We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded Budget Accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coron Ecolodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coron Ecolodge to your Saves list
Coron Ecolodge
Calle Real, Poblacion 2,, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Coron
manila philippines
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Upgraded Budget Accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

It is a budget accommodation that you can easily mistake for an expensive hotel because of its upgraded facilities.

Coron is well known for backpacking but the kind of tourists that are discovering Coron lately has diversified.People see the fact that the main activity here is island hopping (which means you are out exploring the lakes, beaches and dive spots most of the day) so people are still keen on keeping it on the low-end of the budget when it comes to accommodation.The entry of Coron Ecolodge in the ever competitive Coron hospitality sector is a welcome thing therefore for budget conscious travelers who still value quality.

It's a pretty compact place with only two floors and 22 rooms. The ground floor holds the lobby and the restaurant area where guests can have breakfast as included of their room rate. The mood is rather bright and fresh given the tall glass walls surrounding the lobby. It brings in a lot of natural light even during gloomy days which is consistent with the mood you feel when you are in Coron.Let it be summer all year long!

All rooms are of the same type, double standard ---15sq. meters each with two separate beds. Perfect if you are travelling with friends. In our case, since we are a couple, we requested that they put together the beds. We naturally occupied one side as one bed would fit two pax but we still put the two side by side just in case somebody starts rolling.haha!

You can book a room for as low as PHP 1,898.00 per night for a maximum of 2 adults and 2 children.Add a little and you can have a room for three (3) for only PHP 2,398.00. That's reasonable!

Take note, this is an a/c room and this is Coron so this is as practical as you can go in terms of a/c rooms.I like it that each room has a thermostat.Say hello to unli-coffee!The bed is comfortable and sheets are clean.The room smells fresh.Basic toiletries are included.

Our room was rather simple. Not so much to see inside in terms of accent. I told front desk that it would have been nicer if they bring the door accent in the room, not to be too loud about it, but at least an item or so inside the room just to be consistent with the trademark. It will give the hotel a clearer branding. Just my thought.

Still, I have no complaints with our room.You get more what you pay for.

Having a private bath was also a delight as we stayed in another accommodation the night before where we had to share the bath with other guests.I have no issues with that except that you feel burdened waiting for your turn at times especially if you are wet and cold from island hopping. Waiting in this case could be a pain.

Another thing that you will like about Coron Ecolodge is its proximity to other establishments like banks, shops and especially restaurants. Coron town is situated on a small area limited by the hills and the sea.The downtown area is therefore a long strip which extends a few kilometers long.

Shops and restaurants therefore line the main street.A long stretch if I may say so but there is a bigger concentration in the area around the public market. Coron Ecolodge is around 300 meters away from the market and around 100 meters away from the main road.That means you can walk left or right from the lodge and still find what you are looking for.You don't have to take transportation when looking for a place to eat especially during dinner which I find very handy. Lolo Nonoys, our favorite restaurant in Coron town is only a few blocks away.

Coron Ecolodge is indeed for those who are budget conscious but don't want to compromise quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eva P, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you so much for that comprehensive and positive review of our hotel, as well as for your constructive inputs. You can be assured that we are constantly looking at ways to improve not just our facilities but our service as well. Reviews like your are very encouraging for our team, and certainly informative as well for other travelers as well. Thank you for taking the time to note the details. We really appreciate your feedback. All the best to you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    55
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
21
35
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

One of the best hotel in Coron. The room is clean, personnel is attentive, location is great. The lobby sometimes get crowed during buffet breakfast so better eat early. WI-FI is also available only at the lobby. But beware of the room rates they change the rate without notice even you already check-in for a lower rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side are quitier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding the hotel. We aim to give each of our guests a positive experience when you come stay with us and we are glad that you had that.

At the time of your stay, our room rate actually went down. We went on promo for Php 1598 per room, per night for 2 pax and it was applied immediately on September 1, 2013. If we're not mistaken, your stay straddled end August to the first days of September. The portion of your accommodations that applied to August was computed at the current rate then and the portion of your accommodations that applied to September was computed at the promo rate even if at that time, the promo rate has not yet been fully published. We can only surmise that the staff had not been able to explain the computation well enough for you, and for that we apologize.

Though we classify our hotel as a modestly designed boutique hotel, Coron Ecolodge aims to give each of our clients personalized, sincere and superlative service. You would be pleased to know that management has since decided to keep the promo rate of Php 1,598.00 as a thank you to all our clients who have made Coron Ecolodge the best "value-for-money" hotel in town. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon in Coron Ecolodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It was indeed a superb vacation...Receptionist are welcoming during check in, even when you will just pass by they kept on saying "Good Morning" with a nice a smile, that what's make us feel homey, all staff greeted and help you on your request and queries...We also love the island hopping, kayangan lake...amazing...upon check out attendants will help you out and even check the things we might left inside our room(good thing they did it I almost left my new watch.) will definitely return and stay here on our next adventure...

