We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Westown Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coron Westown Resort to your Saves list
Coron Westown Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Sitio Dipulao, Brgy. Poblacion 6, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Deluxe w/ free transfers!
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Coron
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed here for 4D3N, and we loved every minute of it. I actually found this gem of a hotel here at TripAdvisor when I was not very satisfied with the hotel transfer rate of another hotel in Busuanga (PHP 1000/person each way! Gee, that will make it PHP 4000 for the two of us to and from the hotel! XD) I was relieved to learn that the Westown offers only PHP 150/person for the transfer, so my fiancé immediately cancelled our previous booking with that hotel and booked here, instead.

Truth be told, this hotel is NOT near the Coron town, and calling a tricycle to bring you to the town centre can cost PHP 100 (they can fit as much as 7 people in it! ☺) compared to the rate of PHP 20/person from the town to the hotel. BUT, we liked it this way, as it was not too busy, and really, with the sound of water gushing through its pools, it makes for a good relaxing on a warm day.

The pools are its highlights, so make it a point to have enough time for you to enjoy them. The pool boys are really nice and accommodating, and there's no need for you to bring your towels from the room. Just don your swim wear, and ask for towels from them! Be wary of ants, though, when you have a drink and some snacks. Leave them on the table for too long, and you will see them enjoying your food and drink.

We had a room with a view of the pool, and since it was in a high-level floor, we also had a breath-taking view of the mountains. At night, we relaxed with a glass of wine each while listening to the music from downstairs, amidst the gush of the waters. Believe me, staying here is an experience for itself! ♥

Internet access is free at the cafe, the lobby, and on its business centre, even if it's a bit slow. It's okay, remember, you went to Coron to escape the hustle and bustle of the city ;) If you must have access even while on your room, better time your stay at the hotel and your trips and tours all around Coron - it's PHP 100 for 12 hrs and PHP 200 for 24 hours. Although, my fiancé has had issues accessing it, but I could use it - he has an iPhone 5, while I have an Android phone.

The food is a bit on the expensive side, IMO, but good. So, try having dinner here for one night, and take a tricycle and explore other restaurants in town. ☺

It just was a bit stressful at one point - when hotel personnel would always greet us: are you part of the cancelled flight? WOAH. You see, we have an important appointment the day after we arrive in Manila, so we just CAN'T miss it. So, we can't help but worry about it... Apparently, flights are being cancelled due to visibility issues caused by the sunset, so if you are booking a flight now, PLEASE BOOK A FLIGHT SCHEDULE BEFORE APPROX 3 PM. You'll thank me for it that later ;)

So, if you got the luxury of time and money (course, this is the BEST hotel in Coron, hands-down), stay here. Buy yourself some wine and kick your shoes off in the end of the day. Believe me, you will enjoy it. x

Room Tip: Rooms with a good view may cost a bit more, but they are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
29
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked into this hotel because it looked the newest in the area. The rooms were furnished nicely but ours smelt of mould and when we asked them to check they came and sprayed freshened rather than shift us. The service was polite and the food was ok. We found that the staff had trouble understanding us and communication was average, I wasn't sure if they understood our requests some of the time. This was compared to other places we had stayed where we could communicate better. Our safe played up and we couldn't get it open again. A staff member was meant to get someone to help but no one arrived. In the end after an hour we tried the safe again and it opened. It you book a tric from the hotel we were told it would cost 100peso per person so we elected to flag one of the road which cost 25 peso instead. Their island hop tours are also more than double what it costs in town. The pools are very nice and they provide beach towels which was great. All in all it was adequate for the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

From the other reviews I have read, it seems that the hotel staff have already learned from their past mistakes...at least the majority of it, I suppose.

Everyone was so accommodating and the staff immediately attended to our needs. Housekeeping was able to promptly set up the extra bed in our room. Maintenance came shortly after I asked for one, to check on the shower door that wouldn't close.

I love the spacousness of the room and bath area. The toilet had several hooks and towel racks, plus a clothes line to dry bathing suits. And there's another clothes line on the veranda!!! ;)

The food is reasonably priced, so we did not have to leave the hotel to eat elsewhere. Food during the buffet dinner and breakfast may be limited but the taste is alright. The appetizers (specifically the cheese sticks and fries) are great for pica-pica at the poolside! You just have to have them covered with cling wrap or anything to keep the flies (at daytime) away. Other than that, I would say that it's a hotel worth staying in to relax while away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to write an enthusiastic review about your recent stay with us.
It is pleasing to know how much you enjoyed your stay and was satisfied with the services we render. The Restaurant consistently provides food of good quality and taste as well as value for money. This satisfaction is very important for us and I will be glad to share your comments with the entire staff.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked a 3 nights stayed in this Hotel. The Hotel itself is nice! The rooms are spacious, the pools are nice. But the staff are quite poor! The Service is just terrible , if you ask for help nothing will happen! Badly trained in General , from Front Desk to the Breakfast staff! . My daughter got ill during our stay, I asked the front Desk to help me find a doctor, hours after nothing happened and when I called they just told me . . . . oh We didn't find a doctor! just one example of bad Service. Breakfast . . . 8 or more People working in the Restaurants but they are all Standing around, we have to wave them each time we Need something.
The cleanliness of this Hotel is also terrible, during our 4 days stayed, we noticed on the stairs dirt on the same spot not clean, on the Dining area you see hairs on the floor. The lift was also disgusting you see Hand prints all over and the smell is just faulty. When you go out of the Hotel you see trash all over and it's been there for days .
I hope this Hotel could improve their Service rather sooner than later.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

