We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Spectacular” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kawayanan Grill Station

Kawayanan Grill Station
Along Don Pedro St. | beside Coron Sports Complex, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 36 Restaurants in Coron
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Kawayanan Grill is a Filipino-owned resto within Coron Town. It serves the best exotic local seafood dishes such as Grilled Kibao (local clams), Pitik Lobster, Bicol Express Octopus and Kinunot na Pague (Sting Ray). It also has a wide selection of delicious Filipino dishes such as Adobo, Kare-Kare and barbeques.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Nothing spectacular! That's the first phrase that came to our mind during our dining experience on our visit in Coron. We ordered a platter (forgot the exact name) with a bivalve shellfish, squid, prawns, crab and sea grape salad. The squid is badly burnt, and the shellfish were not even fresh. We also tried their crocodile sisig and the egg-topping which was supposed to thicken the sisig was cooked to perfection (if your order is sunny-side up egg, of course). Their service staff are very friendly though....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    43
    40
    24
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Food on the Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Found this place on day 3 of our 8 day stay and ate here every night thereafter. The sizzling squid was fantastic as were the cheese stuffed chili peppers. Very comfortable outdoor seating with a great atmosphere. Would have given this place 5 stars had it not been for some pretty consistent lack of effort by the wait staff. One waitress in particular kept messing up our orders due to her lack of English comprehension. She always had to ask another waitress over to help take our order. Always had to flag down waitresses for drink refills. This was the only negative. Oh! And they are open til midnight.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Getting more for what you pay for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food is awesome especially when combined with a live band that would play right beside you. The prices are around mid-prices but you will surely be full to see how much your peso would go!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City, Philippines
1 review
“Pricey, so-so food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Food is pricey and not that good. Some of the food we ordered were served after we've already finished eating. Moreover, they had the temerity to charge for service fee when they don't even have service water.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan, Philippines
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

service is so and so, food is delicious..one of their dish that caught my eye is Crocodile sisig but didnt order as it is very expensive. After a day of swimming, snorkeling and climbing up and down Mt. Tapyas (that is a total of 1448 steps!), me and my company were famished and thirsty! this restaurant is expensive, they doesn't even offer service water! Everything is paid for. We were very disappointed they dont give free service water even to the almost dehydrated tourists like us. Even a small carenderia gives service water but not this one! Even the waiter told us that this restaurant is very expensive even before we order, its as if he warns us its not too late to transfer to another restaurant. Restroom is not clean. in fairness, their Kawayanan platter is delicious and also their leche plan. and if u want to order exotic food in Coron like Crocodile sisig be here but prepare your wallet.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawayanan Grill Station also viewed

 
Coron, Palawan Island
Coron, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kawayanan Grill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawayanan Grill Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.