We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Birang Guesthouse

Birang Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birang Guesthouse
Save
You added Birang Guesthouse to your Saves list
Barangay Tagumpay, Palawan Island 5316 , Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Coron B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Good
- Central Location, clean and new.
- Delicious home cooked meals (I only know about this as I read the reviews before booking the place, you can buy raw veg and meat and ask the staff to cook it, the staff did not mentioned this at all)

The Bad
- Brown out each night (no hot showers when this happens, only luke warm shower)
- Even with generator on the wall power sockets goes off in middle of the night (this happened 2-3 times and the fan stopped working)
- Sometimes we have to go out of the room for WIFI coverage.
- Walls were paper thin (made out of bamboo) and we could hear the next room’s TV clearly.

The Ugly
-We felt like our presence was a big inconvenience to the staff there and we did not feel welcome at all.
-After staying 6 nights, NO housekeeping at all, we had to ask for a change of towels and the rubbish in the room was not emptied out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

A friend and I stayed here based upon the good reviews below. However, we were both left feeling rather disappointed.

The house is in effect a very large bamboo hut which means the walls a paper thin! We could hear everything the couple in the room next to us were doing. (Keep that in mind when you start getting 'romantic!')

The staff we not friendly or pro-active. While they did the few things we requested, it was always done in such a way as to make us feel like we were putting them to a great deal of trouble. We stayed for 5 days and they did not service the room once!

Thin walls, poor service, bad wifi, sporadic power, and two irritating birds that chirp and talk at all hours of the day and night.

We didn't expect hotel comforts, but for the price we paid we sure as hell expected more than a glorified back-packers with an en-suite!

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you're in the mood for romance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed at this place for 4 days and 3 nights and it was all worth the money spent. Aling Viring has island tour packages that you can choose from and she will take care of everything - from airport transfers to island hopping to city tour inclusive of 3 full meals. The food they serve at the guest house is excellent - especially the crabs and fish. You can also make special requests if you have any dietary constraints and they will gladly oblige. Special kudos to jam for being a perfect tour guide to us.

Rooms are clean and big and very homey. do not expect hotel type accommodations since this is a guest house but the friendliness of the staff and the proximity of the guest house to the sea and the city makes up for all of this

Will definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here in early June, 2012. Overall it wasn't bad for the price.
The Great:
The price.. Very affordable
The Good:
The room was very big. We were a group of 3 and had a room with a double bed and a single. The bathroom was small but very clean. The room came with a TV and outlets that allowed you to charge at 110 or 220 volts. We had the North American 3 prong type plugs on our laptop and it worked fine.
The location was quite good. It was central to the area and had a docking area attached to the guest house that you could be picked up from to go island hopping, The outdoor market was a short 5 minute trike ride away and cost 10 pesos a person (around .25 cents Canadian). There was a good restaurant at the entrance to the guest house also.
The owners (or people living on the property) were friendly and helpful. They served breakfast each morning for us between 7:30-8:30 on the patio consisting of typical Filipino fare, rice, egg and meat along with coffee.
The Not so good:
Although I was quite satisfied considering this is a guest house and not a hotel, worth mentioning is
The Air Con was not the strongest. There was A/C, and it was working but it wasn't the greatest. A fan was included in the room too which helped.
There was free wifi, but at times it was REALLY slow and at other times it was decent. As the town is not the most modern (to say the least) I suspect I may not be able to blame this on the guest house. In fact, we had a brown out or two of electricity and I am told this is common throughout town.

All and all, I would stay here again if I stayed in this price range, but I would probably splurge a bit more next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I can't wait to go back. The most courteous and friendly staff. If your looking for a good service and affordable price this is the,place

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Birang Guesthouse is a gem of a guesthouse in a town now congested with different types of accomodation. Birang remains true to the original spirit of Coron - laid back, peaceful, mindful of the environment. Rejecting plans to expand, the quality of service and the property remains impeccably intact. There is an overwhelming sense of feeling at home here, and the friendliness and helpfulness from owner (Virginia) to staff (Jam, Ruby, Kris and co.) is proof that Birang Guesthouse genuinely cares for their visitors. My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the moment we left we were already dreaming of going back. I almost did not want to write about this place so as to keep it from becoming too popular, but Birang must be commended on being a fine example of simple luxury and commitment to sincere hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I've stayed at this establishment twice with different sets of friends and at both times, my friends and I were very happy with the decision.

The place and its rooms are quite basic but maintained so well you'd think it was newly-built. The bathrooms are especially clean (spotless tiles!). The owner (a woman named Aling Viring) is very accommodating and her staff is pleasant to deal with.

Do not expect 1st class amenities (this is a guesthouse after all -- much like a bed and breakfast place). Instead, expect a worry- and anxiety-free holiday. Aling Viring and her staff can help with such things as booking your boat trips to nearby islands, cooking your meals for a minimal fee (just buy the stuff from the local market or you can even ask them to just buy the stuff for you), etc. These are part of the owner's services and she doesn't ask a peso in return (i.e., no commissions)!

On both occasions that I visited Coron, we stayed for 5 days each time. It's important to mention that on both occasions, we never had to worry about the security of our personal belongings. Laptops and other gadgets and valuables remained in our rooms while we were out island-hopping. This, I feel, is a prime consideration and part of what made our stay in this guesthouse a very pleasant experience.

The best part, however, is the price. The guesthouse is very inexpensive and quite affordable. You'll be pleasantly surprised that one doesn't have to pay through one's nose to have a pleasant and worry free trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birang Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birang Guesthouse

Address: Barangay Tagumpay, Palawan Island 5316 , Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > Coron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Coron
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Birang Guesthouse Coron, Palawan Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birang Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.