we had a cancelled flight so the airline transferred us here at WESTOWN, yeah the rooms and amenities were great, but then when we are going to have our dinner the staff made all of us look like we were idiots, they were not trained enough to handle situations like this(cancelled flights) it took us forever to have our dinner (it was free) we also ordered besides our FREE FOOD but the staff totally did not listen to us and we had to wait a long time and nothing came! to make matters worst the front desk told us to give up our room because the REAL occupants are coming!, good thing we agreed because the hotel where they transferred us was way better in terms of EVERYTHING! will never recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission in this industry, and we apologize that we fell short on your expectations. We are very sorry that we were not able to accommodate you due to the sudden big volume of cancelled flight passengers of two airlines at that time. Moreover, we do not have enough staff at that time to accommodate everyone in that unexpected circumstance. We have been trying our best to cope with the situation to provide accommodation to every guest.

We hope you will us another chance to be of service to you and your guests.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our flight was cancelled and Philippine Airlines (PAL) booked this hotel for all displaced passengers. We checked in and my family was assigned to two rooms. We settled in, ordered room service (our voluntary expense) and took a nap, glad that the airport ordeal was over. Two hours later PAL knocked on our doors, asking if we were willing to move to another hotel because front desk made an error; they've given us rooms that were pre-booked by other guests who were arriving late that evening. We explained how inconvenienced we were already, and they agreed and left us to rest. Ten minutes later front desk harasses my children in the other room, and when I called front desk to clarify, Ivy, the manager insisted that we should move to another hotel. She also threatened that PAL has refused to settle the expense of our stay should we refuse to move. What sort of hotel chooses to drag its sleeping customers out of their beds in favor of guests who have yet to arrive, instead of upgrading the incoming guests to a suite for the evening? It was their error in booking management after all. We asked why the other passengers were not asked to move. Ivy lied and said that most passengers have already moved. This was false. While a few have agreed to move, most of our other companions were not moving, they were having dinner! We again clarified the issue with PAL representative, stating that the hotel had no right to tell us PAL would not settle. PAL apologized and rectified the situation, ensuring that the rest of our stay was trouble free. No apologies were offered by front desk. Westown management has forgotten that though we were accidental customers that evening, we are also potential future customers. Their shabby treatment of guests is discouraging. We would not be returning to this hotel again, nor would we recommend it to others.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WengCheng, Admin-OIC at Coron Westown Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We want to thank you for your feedback. We strive to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it’s apparent that in this case we fell short. We apologize that we have been overbooked due to the sudden big volume of cancelled flight passengers of two airlines and also we do not have enough staff at that time to accommodate everyone. We have been trying our best to cope with the instant situation to provide accommodation to every guest .
We hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to serve you well.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Westown Resort for a week in Dec/Jan.
The hotel itself is nice and modern. But the staff attitude and service was terrible.
This is what we encountered -
Front desk staff - they ignore or forget requests and mess up bookings
Restaurant staff - they are poorly trained, slow and fairly lazy
Bar staff - the drinks aren't cold at all so they put ice in your beer!
Housekeeping staff - forget to clean rooms, and if requested still don't do it
Management - there appears to be no management or supervisors present.
For this poor service it is still expensive. Many other guests we spoke to had the same opinion.
Yes its a version of "Fawlty Towers" in Coron Palawan!!

If you go to Coron the island tours and snorkling are great (although a bit disorganised).
The tricycle drivers are great and going to/from town each day is great fun in the tricycle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coron Westown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Westown Resort

Address: Sitio Dipulao, Brgy. Poblacion 6, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coron Westown Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the premier resorts and ideal conference destinations in Coron, Palawan, Coron Westown Resort offers a captivating blend of Filipino culture and contemporary sophistication just 5 minutes from downtown Coron or a 25-minute ride from Busuanga Airport. Indulge yourself in the great pleasures of the grandest resort in Coron, Palawan. It may be the awe-inspiring uniquely landscaped gardens– that greet you upon arrival, sprawling swimming pools for your relaxation, or perhaps it will be the 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms so lavish that they exceed all expectations.Succumb to the serenity of our Spa, be swept up in the ambiance of the Pool Bar & KTV Lounge, or savor delightful cuisine at the Restaurant. For special occasions, weddings or conferences, you’ll enjoy the biggest air-conditioned venue in Coron, that can accommodate up to 300 pax and services that are second to none. We aim in providing genuine, friendly care and comfort to our guests with touches of elegance and outstanding customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Coron Westown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Westown Resort Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Westown Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.