We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eaten alive by bed bugs!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kokosnuss Garden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kokosnuss Garden Resort to your Saves list
Kokosnuss Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Palawan Island RP-5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Coron
Newcastle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eaten alive by bed bugs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

My husband and I were travelling through the Philippines for our honeymoon and stayed at Kokosnuss based on a recommondation. We knew others who were also staying in Coron at the same time as us and they appeared to have better value accomodation with very similar amenities. Friends of ours were also staying at Kokosnuss and they had a broken toilet which did not appear to be of any urgency to the hotel staff. They ended up moving accomodation after one night. We discovered the following morning my husband and I had both been eaten alive by bed bugs!
The staff were unfriendly and dismissive and generally unhelpful. Based on other accomodation that we stayed in and friends accomodation it appeared to be overpriced and overrated.

  • Liked — Garden setting
  • Disliked — Bed bugs and staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    14
    17
    12
See reviews for
5
34
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hanau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We have visited the Philippines for several times but the Kokosnuss Garden Resort is definitely the best place to stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, nice paintings on the wall (we had air condition). The rooms were clean. It has a lovely big garden. The family-owned resort is a warm and lovely place to stay. Owners and staff was very friendly and helpful. The diving course was excellent. We could see beautiful beaches, little islands and the owners offered us a wide range of activities. The walk through the rainforest was fascinating. In the restaurant we were offered a wide range of food; it was excellent. We'll definitely come again.

  • Liked — Service, Room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed there for five nights and had a very very nice room. I guess it was one of the nicest we had in the Philippines so far. Even though it is not the cheapest accommodation in town you get a good value for your money. The only disappointment for us was the manager (actually the manager's son). We had several bad happenings: we booked a hiking tour with one of the staff (she arranged it without asking the manager) and overcharged us, because her husband was guiding us two for the hike (she wanted 1500 PHP for a 2x20 minute tricycle ride and a guided hike for 3 hours in total). She sold the trip as a one day trip - we left at 6am and were back at the hotel at 10am! We contact the manager and he said it's too much and the 'normal' price was 850 and we can charge it on the room. When we payed the bill, he charged us 1000, saying the girl did not do anything wrong, mentioned a couple of other excuses and let it with this amount.
We also booked another room for two friends, arriving on our second day. The girls (from the restaurant/reception area) told us it's ok - they could stay in a fan room for the first night and transfer to an AC room afterwards. When the guys arrived in the evening, they told us a complete different story: AC first night and shared bathroom fan room afterwards. After asking again for the manager, he told us we should be more flexible if we travel in the Philippines and said that basically he has uneducated staff and we shall be glad to have a room at all because Coron was very busy at that time... We mentioned that we've been travelling quite some time there and he just responded that he has been living there for nine years.
So as mentioned before, the rooms are lovely but the rest is under Philippine average (in my opinion)

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — management
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

Simple nipa hut accomodation. Lovely and cool. Loved the sounds of the insects, lizards, cockerals, goats etc in the night. Rooms kept nice and clean and the food in the restaurant was very nice. If we hadn't booked beforehand, we would have preferred to have stayed at Seadive for location and sunsets and the staff were friendlier, however we booked 2 rooms and for £24 pound a night for the two relatively spacious rooms, we can't complain too much.

As I said earlier, the staff were not always too friendly and to be perfectly honest I was glad to see the back of them. There were so many, many more friendly faces on the walk to the market place and in the Seadive hotel.

The horse trecking is recommended at 400 pesos an hour. We were taken out by a lovely 14 year old boy, who was very informative.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

My husband and I make it a point to spend a once-a-year vacation in any place that we fancy. And this year, after considering a trip to Thailand, we opted to spend a 5-day getaway trip to the only province so far that we haven't been to....Palawan! Being scared of the Abu Sayyaf....we decided to visit the northernmost tip of the island. After browsing through several resorts in the website, we settled for Kokosnuss Garden Resort. And yes, we were not disappointed by the sole review posted here because the same hospitality and courtesy of the staff and the owner has been extended to us. Our stay is beyond pleasant considering the remoteness of the island. All the comforts we can ask for in such a place has been well provided for by Kokosnuss. We took a package stay and this, as we may say, is the best way to spend a worry-free vacation. All our food has been prepared for us and in big proportions, this includes the barbecue in one of the islands we opted to spend lunch at. The tour itineraries were always on time and they were honest in advertising the beauty of the island hopping and Coron Island tours!!! Our room was always well-kept and cleaned. The girls (their staff) were very friendly and accommodating...as if you've known them all your life! We say thanks a lot to Liza, Dhang, Mary Ann, Thata and the rest of the girls. God bless you and hope this review will help you gather more and more patrons....which means you have to consider an expansion soon!

  • Liked — Small but well-kept room. Cool and pleasant.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

After our luxurious honeymoon stay at Club Paradise whis is a private island at Coron, Palawan, we went to the city to experience the rural life and to see more hidden attractions of Coron. With the informative website they have and reasonable rates, we chose to book at Kokosnuss. It is owned and maintained by a German family. It is situated in the main road and at the foot of a mountain. We loved our villa so much, although it's just a standard aircon room, this is just what we expect since this is the adventure part of our honeymoon. I like the handpainted walls & ceilings, the huge comfort room and the transparent roof which you will experience natural daylight and see the stars at night even when you're inside your room. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, and we are comfortable to leave important stuffs at our room.
They have very big food servings, that's why me and my husband almost always just share 1 serving per meal, sometimes, since its included in our package, we have it packed when we go out for sightseeing.
The owners and staff are very helpful and very warm.
They have scheduled us a lot of activities like swimming at maquinit natural hotspring, island hopping, snorkeling at cayangan lake, the most clean lake in the phils., climbing up mt. tapias where you get the full view of Coron.
Overall our stay here is comfortable and enjoyable. We even thought of buying a property there in the future. It's a very wonderful place to see over and over again.

  • Liked — artistic handpaintings in the walls and ceilings of our room & the garden
  • Disliked — just a standard accomodation
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokosnuss Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokosnuss Garden Resort

Address: Palawan Island RP-5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kokosnuss Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kokosnuss Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokosnuss Garden Hotel Coron
Kokosnuss Garden Resort Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokosnuss Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.