Room Tip: Excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind and gracious review of our hotel and staff! We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again in Coron Eco Lodge, hopefully in the near future. All the best to you ma'am. God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this apartment for 7 nights, but decided to only stay one. This was through no fault of the hotel but rather we wanted a more comfortable / relaxing environment after diving. As this was prepaid, we decided to keep the room as a base in town and moved to Sophia's Garden for the rest of the duration.

To be fair, we should have informed the hotel of this, but as they keep the key at reception (you are not allowed to take it with you) and we had already paid, so we didn't.

The main issues occurred when we attempted to check out a few days early. As we hadn't been back for a few days, our room was gone and they refused to give us our deposit back. Their excuse was that "it went towards our bill", which had already been paid - in full and upfront.

They said to come back the following day. Again the shop front manager refused to refund us the deposit. Now they tell us we should have let them know we were not there, and that's why we wouldn't get our deposit back - we informed them it was our business whether we come or go and they were being ridculous. We stood firm and told them to stoping making excuses, as our stay was paid for upfront.

The shop front manager called the operation manager, a lady, and handed me the phone. I could not hear her very well on the mobile line, but we explained the whole story again. It wasn't until I threatened to call them thieves on travel advisor that after a third visit they refunded the deposit. (All 7 nights were paid for and we were not asking for this, only the security deposit of 500 peso; it was our decision not to stay)

By the third visit to get the deposit I was worried they were going to call in people, so I went alone. They didn't, I got my security deposit and an appology for the misunderstanding. We were annoyed at how they continued to make excuses refund our deposit and wasted our time.

The Good:
Location, clean and affordable.

The Bad ( I don't trust these guys):
- on the first day we did stay there, I ordered one beer and gave the girl 500 pesos. After 10 minutes I had to ask for my change. It took another 5 minutes for it come back.
- We were told the security deposit went towards our bill, which was already prepaid for.

Simply put, the hotel was presented as advertised, but staff left us feeling very uncomfortable.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding our hotel’s cancellation and refund policies and procedures. As you had taken the liberty of sharing your side, we hope that you would understand that in the interest of fairness and accuracy, we shall also allow ourselves the liberty to respond to each point you made.

First, may we just say that we agree with you completely on your perception that if your booking had been paid in full, then management should no longer have any reason to hold on to your security deposit. We appreciate also that you acknowledged that it was your decision to stay elsewhere through “no fault of the hotel”, and that you recognized it was only fair (and may we add, an act of courtesy as well) to have informed us of that same decision. You have however, decided not to do so.

The primary issue that you reiterate throughout your review is that because your booking has been paid in full, (“prepaid, paid for upfront” ), you now have the liberty to decide whether you will use it or not. You had in fact stated that you did not expect to be refunded the amount you paid for the booking, but only the security deposit. And again you are right.

Our standard cancellation policy details that should you cancel your booking less than 7 days before the actual day/date, you will be accountable for 100% or the full cost of the booking. This is because it would already be too late for the hotel to re-book those rooms that had been set aside for you. This policy is detailed in the confirmation voucher emailed to you immediately upon receipt of your reservation payment.

Our standard procedures also require that you pay for your booking in full upon check in. On the day you checked in, you were reminded of this and in response, you asked if the hotel accepted card payments. Our staff answered in the affirmative. You then asked if you can just settle your bill at the end of your stay so that whatever other charges you may incur during that time could be included. Our front desk officer accommodated your request. Your actual payment sir, was the reservation payment you made online when you first booked the room. It is only 32% of the total bill. Even with the Php 500 security deposit you gave, this does not constitute even half of the total bill. Even then, the staff counted this amount as sufficient penalty for your late notice. You were actually no longer charged the 68% balance of your bill. Hence their refusal to refund you the security deposit. No one was making excuses sir. They were simply following the guidelines of the cancellation policy.

Your insistence that you had paid in full was also given consideration. You were asked to return the next day because the office in charge of the online system which has records of all payments was already closed. The next day it was determined that there was no further payment on record from your end. We had asked you for the reference number of your transaction so we can validate your claim but you could not provide any. Pardon us sir, if we simply could not just take your word for it.

You were asked to return a 2nd time, and this was the last time you returned (there was no 3rd time as you claimed), so that our operations manager could have the time to make one last attempt to verify/validate your claim of full payment online. There truly was none. In spite that, as a gesture of goodwill, she decided to give you back your security deposit, at a further loss to us.

You see sir, contrary to your claims, there was no attempt to waste your time, make excuses or in any way make your experience with Coron Eco Lodge unpleasant for you.

Our staff has always gone out of their way to accommodate and assist our clients. It would have served us no purpose to have given you a hard time and is counter to everything we stand for, which is best value for money facilities with great service. We would have loved to have refunded you that security deposit right away, HAD YOU ONLY PAID IN FULL AND HAD YOU GIVEN DUE NOTICE. Our staff could not have gone against policy, otherwise, they would have been remiss in their duties.

