We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most peaceful and relaxing places in Coron!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asia Grand View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Asia Grand View Hotel to your Saves list
Asia Grand View Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Governors Avenue, Jolo | Brgy. 5, Palawan Island, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Coron
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The most peaceful and relaxing places in Coron!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at AGVH for 2 nights. I stayed here for some much needed rest and relaxation. I have to say, I got more than I expected. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. My room was HUGE and very comfortable. The place is quiet and peaceful. Being surrounded by lush fauna made me forget I'm just three minutes from town. The restaurant offers great tasting food in generous servings. The service that the people gave me here is top notch. I was planning to go to town to look for a spa/massage place but was impressed that they have a masseuse that can make house calls. I felt totally pampered during my stay. I left relaxed and completely rejuvenated. I definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: Choose rooms 2-6 (I think) They're the rooms to the right of the entrance. I think they're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    34
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

just 3 mins away from town where the restos and souvenir places are. excellent service. friendly staff with special mention to the tryke driver who was very accomodating. Best place to have that relaxed sleep after a thrilling and fun-filled discovery of the wonders in Coron (Kayangan Lake, Mt. Tapyas, etc.) as it is away from the city noise. In this hotel, we feel pampered and well-taken cared of, best choice for honeymooners and family get-aways. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asiagrandview, Guest Relations Manager at Asia Grand View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hello, Ms. Beth Rosal,

Thank you for taking time to relay the details of your experience with us at Asia Grand View Hotel! We compliment also with other Island destinations in the area of Coron as we are near the town center, and as youve said, perfect stopover for guests who are coming and going from the different islands including from El Nido and Puerto Princesa.

I am glad that you had a wonderful visit. We hope that your family and friends will also visit us in the future!


best regards,



Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

What we liked:
1. only a 4 min. trike ride ( 30 - 40 pesos/person) from the town. (Take a walk down the hill into town and see what goes on outside of town - lots of friendly faces.)
2. hotel will call a trike for you (We always asked for Andy Bernal #166. The trike drivers that the hotel used all had cell phones. When we were in town at night, we would call Andy for a pick-up back to the hotel. We NEVER had any problems with any of the trikes that we took in Coron.)
3. plenty of towels by the beautiful 2 tiered pool.
4. when you go island hopping, ask for towels at the front desk - no additional costs.
5. breakfast and dinner served at the hotel.
6. look for boat rentals at the pier by the public market. (you can rent a boat with 2 boatmen for 4 people for 1500 pesos total all day (about $38.00) We always asked for Ricco when we rented a boat. Buy food to take at the food stalls and bakeries. He would always shadow our son when he went snorkeling since he would sometimes disappear from sight....)
7. hotel has its own generator during brown outs.
8. gracious and helpful staff (enrich your stay by taking the time to talk to them - even the singers at night during dinner have a story to tell.)

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have high ceilings. These are huge rooms if you are a family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Resort perched on top a mountain or hill, AGV hotel has a nice layout. there's a variety of flora and in abundance everywhere. rooms/cottages are scattered at different levels. making the whole place idyllic.
ROOM(superior)
huge, even with a king sized bed, 3 extra bed can still fit nicely. bathroom is also roomy, divided into 3 sections, shower, watercloset/lavatory, and the dresser. one can tell the resort is new or well kept by simply checking the tile grout in the bathroom(space between tiles), so white, no molds. firm mattress, small lcd tv, mini ref and a safe. all rooms have a balcony but only some with hammocks. the only downside with the rooms on the lower level is the additional flight of steps.
POOL
i usually forego taking a dip, but their pool look so clean and water so clear, and the blue tiles helped a lot. Too enticing to resist!
MAIN LOBBY/RESTAURANT/BAR
one can enjoy the view while dining here. But it's in the roof deck that offers the best view of coron islands. sunset is breathtaking from here! the food is good but a bit expensive.
STAFF
great staff, a big credit goes to them. resort is not undermanned. From requests of extra blanket, pillows, toiletries and towels to tips and advice about coron, all swiftly and satisfactorily attended to..and done with a smile!
Another surprise is their touching gesture to cap off a great stay at AGV ; Staff, guitar man, lady singer gathers in the entrance then serenades a farewell song and bid us a safe trip home as we board the pick up van...:)

Room Tip: get the rooms near the restaurant, they are the ones with a hammock on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

After looking at (with a little fear in some cases) some of the other hotels in Coron town proper, we took a friend's advice and booked the Asia Grand View. We were promptly met and transferred from the airport, greeted by a friendly staff, and shown into a nicely appointed lobby area. Our room was clean, large, and comfortable, but sparsely furnished - it could use some additional furniture like chairs or sofa and a table.

