We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic property - makes you feel like you are in Downtown Abbey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NorthCourt Manor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shorwell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
NorthCourt Manor
Save
You added NorthCourt Manor to your Saves list
Shorwell PO30 3JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shorwell
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic property - makes you feel like you are in Downtown Abbey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

18 of us stayed in Northcourt House for the weekend to celebrate a Golden Wedding.
The house is simply beautiful, there is a serious "Wow" factor as you walk in with the shere height of all the ceilings, and a fantastic kitchen just perfect for self catering for large groups!
The children had the most amazing games of hide and seek and great fun playing table tennis tournaments. The gardens are just stunning, and wonderful to explore.
We shall definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Simply stunning! Beautiful house, rooms and lovely hosts. Fantastic location and gardens (which you are encouraged to spend time in, and are inspirational). Nothing was too much trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are stunning and simply huge. Our house felt very small after staying here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

John & Christine Harrison run the bed and breakfast and decided to run this family house. Amazing garden, absolutely beautiful. Cosy rooms, they managed to modernise just as needed and kept the feeling of an old manor character and features. We go every year and it is like a holiday home for our kids!

Room Tip: mary gordon because of the old style bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had great weekend in the self catering wing. The grounds are stunning. The accommodation had everything you could want, and it is spacious and luxurious. I wish we had stayed longer and I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Recently attended a Wildfitness retreat at NorthCourt Manor.This is the kind of settling in which an author could pen a pulitzer, an artist paint a rembrandt and a songwriter win a Grammy. The rooms are majestic but comfortable and every care has been taken to be as Green as possible. Kept expecting to see Jane Eyre strolling across the grass tennis courts or Carson pop out of the dining room. The gardens are a labour of love and invite rambles.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Northcourt Manor is absolutely stunning, from the grounds to the house, to our bedroom, everything was beautifully decorated and welcoming. My boyfriend and I cycled around the island so Shorwell was a good resting point for us. John and Christine were extremely helpful and friendly, suggesting cycle routes for us to explore as well as pub recommendations! Lovely breakfast which was included as well.
Our room was spacious and grand, with a roll top bath to die for. We only stayed for two nights but wished we could of stayed much longer!
I really couldn't recommend this place enough
Thanks again to John & Christine xx

Room Tip: Any room with a roll top bath :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A spontaneous trip, and oh my, did we find a glorious place.
A restoration project now mainly finished that has been going on since the sixties. A 60 room Jacobean house with wonderful gardens. Every corner you turn is a new vista. Really nice.

The house itself beautiful, our room amazing. Breakfast full of home grown food.

John and Christine, we take our hats off to you. Heaven knows how you did it, but you have created a wonderful place.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NorthCourt Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NorthCourt Manor

Address: Shorwell PO30 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shorwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shorwell
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
NorthCourt Manor Isle Of Wight/Shorwell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NorthCourt Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.