Our records show that your reservation payment was made through our website, managed by Subicom, not Agoda as you said. Extranet, the online system that tracks all transactions online, including that of Agoda’s for our hotel, shows that your transaction was made through Subicom and that there was no other transaction under your name, or that of your companion’s in Agoda either.

Finally, you mentioned an incident in our restaurant where you paid for a beer with a large bill and experienced a delay in getting your change back. We have since learned that the reason for that was that there was a big group booking in the restaurant that day, and unfortunately, only one attendant at that time to attend to everyone’s requests. That is why it took him awhile to get your change back to you. Please be assured there was never any attempt to hold on to your change permanently. Our staff may be simple people sir, but they are honest, hardworking men and women. It is regrettable that you felt it necessary to cast doubt on their characters simply because your change was delayed. And that you felt it fair to air those same suspicions in a public forum such as this. Because of this, we felt compelled to defend not just their honor, but the integrity of our business as well.

Having said all these, please allow us to end by extending our well wishes to you. We wish you only the best. We hope that when you next visit our country, you will experience not just the many beautiful places our islands have to offer, but the warmth and kindness of our people as well. God bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We LOVE everything about this place. It's small but has modern interiors. The owner and the whole staff are very welcoming and accommodating. We also love how they allowed us to check in early. Breakfast was also nice but we hope they could add more options to the menu like chocolate porridge (champorado). It is also very accessible to the town proper. Overall, this place is worth your money and stay in Coron, Palawan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. You'd be pleased to know that we are already in the process of improving our breakfast menu and we hope that the next time you visit us, these improvement and changes will already be in place. All the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was our first trip to Coron and it was a very happy experience. In spite of the rain and the typhoon, we still had that "amazing Coron" experience. The Coron ecolodge staff were very accommodating, attentive, respectful and caring to our needs. They were also very honest. We left our camera bag in the lobby and one of the staff followed us to the restaurant to bring it. That was very much appreciated. Coron ecolodge arranged for our tours and that was the highlight of our stay. Our tour guides were just as attentive, respectful and caring. Will stay in the same hotel when we have the chance to visit Coron for the second time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We aim to please and are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Our Coron Eco Lodge staff are trained and is committed to serve you with excellence, passion and integrity. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in Coron Eco Lodge sometime, hopefully in the near future. Meantime, our best to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here for four nights. The room was clean and functional,breakfast was included which is pretty basic but perfectly acceptable.
Staff were friendly and the location is good (although it's hard to get a bad location in coron because the place is so small). One recommendation for the lodge is to have wifi throughout the rooms, in this day and age it's pretty expected (there isn't really anywhere to plug your laptop in the reception, and it's not air-conditioned)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoronEcolodgeCS, Public Relations Manager at Coron Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Coron Eco Lodge sir. We will definitely take note of your suggestion. Please be assured that we are constantly looking for ways to improve and enhance our services and facilities for you, our valued guests. We hope to see you again next time in Coron Eco Lodge. All the best to you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coron Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coron Ecolodge

Address: Calle Real, Poblacion 2,, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coron Ecolodge! This modestly designed boutique hotel located along the quiet street of Calle Real is a welcome surprise for many of its guests. From its creamy interiors, wooden accents, a glass panelled lobby that allows the natural light to bask the interiors in a golden glow, down to the colourful wooden accents of the trademark geckos and stingrays crafted by local artisans …everything about Coron Ecolodge speaks of an attention to detail that takes their guests’ comfort and needs in mind. Everything you need in town from the local municipality, banks, laundry, bakery, a handicraft store and even a small parlor and spa, are just a short walk away.Each of only 21 simple but well-designed 15 square meter air-conditioned rooms has 2 standard double beds, wooden clothes cabinet, Cable TV, private bath with hot and cold shower and 2 towels which are replenished daily upon guests’ request. A generator and deep well is on hand to serve as back-up 24-7. The Calle Real Bistro provides Wi-Fi free of charge and unlimited coffee to its guests.But perhaps what makes Coron Ecolodge stand out more than anything else is the exemplary customer service. From arrival to departure, our staff eagerly and sincerely extends assistance to the guests for a myriad number of requests-from tour coordination, bookings and inquiries, planning for a special occasion (even a marriage proposal), advise on where to go or where to eat, care when you’re feeling under the weather, getting your clothes to a laundry shop, even purchasing the requisite pasalubong of lamayo for which Palawan is known for, nothing is too small to help guests with. And they do it all with a smile! Because at Coron Ecolodge…it truly is a pleasure to be of service.No wonder Trip Advisor ranks Coron Ecolodge best value-for-money hotel in town. Just 2 years old, Coron Ecolodge has proven to be a popular draw for budget yet value-conscious and savvy travelers. And the good news is, its sister establishment, Casa is opening very soon to meet the demand for quality rooms and service at an affordable price. Come to Coron Ecolodge. And experience what it’s like to be truly made welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Coron Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coron Ecolodge Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coron Ecolodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.