The hotel itself is a mile or two outside of the town, which given the bustling nature of the town is a good thing I think to get a good night's sleep. If you want to explore Coron during the day, or take in the night life, it's quick trike ride away.

At dinner the first night we tried the restaurant, and were disappointed that all of the seafood items on the menu were frozen - if you've had a chance to see all the fresh fish in the wet market in town this is a crime! However the staff suggested that the next day we buy our own fish in town and they would cook it for us. We couldn't resist and bought a small tuna and a lapo-lapo (for a total of about $6) and brought it back. The chefs prepared the best meal of the trip - half the tuna became a delicious kinilaw (ceviche), with the other half grilled, the lapo-lapo was turned into a nice sinigang - and the preparation fee was $9! (Forgive me if I have those Filipino names wrong...). Both nights we enjoyed a pleasant concert from the house duo.

The hotel package included a private island hop/snorkeling trip for us, which was very enjoyable. We had 6 or 7 stops but never felt rushed or made to stay at any place longer than we wanted. It also included a tasty lunch at a cabana on a private (at least while we were there) beach.

Great sunset views from the rooftop bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Asia Grand View Hotel is a beautiful place to stay. The front desk She is very accommodating, keeps on smiling and every time I ask a concern she promptly provide the concern. The food is good. The singers are good but the woman seems shouting the words, trying to catch every ones attention but not through her nice songs but through her strong pitch. Pool nice just what in the website. Service for transport very poor. The tour we have provided by the hotel. We did an exclusive tour and our tourist guide is Arjay, he is fantastic, he keeps on talking to every destination we did in which we don't have any concern to ask because he did educate us very well. The food in our tour is delicious, our guide did it, we saw him how he did to marinate the meat. But there is no perfect in this world.

Room Tip: rooms at the grounds near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It is managed under the same company of club paradise and el rio y mar, here you get the high standard of service and management at a lesser rate because it is a smaller hotel in coron town and has no beach front. I decided to give it a 5 instead of a 4, as i can't think about anything bad to say about this place for the price i paid. In fact, it has the best location in Coron town, without being too close to town nor too far away from it, hence providing easy access to town for island hopping boat rides and peaceful evenings after a day of activities. Room is big with really comfy bed and quality linen. Bathroom is new and clean. Hot water, water pressure, toilet flush not a problem at all (just like a 5 star city hotel). Air con works perfectly well. Bath towels and pool towels are abundant, clean and freshly change daily if you wish to. Breakfast is adequately above the philippino standard. Staff are all helpful, friendly and efficient. Only one comment is that the pool water is warmed up by noon time. so the dip is somehow not so refreshing. otherwise, all good. The stay was worthwhile, money well spent, it exceeded expectation and would strongly recommended it.

Room Tip: choose duluxe if you can, these rooms are away from the cocks, they wake up at 3 am......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asia Grand View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Grand View Hotel

Address: Governors Avenue, Jolo | Brgy. 5, Palawan Island, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Coron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Grand View Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This chic property, with its restaurant and viewdeck overlooking the breathtaking Coron Bay makes for an ideal venue for unparalleled relaxation. Set 1.0Km away from the Coron Town and the docking area for Island Hopping and only 35 minutes away from the Busuanga Airport. Experience the enchanting Palawan island lifestyle with nature, elegance, and comfort combined with personalized Asian hospitality. The hotel sets guests to an experience that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. This hotel is for eco-tourism and a bird sanctuary. Guest rooms come with contemporary Asian arts, Palawan crafts with a distinct character enhanced with all amenities you expect from a resort of its class. Complete list of island tours, activities, spa, meeting, conference and recreational facilities is available at the hotel. Coron is remarkable for its rich marine life, lush green mountains and rich flora and fauna, teeming with marine life speak of a paradise. Asia Grand View Hotel offers a relaxed and hassle-free stay everytime and is perfect for both leisure as well as business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Asia Grand View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Grand View Hotel Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asia Grand View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.