We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Friendly Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palanca Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Palanca Guest House to your Saves list
Palanca Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   24 Don Pedro St. | Barangay 3, Coron, Palawan, Philippines, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 47 Coron B&B and Inns
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Budget Friendly Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

One thing you need to know about going to Coron, Palawan is that you don't really need to spend a lot on a place to stay because you will be out island hopping most of the time anyway. I really suggest that you get a place which is at the center of Coron town and near the public market and restaurants.. and not too expensive.

The Palanca Guest House is one of those affordable places to stay at in Coron which is located right at the center of everything. For me, this is a perfect budget friendly place and you really get what you pay for!

It is a guest house, not some big posh hotel so do not expect to see a pool and big rooms with big restrooms. You get a room where you can comfortably sleep after a long day touring and island hopping. It is within the commercial center of Coron so finding a place to buy almost anything you need is no sweat. It is secure and the staff working there are very accommodating.

Power outages in Coron is inevitable and this place has their own backup power generator which is a big plus for all travelers.

This place is a no frills place to stay. Affordable yet comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

After a terrible experience at an other guest house I ended up here. The young lady that was hosting was really nice and helpfull. The place is clean, nice and they were building a roofterrace last year (2012) must be a big plus. I think a lot of places in the phillipines are a bit overpriced compare to thailand etc but i got a good deal and i liked my stay a lot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Palanca guest house is well located in the small and dusty Coron. It offers a fair price per night. Breakfast is available for 100 peso per dish and involves one egg (scrambled or fried), plain or fried rice, and some protein (beef tapa, fish, etc.).

The room was pretty average. On the positive side it had air-con. The bed was comfortable. The negatives included roaches out in the open when returning on 2/3 nights. The shower is cold and super weak. If you are making out to Coron though, these things are more or less expected.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed 4days 3nights in Palanca Guest House and I shall say it was rather comfortable and we felt at home. Ms. Dianne Palanca is so accomodating, every request, granted. Every questions, answered, she did not hide any details like the power interruptions every evening in Coron town so we are prepared. She arranged our itinerary which was very wonderful, she made sure that our 3 days are not so strenous and is fun-filled from day1 to day3, she also suggested some places we can visit on our 4th day. She even accompanies her guest on Island tours if needed. Minor details: The room needs to have a place where we can hang our towels. But overall, it was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The best experience I ever had... Great place to stay... Excellent food served... Staff are all friendly and accommodating... Perfect itinerary arranged by Ms. Diane... We'll surely recommend Palanca Guest House to all my friends and family!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in the standard room. It was really small. We enter directly to the bed, and there is a bathroom on the side.
Pros:
1) Near coron town, jetty, market etc etc.
2) Owner is really nice and sweet.
3) You have an open terrace for drying the clothes, which is really good to have in a beach destination.

Cons:
1) Standard room is really small and crampy.
2) There might be power cuts, and you will have to adjust with the table fan then (no A.C). When we stayed, for 1 night the power was not there. We had to open the windows and there were lot of mosquitoes as well.

Room Tip: The other rooms which we happen to see are bigger than this. But, unfortunately we had booked the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltaire, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very clean, well located guest house. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was quiet if a little small and we struggled to find space to hang clothing and towels. Concrete construction means it can be rather warm in the afternoons and evenings. Improvements could be made by providing better quality, larger towels. My partner would have liked hot water but I felt the cold shower was fine in this climate. Overall this is a nice little guest house but a little over priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palanca Guest House

Address: 24 Don Pedro St. | Barangay 3, Coron, Palawan, Philippines, Palawan Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palanca Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new guest house conveniently located in the heart of Coron town’s vibrant business and food district, the guest house is approximately 30 minutes from Francisco Reyes Sr. airport, 10 minutes walk to major banks, 25 minutes by boat to Coron Islands, and perfectly close to dining destinations. Designed to feel more like a modern private residence than a hotel. The seven (7) rooms can accomodate guests in this place that fit the latest requirements of a guest house. All rooms have their own private facilities, TV with cable channels, bathroom with hot and cold shower. The guest house is easily accessible by van drop offs and pick-up services to airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palanca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palanca Guest House Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palanca Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.