We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get a lot more than you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaba-Kaba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kaba-Kaba to your Saves list
Kaba-Kaba
Dipulao, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Coron B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get a lot more than you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The couple running the place is very nice and helpful. They know the island well, and we highly recommend using their services. The place offers very affordable loundry services, their food is delicious, and they even have a trike and motorcykles for rent (if you are able to scuba dive and are skilled with a bike you´ll get a lot more out of Coron than if you are not).

Whether it´s hiking, biking or diving one´s into, they can get activities organized through their contacts. It´s reliable and the prices are already negotiated to a very reasonable level, which they always aren´t for an independent traveller. Also one of the owners is British, so if you´re traveling from Europe or North America there´s no language or cultural barrier that would keep you from being understood. He´s also an experienced scuba diver, so if you´re into diving, you can get everything organized directly from Kaba Kaba.

Please note though that Kaba Kaba is not well suited for a leisure holiday, as it is situated a couple of kilometres from the town and there´s not much to do at the place itself. The facilities are of a good backpacker standard: cleand with a European style bathroom. Just don´t be expecting any luxury, or much privacy in the bungalow type apartments. Warm water usually ran out in the evening, and power failures are common too, but these problems concern every accommodation without their own aggregation.

Kaba kaba is best suited for active travelers who are social and enjoy doing things. Their strongest asset is their small scale and the fact that it´s a family business. Everything´s easily negotiable, and conversations with the people running the place can take your understanding of the island a notch deeper than it would get in an average tourist accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I travelled alone, and stayed here for 7 nights. Kaba Kaba is value for money accommodation, with the bonus of very hospitable owners. The balance of helpfulness and being left alone to do my own thing was just right.
Motorcycle hire and dive instruction are on site - I can recommend both. Breakfast and dinner is also available if required, otherwise Coron Town is a short and inexpensive taxi ride away.
When I return I will definitely stay at here again for the warm welcome, fantastic views and tranquility.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

These cottages are a little bit hidden and built on a very nice place with great view. Inside is everything you need. There are only two cottages at the moment but a few another are being built. It's very calm place but a little bit far from a city. Pair which owns this place is very nice and obliging.There is almost nothing to criticize. BUT you cannot buy a dinner or something to eat in there and considering to its distance from a city its maybe a little bit problem. So must have/buy something to eat before you go back to cottages (cause way in there is not very cheap) or you can choose from 2 resort restaurants which are close, but restaurants in there are kinda expensive and quality of service is grotesque.

Room Tip: Front cottage has a bit better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My stay with family at Kaba-kaba couldn’t have been nicer. Kevin and Grace, the owners, made myself and my family feel extremely welcome and were full of helpful hints of where to go to shop, eat, drink etc. The cottage we stayed is perched in the forest overlooking the island and the sea. It’s about a five minute motorbike ride to town for dinner or a drink, you can also get a local taxi if riding a bike is not your thing. I was also lucky enough to go out diving with kevin in the local vicinity. I have dived all round the world, the med, tahiti, Great barrier reef, etc and this was my favourite! Honestly, I can fully recommend this place and all the work that Kevin and Grace are putting in will only make it better. I will be back for longer next time. If you want to get off the well trodden tourist routes and experience the “real” Philippines this is the place to go!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My first trip to the Philippines consisted of one week in Boracay and one week at Kaba Kaba with Kevin and Grace.

The first week in Boracay was a surprising let down. While the beach is beautiful it is very touristy and in my opinion not worth the effort. After a week there I was set to write off the Philippines as a holiday destination and then we went to Coron to stay at Kaba Kaba. This truly turned my view of the Philippines around.

Kaba Kaba is a little outside of town, but this gives you a beautiful panoramic of the sea (the first photo) and this is what you wake up to daily! Large room, clean and basic if your looking for modern luxury then this isn't the place for you. However if your looking for a true taste of the Philippines then this has everything you could need.

Kevin and Grace are lovely and very welcoming. During our stay they offered us great advice on local sites to visit and Kevin took us out and taught me to dive.

Kevin is a very competent and detailed teacher, he taught you not just how to dive but how to do it well by giving you a proper understanding of how everything works.

For those who have dived before he's a great guide and can take you to all the best places. I'd highly recommend Barracuda lake and the wreck diving both incredible in different ways! For those who diving isn't an interest there are also some great places to snorkel and swim too!

I very much enjoyed my stay at Kaba Kaba - Thank you both, and I hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our stay in Kaba-Kaba is one of the best that we have. We stayed in many fancy hotels but nothing beats a nice cottage with serenity, fresh air, great sea and sunset view in the middle of a forest. The hospitality of the owners, Kevin and Grace, are excellent! They always see to it that we're comfortable and were able to see the best of Coron and Busuanga. We rented their bike and it was a very nice experience. Staying with them is really value for money, and I was wondering if they are still earning from it. I traveled with my wife and we never regret staying in Kaba-kaba. We got the best tranquility that we could have. Kudos to the family of Grace who are so supportive and hospitable. We are definitely coming back to Kaba-Kaba and telling our friends going to Coron to stay with Kevin and family. --- I put excellent for the Fitness Center because Nature is our Fitness Center there hahaha.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Although a little bit far fromthe downtown, it is really easy to get a trycicle anytime. It is far away from noisy and smelly Coron. Sunset views are awsome everyday!

the roomwas big and clean! I had water, tea and a boiler.

I spend most of my best days in Palawan in Kaba-Kaba,

At the time I went, they were working on the internet connection and improving the swimming pool.

It is really worth the money!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaba-Kaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaba-Kaba

Address: Dipulao, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaba Kaba Grace and Kevin will try and make your stay at Kaba Kaba a worthwhile holiday experience. If it’s adventure or just a time to chill out, Coron, Busuanga is the Philippine island for you. Kevin can take you SCUBA diving or Grace will cook that special meal.Island HoppingThe Island of Busuanga has so much to offer. Take a day exploring some of the 700 island making up the group of Islands knows as the Calamianis. Organized tours includes lunch and entry fees to island beeches and viewing spots.SCUBA DivingHave a go at SCUBA diving. If you enjoy the water why not take a day and have a try. Kevin will take you to an island beach where you can try it out with an experienced instructor in shallow water. Once you’ve got the hang of it, it’s time to explore the reef and have an experience of a life time. After lunch on the boat and a chill on the island, if you’re up for it you can try another dive site. If you’re hooked on diving it’s time to get you license and dive the wrecks, some of the best dive sites in the world!!! No exaggeration.In 1944 the American navy launched an airborne attack from the East Coast of the Philippines to the western Islands of the Calamianis in the South China Sea where the Japanese had moved their supply fleet from Manila, thinking it was beyond the reach of the Americans. But the three squadrons of bombers had auxiliary fuel tanks to make the longest airborne navy raid of the 2nd world war. We now have twelve wreck sites that make Coron wreck diving one of the top ten wreck sites in the world. There is diving for all from wrecks at just a few meters below the surface to 45m dives for the suitably qualified and experienced diver.For qualified divers wreck diving can be a breath taking experience. Going down the line to the wreck for the first time is exciting at the same time as being an anxious moment thinking about you’re experience. For the experienced and adventurous diver the Coron wrecks make great penetration dives. From a gentle look into the cargo holds to exploring rooms on the lower deck levels and checking out the engine bays and propeller shafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Kaba-Kaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaba-Kaba Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaba-Kaba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.