We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tin Dragon Trail Cottages to your Saves list
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
3 Cox's Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages for 3 nights in February, and it was the best place by far we stayed in Tasmania. Everything was perfect, Christine and Graham have created a wonderful place, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in Chintock Cottage, which had a fabulous outdoor spa, with wonderful views and the alpacas wandering close by, we could have stayed and stayed ! We even saw an Echidna on our little patio. Would just love to return here. Thank you Christine and Graham for creating such a wonderful place

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had chosen to spend three nights (wish we had spent longer) at Tin Dragon Trail Cottages during our two week tour around Tasmania. Information about the accommodation we found through "Trip Advisor". As we live in the "concrete jungle" of Hong Kong, we were looking for something calm, relaxing, and which would bring us back to nature. We have a three year-old daughter and thought it would be good idea to show her a bit of country-side, let her run without any worries in the fields, and see some animals in their natural environment.


As soon as we arrived we could see that we made 100% right decision. We were warmly welcomed by hosts Graham, Christine and young James. We were recommended to stay in Ah Ping cottage which had two separate bedrooms, very big living/dining room and the best-equipped kitchen we found during our two week tour around the island. Everything was very well thought-out by the owners of the cottages, and you could find everything you need for comfortable stay, including supplies for a nice breakfast. Very good value for money you pay.

We celebrated New Year there and made good use of the cottage's BBQ, which was very clean, good quality so we managed to prepare best lamb chops ever.

We spent three nights there. Our daughter still remembers this place and keeps asking when we are going again to feed chooks. When you stay there you feel like you are at home. All the cottages are build so that everyone has total privacy, peace and comfort. All of us are looking forward to returning there one day. Highly recommended to everyone, who is looking to spend romantic and peaceful time in the countryside away from all hustle and bustle of the rest of the world.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

It's hard to add to the previous comments. The cottage (studio style) was large, beautifully furnished and well-stocked. The setting is delightful. We got up at 07h00 and walked down by the river - saw my first platypus in the wild and watched for about 10 minutes as it cruised around. Feeding the alpacas is great family fun - the look on our son's face when one spat a mouthful of food all over him was hilarious.
The hosts are passionate and committed. Their biggest challenge will be in maintaining their impressive ratings. whatever happens, this place deserves to succeed and I only hope the various councils and regional tourism bodies get their collective heads around the opportunity the tin dragon trail presents.
When I told some Launceston friends that we'd stayed in Branxholm they couldn't believe it - the town isn't much to look at. But even they are now curious about trying Tin Dragon Cottages.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Grant, Christine, and James. The property is peaceful and relaxing. We stayed in Ah Moy cottage-excellent accommodation. No detail was left out, from the well stocked kitchen to the light switch in perfect reach from the bed.

We had the best nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. We took the one of the recommendation walks and also sat by the creek waiting for platypus. We loved being in nature but having a new, clean cottage was most relaxing.

It was extremely romantic. No cell or internet service! A great selection of books and DVDs are available at reception.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ah Moy, which is wheelchair accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This place is just incredible. I really felt at home here, I loved going on the walk, and I loved feeding the alpacas!! the host's were really nice, I will be bringing my two boys here next time I come!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed two nights in Ah Ping cottage. The hosts were very friendly and informative, the welcome pack of provisions was more than adequate. The setting was tranquil. A great place for a weekend away, or for a base to tour the area. So glad our friends recommended it to us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed for 2 nights but wished we had a week after seeing all the things on offer on the property and in the the surrounding area.
our 3 young boys loved feeding the alpacas and chooks and spent an afternoon in the river skimming rocks and looking for platypus. The facilities were modern,clean, comfortable and of great quality as were the breakfast provisions.
highly recommended for families and romantic getaways.

Room Tip: all cottages excellent. some better for couples than families. Owners can recommend appropriate cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Cox's Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Tin Dragon Trail Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Branxholm, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tin Dragon Trail Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.