We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place garden type resort friendle all female staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kokosnuss Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kokosnuss Garden Resort to your Saves list
Kokosnuss Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Palawan Island RP-5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Coron
hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place garden type resort friendle all female staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was my second trip here and my stay at the kokousnuss was a lot of fun the rooms are plain and simple but the price was right.. The grounds are nice and green with hammocks and a small pool. No need for an alarm clock the roosters will get you up early They have a new building with large deluxe rooms to be ready in late 2010. The all female staff were extra nice friendly. The breakfast was the the best on the island. It is a bit of a walk to town but you can get a trike for 10 pes. A trip to coron island is a must, just hire your own boat for your group so you can put together your own trip. Twin lagoon and the beach are the best stops. Rent a scooter from boyats just down the road to see the island.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    14
    17
    12
See reviews for
5
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Having lived in the Philippines for quite some time now I am used to bugs and rustic sleeping arrangements but what is not tolerable is rude, sarcastic staff especially when you are paying what for Filipino standards are quite high prices. The girls here need some training in genuine hospitality and not fake smiles and sarcastic mutterings when asked to do something. Drop the attitude girls and put your energy into actually doing something!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in their best room. The room is okay with huge bathroom. Water is okay, no mosquito except for the chicken's voice. But it's okay for me because it feels like we stayed in nature. The staff also helpful and friendly. The food is good with big portion. I also like their coffee.

But I really disappointed with the location. The resort is located in Coron Town, so you can not expect for beach, swimming or sunbathing. To do that, you have to go to another island by boat. I couldn't do that because we arrived in Coron at 11.30 am and not enough time to go to another island. so we spent our time with reading and in the afternoon we went to mt. tapyas (the resort arranged it). The next day we went to Coron island. Then the last day, we didnt have much thing to do until our departure time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The service is just average. The servers are courteous, kind, and friendly but still lack training probably because the town is still undeveloped.

The bedrooms are small but comfortable but I think that its design are more for lovers and couples. The bath is big, occupying too much space. If you're a family, you will need more space.

The food is in large serving. The resort is owned by a German so I am not surprised if serving is big. At night, there are colored lights and music. It gives a good ambiance for drinkers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

My wife and I travelled to Coron as part of a group in April.

Those of us who had read tripadvisor upgraded to the aircon ensuite rooms. The rooms were interestingly decorated and OK. Yes there were some insects in the rooms, but considering you're in a remote area of the tropics this is to be expected.

The major problem is the noise due to cockerels/chickens, which was disruptive during the night/early morning but you get used to it eventually.

Whilst our rooms were OK the Nippa huts were VERY basic. If you're backpacking around asia with no expectations this may be for you. If you are a planning a nice holiday and intending to stay here upgrade to the ensuite rooms.

There is a restaurant on site. The food is very good, though more expensive than in town. However this is all relative as the food is very good value by western standards. Service is typical for a remote area of the Philipinnes i.e. slow but friendly.

The gripes we have read on tripadvisor about the resort being too far from town are a bit pathetic. Yes it is on top of a hill outside town, but getting a tricycle is easy and even in the midday heat it is possible to walk.

There is a very small shallow pool, fine for dipping your feet in or for children to play in, but not for swimming.

Internet access is available, as are safe deposit boxes.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

If you want just a simple accomodation and expolore Coron this is the right place to stay. Their cottages are well designed / indoor painted. They arrange all kind of tours easily. Out of town but better than to be in the noisy Coron.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Coron, Palawan is a lovely vacation destination because of the beautiful islands and lakes. What the worst part of our vacation was this horrible place: Kokosnuss. We're a group of Filipinos and what's ironic was that we were not treated like paying customers just because we're not white. The staff are unprofessional and some of them are not even polite. They treated us like we're not guests just because we're not foreigners. Their rooms are cramped but the room we got had a big bathroom (but who needs a big bathroom?). The airconditioning was poor, bed was uncomfortable, linens were cheap and pillows were hard. They could at least compensate the lack of facility with good customer service... But NO. Do not expect that from their disrespectful, ungrateful and untrained staff. Oh, and stay away from the cute baby boy because the ugly wicked nanny will just make you feel like you are not to touch the boy because you might harm him (DUH?! Then don't let him out or play around the resort if that's what she wants to happen). VERY UNFRIENDLY to Pinoys. The staff would attend to foreigners quickly and politely because they're expecting tip,maybe. Too bad, we would've given them much more than those backpackers can if not for their ignorance of good hotel service. When I complained (and mind you me, I discussed the matter with them in utter diplomacy but they said that the management/owners do not care about complaints of "Pinoy" customers.
Plus, the pest-infested resort has mosquitoes as big as lady bugs.
Before leaving the resort, I even got confronted by the YAYA (Nanny) who tried to be defensive! The gall of that woman to confront hotel guests! Wow! Instead of apologies, we received retaliation! TERRIBLE.

So, check-in at Kokosnuss at your own risk.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokosnuss Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokosnuss Garden Resort

Address: Palawan Island RP-5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kokosnuss Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kokosnuss Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokosnuss Garden Hotel Coron
Kokosnuss Garden Resort Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokosnuss Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.