We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kawayanan Grill Station

Kawayanan Grill Station
Along Don Pedro St. | beside Coron Sports Complex, Palawan Island, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 34 restaurants in Coron
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Kawayanan Grill is a Filipino-owned resto within Coron Town. It serves the best exotic local seafood dishes such as Grilled Kibao (local clams), Pitik Lobster, Bicol Express Octopus and Kinunot na Pague (Sting Ray). It also has a wide selection of delicious Filipino dishes such as Adobo, Kare-Kare and barbeques.
1 review
“Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Good ambiance but terrible and Slow service. And they don't even have the decency to tell you that your order is not available after you've waited ages.

They served us uncooked chicken bbq. :|

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    17
    38
    38
    24
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati City
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

we woke up at 1 am and was hungry.. we found this place and thought it was expensive. we had ni choice coz this was the only placewe found open at the time. to our surprise the menu was not that expensive, it was just right for our budget concious pockets. we ordered lechon kawali (good for two), we were still unable to finish it and took some home! hahaha big servings, good food. and nice ambience.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baguio City, Philippines
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“perfect ambiance! a little pricey for Coron...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a little far from the town proper (as compared to other restaurants around). They serve good food, tasty! But it is a little pricey for Coron.
There was a poster of plate meals beside our table, but they said it wasn't available (then why put it there?)
But I'd say the ambiance was nice! Kubos everywhere, and I can say it's a place for drinking and stuff since music was playing in the background.
Liked it, but wouldn't come back. I'd rather spend my money in other restaurants.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Must eat place in Coron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

what can I say, food was delicious, portions were large, and the service was delivered with a smile.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Since the locals where saying that we should try kawayan, we tried having dinner here on our first night. There were alot of tourist here because everyone were told to ttry this place. We ordered Octopus cooked as "bicol express", Nilasing na hipon, calderatang kambing, Sinigang na isda, and Papaitan. They cooked the food a bit longer that made us really hungry. The Octupus was delicious but the serving was too small and was overpriced for 250+ per order. The sinigang was lacking in sourness, the nilasing na hipon was cooked like camaron rebusado with saggy batter. The papaitan was lacking the "bitterness" that supposed to be there accoording to my friends but for me it was okay since it tasted more of like a sinigang! hehe. The calderetang kambing was okay though they said it was sweet(i didn't try since i dont eat goat.) I think it was a bit over priced for the quality and the quantity.. but since we were hungry, we didn't really scrutinize the food at that moment and just finished everything. Thef ollwing nights, we just bought fresh seafood in the marketplace and had grilled seaood for dinner which was much much much fullfilling!!! =0

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kawayanan Grill Station also viewed

 
Coron, Palawan Island
 

Been to Kawayanan Grill Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kawayanan Grill Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.