We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helldivers Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Helldivers Bar
Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 34 restaurants in Coron
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My fiancé and I decided to eat out in town on our last night in Coron. We came across this when our tour guide on our Coron Island tour mentioned WWII artefacts that were recovered from sunken ships from that period.

Apparently, it's composed of two buildings: the first one you'll see after alighting the bridge was the bar, and the one that has the view of the sea is the restaurant part of it.

He ordered a lapu-lapu and rice meal, and I, a seafood pizza. I could only finish two slices, but it's not that amazing. What I loved, though, was their free coffee - regular brew, and rice coffee (mum always gives me rice coffee to treat stomach ache, and I developed a taste for it.)

We also noticed a stray cat in the premises. Both of us are cat lovers, but she got so playful, she bit my fiancé on his finger! Fortunately, the district hospital doctor said, "unless that cat was bitten by a stray dog, cats in Coron normally do not pose a risk for rabies"

Later that night, listening to the gush of the water at Coron Westown Hotel's pools, we ate the rest of the pizza with a glass of wine each.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    1
    1
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very slow service and poor quality of food, would not recommend this place to anyone. Went to the restaurant first and they were not helpful in any way shape or form. So we walked to the bar as we had heard the food was the same as the restaurant. It took a very long time to get served and even longer to get the food. When it arrived the standard of food was below awful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great bar to go to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I always go here whenever i am in Coron, i love the atmosphere of the place, the coziness and the friendly people you will meet inside, the drinks are affordable and the pool table is a plus, it's a nice place to chill and relax and just enjoy drinking! a great way to end your day! will definitely go back soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, old-fashioned bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We did not eat here, but went just to drink after dinner. The drinks were affordable, and mixed drinks were mixed well. This is a good old-fashioned dive bar, where you can go and just hang out and play some pool, which is exactly what we did. We closed the place down, yet they never tried to kick us out, even though they were packing up around our drunken selves. A great way to end the day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helldivers Bar also viewed

Coron, Palawan Island
 

Been to Helldivers Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helldivers Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.