we want to plan all future vacations.
The location is a little rural, you'll definitely want to rent a car. I live in Florida, and had never driven on the left side of the road. I was intimidated at first, but caught on fast & had very little trouble driving on the rural roads.

At night we looked up and saw more stars than I've ever seen in the sky. When I looked out at the mountains, I couldn't see a single other light. The space was amazing, I felt like we had the mountains all to ourselves.

This was my first trip to Australia. After spending a week in Melbourne, I wanted to see more of the countryside. When I found the Tin Dragon Trail Cottages (TDTC,) I fell in love with the place and planned our 4 day trip around staying there. We didn't go to Hobart or some of the more traditional tourist spots. Our time in rural Northeast Tasmania staying at TDTC couldn't have been a more perfect getaway.

If you want to see some absolutely gorgeous scenery without big crowds, you'll love this place.
The owners (a lovely couple with a very sweet son) bought the land about 10 years ago & have built everything themselves. I think the guy is some kind of genius. He designed and built all of the cottages, constructed a water system that makes them require zero water from the city or county, and plans to become entirely self-sufficient by generating his own electricity soon.

The way the 5 cottages are laid out, you don't really see each other. It seems like you are the only one on the mountain and the property.

It is worth noting, you should plan to not have internet access. There is no wifi or wireless. I'm sure if you really needed to get online, the owners would let you borrow their office computer.
My husband was worried at first about not having internet, but soon realized how much he liked the break. Without constantly worrying about work, his mind was clearer. I think it did a lot of good for both of us.

When we arrived, we immediately got to see what we started referring to as "hoppies." Wild wallabys & other similar small marsupials are very easy to spot after dark. They are cute.

The first day I wanted to do a little hiking, and the owners suggested a stunning hike to nearby Ralph Falls. We were the only ones on the trail and had an amazing view we didn't have to share with anyone else.

Our second day we checked out the Pygengana cheese factory--delicious! Then we took a short drive and arrived at an absolutely breathtaking beach (The Bay of Fires). Crystal clear water, white sands, and not a single other person anywhere in sight.
It was winter when we visited, which is the off season there. The winter was very mild, we'd wear a jacket in the day and come home to our wonderful cozy cottage. It got a little chilly at night, but we loved sitting in front of the fireplace and talking. Without email, facebook, or other distractions we were able to spend some real quality time together.

We loved coming home each night to our cottage. The breakfast supplies they gave us the first day lasted easily for all 3 mornings we were there. If you plan to visit in the winter, it can be hard to find lots of places for dinner nearby.

There's a pub within walking distance. It has a dining room and the food is good. We actually ate there 2 of our 3 nights. Most of the other options require about a half hour drive. The owners have provided each cottage with a barbecue, so you can easily bring food back and grill it. I'd recommend utilizing one of the food add-ons they offer if you don't want to cook or go to the pub. They will pack you a pick nick lunch and offer a dinner package. There are probably other options as well if you talk to the owners.

Part of the reason we wanted to stay at Tin Dragon Trail was the alpacas. They were friendly and definitely did not disappoint us.

The owners are also passionate about preserving some of the history of the area that was nearly lost. In the 1800s, the area was mined for tin primarily by Chinese immigrants who left when their mining was finished. There is some interesting history in addition to the gorgeous scenery.

Room Tip: The cottages with spas are really nice in the winter. Sitting in them under the stars is really rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hosts at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages have given a lot of thought to the needs of their guests. They provide a hearty breakfast hamper (which includes their own fresh eggs), and have stocked the self-contained kitchens with a wide range of staples. With so much gourmet food in the region, visitors can explore, purchase fresh produce and then whip up a feast in their home-away-from-home.

The actual property provides a wealth of things to experience: farm animals including alpacas & chooks; trout fishing, bush-walking, wildlife... The kids had an absolute ball, with so much space to run around, it would be easy enough to while away the time without driving anywhere.

But Graham, Christine & James are very generous with their time and passionate about their region, and encourage guests to discover many great attractions and local businesses in the north east. There's places to visit in every direction: beautiful waterfalls, mountain trails, rivers and rainforests; country pubs, golf courses and heritage tin-mining sites. In fact, way too much to cover in only a brief stay.

We were truly impressed during our three-night visit, and would definitely recommend the cottages. Immaculate, quiet and centrally-located for a variety of day-trips... and we would return just to enjoy another hour or two in the outdoor spa! Absolutely divine, very romantic and such a unique idea, relaxing under the stars (even in winter). This place has something for everyone.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Cox's Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tin Dragon Trail Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Dragon Trail Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.